Skip to content

A New Year – 10 Things I’m Thankful for the Year 2008

January 13, 2009

.

happy new year

Its been been a week  since the year 2008 ended. What are on people’s mind?
.

Plenty!
.

One thing I can think of  (I’m sure most people will agree with me) is making a New Year’s Resolution.
.

It’s always nice to start the year with plans. I think I can understand that. A new year is like a new beginning.
.

But before making those plans, I think it’s nice to start the year with reflections. Before planning or asking God for favors why not start the year with thankfulness?
.

Eventhough we live in a world experiencing crises, I’m sure there are still things to be thankful for. I’ll start then.
.

Here are just 10 reasons why I’m thankful for the year 2008:
.

1. I’m thankful that the air I breathe every second of the day is still free.

– In spite of the crisis the world… the country is facing and the rise in prices in the market, I’m still thankful that the air I… we breathe is still free. I know we take this for granted and we always complain of prices going up. But can you imagine if every air we inhale is being charged per minute?
.

2. I’m thankful for the family and the family’s health.

– There are the usual cough and colds., my mom was hospitalized because of hypertension, my father is suffering from  gout, my boyfriend just had a fever. Still, I’m thankful that we’ve come through out of it. We’re alive and we welcomed the new year together.
.

3. I’m thankful for the friends I have.

– Friends are like extended families. They like and love you for who you are – no strings attached.
.

4. I’m thankful for the weather.

– I live in the northern part of the country and it can be quite cold here (no snow though), especially during the “ber” months until February. Today’s not an exception. Still, I’m thankful because of the fireplace that we have that offers warmth, the bed with warm blankets, and the hugs from a love one.
.

5. I’m thankful that I eat 3x a day and with snacks :-).

– It nourishes the body and helps me stay away from being sick.
.

6. I’m thankful for the discovery and opportunity given to work online.
.

7. At the same time, I’m thankful for the nice people/”employers” I met and are currently working with.

– Eventhough I’m still relatively new to this field (in comparison to others),  they were willing to let me learn and improve as I go along.
.

8. I’m thankful to all the people I crossed  path with (in addition to the ones I listed above).

– What we learn and feel is influenced by other people, one way or another. A simple smile or gesture of kindness can impact one’s day.
.

9. Also, I’m thankful to the people who can… made a part of my life a “challenge”.

– It was a difficult stage and I am still slowly and trying to accept things. Still, the situation helps me be a little stronger. But hey, I’m still human 🙂 I do hope and pray that they realize what they’ve done and find peace within themselves. It is difficult for both parties involved but it is a process.
.

10. I’m thankful for everything else.

– There’s a lot to be thankful for. It does not matter if it’s small or big,  simple or extravaggant. Therefore I am reserving this spot (# 10) for all those things 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Firerocket permalink
    January 27, 2009 9:09 pm

    Awww, I like how you think all positively, unlike most people. Everyone tends to focus too much on the negatives. Pssshh.
    Good for you, I’m glad you’re happy. 🙂

    • January 28, 2009 2:43 pm

      I also have my moments:-) But sometimes it get’s tiring (thinking of all the problems and complaining). I just thought that no matter what happened the past year, there are still those things that people are thankful for especially #1 (I’m sure you have one yourself).

  2. February 2, 2009 8:00 pm

    And I’m thankful that you visited my blog and left some good advice. Cheers!

    • February 5, 2009 11:04 am

      Well, advice and encouragement are everywhere and free. But at the end of the day, it is us who still decides whether such is applicable/helpful and make use of it or not 🙂

      In my case, I didn’t thought of it as an advice but more of “thought sharing” 🙂 Bring all the thoughts in so you can sort it all out and see which is/are beneficial. 🙂

Leave a Reply

