Skip to content

8th Pink Saturday: Chocolate Cake Balls

May 16, 2009

.
collage3

.

Would you like to have a cupful of chocolate cake balls?

.

Bakerella is a blog all about baking.  She creates such wonderful treats for almost every occasion. And they’re fun too.
.

Of course me, I don’t bake. But see, when i saw the cake balls she made, I thought to myself “why not?”. They did turn out pretty, yes?
.

For the recipe, go visit Bakerella. She made Red Velvet Cake Balls and more.
.

But I still would like to share some of my experience.

.

Ingredients and Materials:
.

1 box cake mix (No Red Velvet so I used Betty Crocker’s Super Moist Chocolate cake)
.

1  16-oz container ready made frosting (No cream cheese frosting so Betty Crocker’s Vanilla Frosting it is)
.

chocolate bark for coating (we don’t have that here so I used Goya Dark chocolate bars and Goya White chocolate bar for accents) I would have used Hershey’s but imported chocolate bars can be expensive. After all, I have lots to coat with :-)
.

Wax paper

.

Directions:
.

1. Bake the cake per direction in the box.

- Now, since I’m horrible at baking, I did’nt bake it in the oven. Instead I steamed the cake mixture :-) Result? No burnt cake on the sides :-)
.

2. Once cake is cooled – crumble it.

- Yup. Another good thing for me too. i don’t have to worry if the shape of  the cake didn’t turn out well.

Another good thing about steamed cake, it’s easy to break it down just by using a fork :-)
.

3. Mix the frosting to the cake.

- I’ve read about some having problem when it comes to the mixture being too moist. So I just added a small portion of a frosting at a time and then mix. That way I can see how my mixture would turn out to be (we don’t want it to be too moist cause it’ll be hard to roll them).

The thing is, vanilla smells so good. I put some and mix . . . put some and mix . . put some and – - – - what do you know, I’ve used all of it!  :-).

Yeah, it was quite moist. As advised, once everything is thoroughly mixed, I placed it in the refrigerator – covered of course. And since it was late at night and I’m sleepy, It stayed overnight.
.

4. Now it’s time to make the balls. Roll them using your hands.

- I end up with I think 50-60 balls. This is a nice activity for the children to get involved too, I think.

.

5. Melt the chocolate bars.

- I placed the chocolate balls in the ref while doing so.
.

7. Dip the balls into the chocolate and make sure everything is covered. Place on wax paper.

- They don’t look that pretty with just the dark chocolate.  Solution? I melted white chocolate, dipped a fork in it and gave it a shake on top of the chocolate cake balls. It turned out quite nice, don’t you think?

They taste yummy too!

.

I would have wanted to put them in lolli sticks, but maybe next time :-)
.

If you really are into baking, go visit Bakerella cause I’m sure you’ll enjoy. Well, I’m no pro baker and yet I still enjoyed :-)

.

Okay, if a cup is not enough, here’s another platter full of chocolates!

.

Poster4

.

.

Thank you Miss Beverly.

.

For other pink stuff, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

pink-saturday1.

=========================

(update to answer the question)
.

How to steam a cake?
.

- Place a rack in a deep pan and then pour water and cover.

- Boil the water.

- Once water is boiling, place the cake pan (with the cake mixture) on the rack and cover again.

- Cook for about 30-45 minutes. Do the “toothpick test” to be sure it’s fully cooked.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2009 7:06 pm

    Hi there, Happy Pink Saturday! OMG, that was just mean!!! I want those balllls they look gorgeous! Fabulous, YUM. PS – please come visit me anytime.

    xJ
    MaidenShade.wordpress.com
    MaidenShade.com

    pps
    I’m hungry!

