Skip to content

Pink Saturday: Tunisian / Afghan Stitch Rings

August 7, 2010

.

I was trying to learn some new crochet  stitches and Tunisian crochet is one of them (Why is it called Afghan stitch?). At first I was intrigued cause it’s not like any other crochet stitches. It is a long continuous loop after loop (which kinda reminds me of knitting).
.

For this event, here’s the pink one:  .     .     .     . (the sun showed up and so I went outside and took this)
.


.

Who knew you have to use a very looongggggg crochet hook to accommodate all those loops? ( I sure didn’t!). I never thought a crochet hook could get any longer that what I am using now. I also don’t think our craft store here sells them :-( But I really wanted to try cause in my mind I think I can :-)
.

I then settled with making rings. It’s the only way my (apparently) small hook can make.
.

Here’s the rest of the gang :-) : .     .     .     .  (no more bright sun )
.


.

The colors are so rich and fun to look at! And they are so small so it’s like holding bits and pieces of fun! (reminds me of Roller Coasters Chips – yum! or Cheerios)
.

I think I got carried away taking pictures of these little ones cause I have another one below LOL  .     .     .     .     .(the sun was hiding again)
.


.

These rings have a lot of potential. Let’s see . . . add some beads/buttons/ribbons or incorporate another stitch along those stitch lines, or simply combining different colors . . . . Plenty of options indeed!
.

Have you tried tunisian stitch? Do you have those long hooks? How long can they get anyway, especially for making afghans?   .     .     .     .     .     (it rained again for the rest of the day )

.


.

Here’s a nice tutorial of the Tunisian Stitch by Naztazia if you want to give it a try.
.
.
.

Another fun part: PS Challenge! (I really try to remember who I happen to meet first among the ladies . . . and then who happens to be participating today)
.

Meet . . .
.


.

Did you happen to meet Lynn throughout your Pink Saturday visits?  I think I stumbled upon her or maybe she stumbled on me first during my early days in Pink Saturdays. I really don’t remember how, all I know is I’ve been visiting her ever since :-)
.

There’s this one particular comment I remember (and I sure hope I remember it right! LOL). I posted about bird whistles and how I wished birds would visit me too. I see and read of others having birdbaths and birdhouses and different kinds of birds visit them. Now, how then would I ever forget her with me talking about birds and her blog name is The Vintage Nest?
.

Of course, it just so happens that she leaves one of the most sweetest comments. :-) And I like reading comments that makes you feel like you are talking to that person. I know you do too. We all do!
.

And just like most of the ladies I have come to know, she too loves thrifting and creating. Some treasures  she keeps for her home and some she shares in her shop.  So if you love handmade and/or vintage, be sure to drop by.
.

And so, I really think you will find something in common with her. And who knows, you’ll find a friend in her as well. If you’re new to her, drop by too, ok? :-) Oh, and if you have a chance, this post is adorable. It’s a handwritten note from his son (when he was little – amazing how she kept it all these years) describing her mom :-) Also, she and her husband just celebrated their wedding anniversary a few days ago.
.
.
.

Happy Pink Saturday!

Thank you Miss Beverly for hosting this event.

You can visit others by dropping by How Sweet the Sound.

Learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

Pink Saturday  Logo

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 10:59 pm

    I agree that those little colorful sweeties could be transformed into so many great and wonderful items. Congratulations on mastering the new technique. I don’t crochet or knit, so to be it all looks very difficult, but you make it sound so easy. Happy Pink Saturday Li, Char

  2. August 7, 2010 11:05 pm

    Thanks so much for visiting me on my first Pink Saturday. I thought being down the list so far, no one would come. It is certainly addicting. I love your rings, they will make beautiful napkin rings. I haven’t even heard of this kind of crocheting. It certainly is pretty and you have picked such gorgeous colors to use. Good luck as you continue. Have a great Pink Saturday. My cupcakes are all gone. Maybe I will have to go and make some more!

  3. August 8, 2010 12:58 am

    I love your rings, it looks complicated to me! Even so, I’m going to check out the info on it through your link! I hope you’re having a great Pink Saturday! Suzie

  4. August 8, 2010 1:58 am

    Li, You will never know how much this post meant to me. Yesterday was not a good day for me and I was feeling blue but your post just perked me right up. I wonder if bloggers are aware how much their words mean to others. On the bottom of my blog there is a quote that says something to this effect. Make your words sweet because you never know who is listening. LOL…Actually, it’s a combination of two quotes but you know what I mean. But it is very true! Thank you Li for being you. xoxo
    P.S. I love your colorful crochet bands and your new stitch. I find that I take my best photos outside on an overcast day.

