Skip to content

Pink Saturday: Pink Amazon Dolphins

July 24, 2010

.

“Brazil Amazon Dolphins Slaughtered”
.


.

Have you read this news about these pink dolphins on Yahoo lately?
.

Horrible! Just horrible!
.

In gist, these are what will make your heart ache:

- they are gentle and curious dolphins which makes them easy targets (makes me think that this is true in people too, don’t you think?)

- then they are killed for bait

- thus making them extinct
.

Image Source and read the article HERE
.

I know on my previous Pink Saturday posts, I share fun things. But after reading about this, I feel like I just have to share this story and then maybe when a lot of people will know, they will talk and post about it and if you are one of these “meanie” then maybe you’ll grow a conscience. Hah!
.

Seriously though, this must have happened out of  a need but maybe, just maybe there are alternatives for providing such need.
.
.

*************************

.

PS challenge: I’ll pass for now. But for the following PS posts (and a happier PS post at that :-) ), I plan on showcasing first the people I have come to meet in this event. New ones, I will visit you too but I feel like since most of the ladies I have come to know for a while has been through this event, wouldn’t it be just fitting if I introduce them to you first (one at a time)? So those ladies I’ve been visiting, I hope you don’t mind if I “print screen” your blog and share the images here for future Pink Saturdays :-) Thanks in advance!
.
.
.

I hope you have a Happy and Enriching Pink Saturday!

Thank you Miss Beverly for this opportunity of sharing.

You can visit others by dropping by How Sweet the Sound.

Learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

Pink Saturday  Logo

.

(hhhmmmmmmmmm this was supposed to be scheduled to publish earlier and yet here I am doing it manually. I wonder why :-) )
.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 8:14 pm

    Hi Li, how sad. I always wanted a dolphin as a pet when I was very young. Logistics meant nothing to a child. How I long for that innocence now.

  2. July 24, 2010 9:37 pm

    Hi, Li!

    Out of all the animals in the world to use for “bait” I cannot fathom why people would use dolphins. They are the smartest mammals in the sea! I hate reading this, and I hope they stop soon. I’m glad you let us know about it. Thanks.

    Happy Pink Saturday…

    XO,

    Sheila

  3. July 24, 2010 10:33 pm

    Li ~ that is HORRIBLE!!! I just don’t understand why anyone would do that to such precious creatures.

    Hope all is going well with you. Thanks for visiting me and yes, I did blog about Bryar’s birth a year ago. Can you believe how fast that year went?

    xoxoxoxox
    Caren

  4. July 24, 2010 11:28 pm

    Hi Li, Happy Pink Saturday to you. What you have posted about today is just heartbreaking. When I was at the beach the dolphin came by everyday. I love to see them rolling and jumping in the waves. It’s such a treat to get to see them at all and I feel very lucky. Thank you for making us aware of the situation.

    I like your new blog banner and I would be thrilled if you mentioned my blog on Pink Saturdays. Have a beautiful and fun weekend. xo Lynn
    P.s. Thank you for always visiting my blog with such sweet and thoughtful comments.

  5. July 25, 2010 12:31 am

    How sad.
    Happy Pink Saturday.

    Regards.

  6. July 25, 2010 1:45 am

    It is indeed heartbreaking. Dolphins seem like such magical creatures, it is hard to think of anyone wanting to harm them, especially for bait.
    I hope all is well with you and you have a great Pink Saturday!

  7. July 25, 2010 1:46 am

    That’s a hard read my friend. I think mankind can be very cruel indeed. I would imagine if there was just one white tiger or one pink dolphin left on this earth, someone would kill it and never look back. That being said, I do want to wish you a very Happy Pink Saturday, Char

  8. Melly permalink
    July 25, 2010 9:30 am

    Hello Sweet Li,
    It is horrible what happens to these beautiful creatures.

    I’m sorry I haven’t been to visit for such a long time, I have so loved your visits and your sweet comments you leave, make me smile, you my sweet Li, are a treasure!
    I hope you have a wonderful weekend, Sweetness!
    Take care and my God bless you indeed :)
    Hugs
    Melly:)

  9. July 25, 2010 12:02 pm

    Thanks for this post: I’ve posted a snip of it to my Tumblr so I don’t forget to blog about this later.

    Pink Saturday: interesting concept. I hadn’t heard of it.

  10. July 25, 2010 2:33 pm

    I saw the headline for this story and couldn’t bring myself to read it…guess I was on overload at the time with other bad crap that’s going on in our country. I will make myself go read it though..this is so heartbreaking…these creatures are so smart…very intelligent..just breaks my heart to see this happening.

    I love your thinking on posting about the ladies you’ve come to know on PS…it’s a wonderful way to stay connected and also a great way for the new PS ladies to meet others.

    Come grow old with me, the best is yet to be….I can see so many of us at PS traveling life’s path together {for always}.

    Oh, and the comment form on the “embedded” comment setting has been giving trouble for over a year that I know of. I switched back to the pop-up window sometime last year due to many emailing me that they couldn’t leave me a comment…just a blogger bug I guess. You’d think they would have fixed it by now.

    Hugs,
    Stephanie ♥

  11. July 25, 2010 6:46 pm

    How awful

  12. July 25, 2010 8:14 pm

    A tragic story indeed. I was privileged to come across some beautiful pink river dolphins in Columbia, quite far from their normal range. The natives sometimes use parts of them for magic rituals and folk medicines, but fortunately they’ve started to learn about the danger the species is in and the benefits of protecting them, there was a guy from the BBC teaching local children all about the river dolphins while I was there which was rather heartwarming(no idea what he was actually supposed to be doing there).

    It’s very saddening to hear that they’re under this threat too, the world would be a drabber place without these creatures.

  13. July 26, 2010 5:32 am

    I think it is perfectly fine to put something serious on for pink Saturday – breast cancer does that – I think there is something so loving in pink – and if we can remember these things – it’s good. That is awful about the dolphins.

    sandie

  14. July 29, 2010 9:44 am

    We are such a strange species, capable of such kindness and such harm! Hopefully the majority of us lean towards kindness.

  15. July 30, 2010 3:06 am

    What a sad story, but thank you for posting. I had no idea about this! It’s great that you are spreading the word.

    Take care
    Nerissa

  16. July 30, 2010 11:58 am

    I’ve read those stories too and they are just heart breaking. Just letting people know about it is one way of getting it to stop. If only we could fix all the wrongs in this world!!
    I love your new blog look Li. Hope all is well with you!

Trackbacks

  1. Pink Saturday: Pink Beads + Thread « MyThoughtsMyVoice

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