  2. May 16, 2009 7:27 pm

    Yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipie & the link. I enjoy cooking & dabble in a little baking. This should be fun to try.
    Happy Pink Saturday
    Nerissa

  3. Melly permalink
    May 16, 2009 7:43 pm

    They look soooooooooooo yummmmmmmmmmmmmmyyyy!!
    Happy Pink Saturday!
    Melly:)

  4. May 16, 2009 8:25 pm

    They look so elegant, I’m not familiar with that blog but I’ll be sure to check it out. I love to bake. Thanks for your tips on making it.
    Have a great Pink Saturday, Mary

  5. May 16, 2009 9:24 pm

    I don’t know who would be able to resist clicking on the title of your blog post. Tempting us with Chocolate Cake Balls! LOL

    Oh YUM!! Looks easy enough for me to attempt and tastey enough for me to eat (probably way to many).

    Happy PS

    Kris

  6. May 16, 2009 10:43 pm

    yum yum yum! Happy Pink Saturday ~ I hope you have a great weekend ~ Susan

  7. May 16, 2009 10:55 pm

    Delicious! Exactly how do you steam a cake?

    Thanks for visiting me – Happy PS!

  8. May 16, 2009 11:23 pm

    Ooh, those look delicious. I’ll be right over. ;-)

    Happy Pink Saturday.

  9. May 16, 2009 11:42 pm

    Those are just the most scrumptious choc balls I’ve ever seen! I will definitely try it! And yes, I will do a graduation tablescape the moment I get back. LOL

    I’m glad you came by my blog. Have a great Saturday! But then again, with those yummies, how can you not, right? Save me some, ‘k? ;-)

  10. May 17, 2009 1:17 am

    Li,
    I will have to try this receipe with my grandchildren they would probably love them. I even like the sound of them. Now, I am hungry. You asked about “what any angel plant is” it is a plant with green soft almost fuzzy leaves and deep purple plumes that come up inside. It is hard to explain, I will send an e-mail with an attachment of the picture so you can view it.

    Happy Pink Saturday,

    Kris

  11. May 17, 2009 1:17 am

    I use a lot of her recipes. Aren’t they just wonderful?

    It’s raining cats and dogs in Upper Michigan today with oodles of cold wind. Not very spring-like so traveling from blog to blog on Pink Saturday is really a treat for me today.

    Thanks so much for sharing a little something of yourself today. I really need all the pink I can get with the weather we are having☺

    Hoping this weekend is filled with the j♥y of being surrounded by those you love and those who love you.

  12. May 17, 2009 5:29 am

    They look scrumptious! Happy Pink Saturday!

  13. May 17, 2009 8:33 am

    now i need a big glass of milk. they look amazing! happy pink, heidi

  14. May 17, 2009 10:15 am

    Oh, these look positively divine! I believe I’ll help myself to a dozen or more!

    XO,

    Sheila :-)

  15. May 17, 2009 11:42 am

    Those choc. balls looks so good and so pretty….Christine

  16. May 17, 2009 7:40 pm

    Li, thanks for the recipe. I’ll have to try it for sure! They came out looking really delicious.

    ¸.·´¸.·*´¨) ¸.·*´¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ Happy Pink Saturday
    Deanna :D

  17. May 17, 2009 8:08 pm

    Yum. Happy Pink Saturday.

  18. May 17, 2009 9:54 pm

    omigosh…those look so delicious and BOY, they look so impressive. Like you spent hours and hours making them. I will sure give this recipe a try…then, all my family is going to think I really CAN cook…ha haahaa…thanks so much for the recipe.
    Come back to see me!
    xo bj

  19. May 17, 2009 10:23 pm

    Hello,

    Awesome recipe, loved it!

    ~ Gabriela ~

  20. May 17, 2009 11:31 pm

    they do look so yummy! i’ve been a fan of her blog for quite awhile but have never tried the cakeball recipe yet. maybe this summer? thanks for the visit and happy pink week too!