  5. August 8, 2010 4:18 am

    Wish I could knit-to be able to make things is so rewarding! Happy PS!

  6. August 8, 2010 6:45 am

    I like the colors you used, they’re so bright and cheery. I have never even heard of this stitch but I wish you much luck with it! Happy Pink Saturday!

  7. August 8, 2010 7:49 am

    Beautiful pink treasures Thank you for sharing..Happy Pink Saturday!

  8. August 8, 2010 9:18 am

    Oh now that’s so cute! I wonder if I could do that. I’m not very “crafty.”

    thanks for visiting my blog today; i appreciate it!

    Happy PS!
    Maggie @
    “Do these shoes match this purse?”

  9. August 8, 2010 9:13 pm

    My mom was a “crochet queen” extraordinare. However, I’m pretty certain she never attempted the design you just shared! It’s wonderful. I’m looking forward to seeing how your project turns out! Lynn is one of my long time favorites, too! She was one of the first people (bloggers) who took the time to reply to my comments. . .and a quick connection was made. She’s a kind and talented lady who has a delightful blog.

    I hope you had a great Pink Saturday!!! L, Dana

  10. August 10, 2010 7:43 am

    Hi Li,
    These look lovely, and the colors are so delicious. And your photography is so good.

    Cheers,
    Amisha

  11. August 10, 2010 12:01 pm

    Thanks for visiting me on Pink Saturday Li! I admired your skillful little crochet curls and their pretty colors. I am all thumbs when it comes to crafting.

    Lynne is a wonderful blogger!

  12. August 11, 2010 12:52 am

    You are so right. Those little rings have so much potential. The colors are so pretty. I hope you are having a good week.

  13. August 12, 2010 10:45 am

    Hello, I’m still making my Pink Saturday visits. Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a sweet comment. What a cute pink post you have this week. I love the crochet!
    Blessings, Shirl
    Shirls Rose Cottage

  14. August 16, 2010 12:56 pm

    Li, you are so talented to do all that cute stuff! Sorry for not visiting much; busy trying to make the new house, our home. I’ll be blogging more soon enough once the kids are back in school next week.

    Have a great week,
    Chandy

  15. August 17, 2010 10:07 pm

    Hi Li, I always enjoy your lovely comments. I have had such a busy summer and visiting has been very hard for me to fit in. I am back in full swing now and enjoying the time to be on my computer again. I too am still visiting Pink Sat. posts.

    I do not know how to knit or crochet. I admire your ability and the I CAN commitment. The colors you picked today are of course Pink but I love the yellow too. I am assuming these are napkin rings and I love them. Think about Christmas colors, how cute it would be and festive. You sound like it is so easy to make these. For you, but not for me. Smile. I can just admire and enjoy all the knitting projects you do. You go girl and find those looooong needles. I know you can make anything your heart desires.

    Is it still raining?

    Hugs, Jeanne

  16. August 19, 2010 7:05 am

    Hi, Li!

    Checking in from my blog break to see how you are! Look at those cute little rings! You did a lovely job with them. They are tiny and cute as can be! :-)

    I love Lynn, too. She’s such a sweetheart. I won a giveaway from her last year, and we’ve been fast friends ever since.

    Sending you warm hugs across the miles, my friend, and hoping that all is well in your world. See you when I get back from my break in September!

    Mizpah, my friend…

    XO,

    Sheila :-)

  17. August 20, 2010 10:42 am

    Hi Li,
    Your talents are just amazing. I love these sweet and colorful rings. What creative designs you can make with them. I like to crochet when I have time. I find it very relaxing.

    You are always an inspiration to me, and coming here to visit, is a special treat.
    How are your mother and sister doing? Hope well.
    It has been a very hot summer for us and I am so looking forward to cooler days and fall weather. Have a wonderful weekend and blessings to you and yours.
    Hugs, Celestina Marie

  18. Mary permalink
    August 20, 2010 6:45 pm

    Li, They would make the cutest napking rings! Change the color and add a charm or some beads for each season..the possibilities are endless!
    Isn’t it nice to learn something new? As a recipient of your beautiful work I appreciate your talent.
    Take care, Mary

  19. August 28, 2010 8:00 pm

    Hi Li,

    I do crochet but have never tried the Tunisian stitch! Your work is so nice…wouldn’t they look cut on ring finger? Sorry I haven’t been around in a while – life has been a bit demanding with fragile parents.

    xo
    Claudia

  20. December 20, 2010 5:23 pm

    oooh those rings looks great! I wish I could do more with needles than stab myself though :/
    Keep posting :)

    x http://myownmania.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

