Skip to content

One World… One Heart

February 14, 2009

.

I have found out about this event not too long ago through “Changeling Things”.
.

The event already ended last Feb 12 and I’m not really gonna talk about the mechanics. It is already stated/described clearly on its site which I linked below. And what better way to know the true essence of OWOH than by actually reading it from theΒ  host herself.
.

As to my part, I just wanted to share my thoughts on this one.
.

The message was really beautiful. I was amazed and overwhelmed. Why? Here are just some of my reasons:
.

1. The artworks/art pieces I discovered was amazing. People really are talented. And this gift that they have was manifested beautifully through their creations.
.

To each his/her own. Everyone was a master of their own crafts.
.

2. That there are indeed people who are “kindred spirits” as Lisa Swiftka (the host of “One World…One Heart”) and “Anne of Green Gables” (a book I read) mentioned.
.

So many generous people you would never really thought. To think, this is just an online community. And these people does not even ask for something in return. No hidden agenda…no ulterior motive. They just do it for the fun of it.
.

I know that it tickles people to learn about giveaways and knowing that they won something. But you see, it’s more than that. I probably read everything I need to know about what this event truly was. The more I read, The more I thought that this is just more than winning.
.

We are very familiar of the saying “It’s better to give than to receive“. Well, I have to say that it is definitely true.
.

If you really give it a thought and at the same time seeing these participants and how willing they were… it makes you want to give/share something as well.
.

It was really a shame. This event has been going on since 2007Β  and I only found out about it lately… and late. I’m not the arts and craftyΒ  kind of gal. But I can be … well, I did some πŸ™‚ Still, that’s beside the point. I wanted to participate because I thought it would have been also nice to give something as well.
.

You will really be inspired. Whether being inspired to do crafts or to give. All of that.
.

I haven’t won any, but somehow I’m still happy knowing and seeing winners being announced. Weird, huh? But I don’t know. Maybe you find out for yourself what this is all about and then maybe you will understand what I felt.
.

This really is a wonderful event with a good cause and should be supported so that it will continue. And by next year, I’ll be ready :-).
.

If only it were that easy. You know, in real life, people gathering wishing and doing something nice for everybody. All these surpassing race, religion, socio-economic status and at the same time building bridges.
.

But one thing I learned? This is not impossible. After all, it did happen. Even if it is just for a few weeks.
.

But hey, everything needs to start from something – somewhere – or someone, right? Like how this started out from one person and then along the way, it slowly touches others and so on and so forth.
.

To Miss Lisa, the participants, and the winners, congratulations to you all!
.

And so I leave you with this guy who seems really happy and is celebrating for this event πŸ™‚
.

heart3image0091heart3

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Firerocket permalink
    February 15, 2009 7:03 pm

    Aw, that’s a nice event.
    I liked this post. Hahaha. Especially the dancing emote at the end.
    Very cool. πŸ˜›

    • February 21, 2009 3:57 pm

      Yup. The concept – the event was nice. Too bad it was too late for me to participate. I do hope there’s still next year. I’m thinking of participating and I already have something in mind as to what I’m gonna be making and giving away, if ever πŸ™‚

      I also agree about the emote. It made me smile the first time I saw it and I thought it’s appropriate for this post. Kudos to the creator.

  2. February 23, 2009 11:57 pm

    I thought that event was a lovely idea, too. Love your little animal who’s waving! LOL! So cute…

    XO,

    Sheila πŸ™‚

  3. February 24, 2009 7:50 pm

    The One World, One Heart event is one of my favorite things during the year. This was my third year participating and it just gets bigger and better every year. Thank you so much for the comments on my blog. I do think there are sad stories behind the photos, but also lessons to learn. They each speak to me in different ways. I hope you are having a wonderful Tuesday sweetie! Love, Jamie

  4. February 24, 2009 9:50 pm

    thanks for stopping over to visit with me πŸ™‚
    hee hee, that guy DOES look happy!!!

  5. February 24, 2009 10:05 pm

    Hi, there! Nice thoughts about the One World One Heart event. And thanks for stopping by my blog! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