  21. May 17, 2009 11:58 pm

    Oh dear, oh dear… I can feel me going up a dress size just looking at the pictures! You KNOW I can resist everything… except temptation! Happy Pink Saturday (on Sunday, sorry…)

  22. May 18, 2009 12:23 am

    Oh my goodness! Those look decadently delicious!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  23. May 18, 2009 1:46 am

    LI
    Thank you for YOUR thoughts & voice. I do appreciate it. Thanks for coming around to see me. I haven’t been a good blogger friend lately, Things are getting better. I will have to join PS again soon.
    Sending much love your way.
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxo
    P.S. I wouldn’t know where to start on this lovely dessert. yum yum
    xo

  24. May 18, 2009 3:58 am

    wow, that looks so good and thankyou for the instructions, I am sure they would be a hit. happy pink saturday, Char

  25. May 18, 2009 5:41 am

    Thanks for sharing the recipe. I must try, and I’ll take a gander at the site. I love to bake. I need to go on a diet though.

    Have a great week.

    Jennifer

  26. May 18, 2009 7:58 pm

    OMGosh! Those look wonderful and I think I can taste them already. Yummy!

    Thank you for your sweet comment on my photo for the contest. Fingers crossed! ♥

  27. May 18, 2009 8:00 pm

    Oops! The other comment has my old blog URl. This one has the correct one. ♥

  28. May 18, 2009 8:27 pm

    Um, yes, I would love one of those!

  29. May 18, 2009 11:41 pm

    Thanks for visiting me – we are looking forward to the new blogs too! Thanks for explaining steaming a cake. That is really interesting. I think however, it would be easier to put it in the oven and let it do its own thing!!!

  30. May 19, 2009 12:10 am

    These look so incredibly delish! And not so diificult to make since I despise baking!!! Have never steamed cake, how is it done??

    So pretty. Happy pink!!!!

    xoxo
    Jane

  31. May 19, 2009 12:28 am

    Hey there! Thanks for visiting me the other day and for the lovely comment!

    I have got to try out your recipe for chocolate cake balls…looks absolutely yummy and mon cherie will love me more since he’s a chocolate junkie!

    -marie

  32. May 19, 2009 7:44 am

    Great job! They look fantastic.

    Bakerella

  33. May 19, 2009 9:05 am

    Yum! Thank you for sharing this cute and clever recipe!
    ~Liz

  34. Celestina Marie permalink
    May 19, 2009 11:11 am

    Hi Li, WOW those cake balls look so yummy and gorgeous on the plate. What a beauitful presentation. Thank you for sharing this. I will have to try it too.

    Thank you also for stopping by today. It was so nice to see you and thank you for your kind comment.
    Have a wonderful week and keep watch for your package.
    Hugs, Celestina Marie

  35. Melly permalink
    May 19, 2009 8:50 pm

    Li, I wanted to thank you for your sweet comment. Everyday I am amazed with the beautiful hearted people I’m meeting in the blogging world, I appreciate your kindness and I look forward to getting to know you better.
    Take care!
    Melly:)

  36. May 20, 2009 2:45 am

    thank you so much for your encouraging words and for your prayers.
    they mean so much to me.
    chasity

  37. May 20, 2009 4:45 am

    Those look incredible! I’ll have to try them out soon. Have a great week. :)

  38. May 20, 2009 7:35 pm

    Thanks so much for stopping by! I follow Bakerella and have seen her cake pops a couple of times. Your results are just beautiful.

  39. May 22, 2009 3:53 am

    I like how you took this recipe and made it your own like steaming instead of baking the cake . Thanks for the tips. This looks so good. I will give it a try. I hope you are having a lovely day ♥

  40. May 23, 2009 4:29 am

    I think I might be a little late for this Pink Saturday! Don’t you think? :) The cake balls look wonderful. How do you steam a cake? Hope you have a very very nice weekend. xo Lynn

  41. May 23, 2009 8:55 am

    Li, looks sinful! ang galing mo naman! patikim! i’m a fan of her site too. i love looking at her cute cupcake creations.

    i’m horrible at baking too so i’m gonna try this. the other day, i cooked pudding using old bread and the sides of sliced bread. guess what, i steamed it too instead of baking. hehe.. the son loved it!

    sorry li, late visit.

Trackbacks

  1. Tea & Friendship Tuesday’s: Steamed Banana Cupcake « MyThoughtsMyVoice
  2. Pink Saturday: Pink Pie Plate « MyThoughtsMyVoice

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

