Skip to content

Candy Paper Stars: Tutorial

March 6, 2009

.

Last Pink Saturday, my contribution was my Pink captured Stars ๐Ÿ™‚ I posted it because I thought it was a nice contribution for my very first time on the said event. It was something made.
.

What I was not expecting is that people would actually be interested and would even ask me to post a tutorial. That made me happy because I really had that planned and that as much as I enjoy making them, I also would like to share.
.

The thing is when I participated at that time, it was quite too late to post pictures of the tutorials and I thought that was very important. I also didn’t have the right paper in stock because that was a long time ago.
.

Anyway, let’s get started then ๐Ÿ™‚
.

I love my papers! Yes they are newly bought. Not the same type of paper I used on my previous post. The store that used to sell them doesn’t have them anymore. But I still like these ones. They are still shiny/sparkly and look yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚
.

1a

.

I try to take a shot up close. Can you see that it’s not a flat-type of paper? Aside from its shiny characteristics, it has this embossed-feel.
.

5a
.

The blue is not actually blue. It’s like the color of the ocean with the light and dark blue and a hint of violet (depending on where the light is reflected. It kinda looks like scales too, don’t you think?
.

7a
.

Aside from the papers, you also need a good pair of scissors, or in my case a mini cutter ๐Ÿ™‚
.

2a
.

1. Cut the paper into tiny strips.
.

10a2
.

Here they are tussled together ๐Ÿ™‚
.

11a

But they kinda look nice arranged like this one.
.

14a
.

15a

2. Take one strip and tie a knot on one end.
.

33a
.

34a
.

37a
.

3. Gently push on top and tighten it. Press softly to flatten it a little and form a pentagon.
.

39a
.

4. Fold the “little” flap inside..

41a
.

5. Fold/Wrap the “long flap around the pentagon. Start folding it at the back, then in front, and so on and so forth. Don’t worry. While going your way around, the paper will actually guide you on what direction it will go ๐Ÿ™‚
.

43a
.

46a
.

6. Don’t press too much while wrapping around. This will make it easier to pinch later. To lock, insert the remaining flap on one of the pockets.
.

48a
.

49a
.

52a
.

7. To form the star pinch each corner of the pentagon.
.

56a
.

58a
.

62a
.

After cutting those trips, I try to make a bunch ofย  “flattened” stars before pinching them.
.

66a
.

Don’t they look just like candies? (hence, the title of the post ๐Ÿ™‚ )
.

73a
.

77a

.

There you have it, your very own paper star.
.
.

Hhhhmmmmm I still have some pinching to do from this old gift wrapper ๐Ÿ™‚
.

au
.

(See, they are actually made of papers and are not beads ๐Ÿ™‚ )

.
.

========================

.

Related Posts:

1st Pink Saturday: Captured Hearts

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 10:42 pm

    THANK YOU…now I’m off to pinch pentagons while watching Ivanhoe on TCM!

  2. March 6, 2009 10:45 pm

    Thanks so much for this tutorial. I love the stars!
    I’m assuming they can be made in a variety of sizes?
    Where do you purchase the paper?

    I’m full of questions. LOL

    Kris

  3. March 6, 2009 11:21 pm

    I am so glad you posted this tutorial. I too would like to know where you purchased your paper. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. midnightescapade permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:48 pm

    Hi, I’m a strong lover of lucky star making. I like your tutorial, especially that paper because it is so easy to pinch the corners. I recently ran out of paper, may I as what kind of store you bought the paper from?

  5. March 7, 2009 8:14 pm

    @Kris: yes you determine the size of the star you like. The wider the width, the bigger the star.

    @Kris, Caren, and MidnightEscapade: I purchased them at an educational store. They happen to have a corner where they sell different types of gift wrappers. But any paper will do so you can choose a wide variety. And any arts and craft stores surely have them. It’ll be a good thing if you happen to have smaller sizes of paper to save the time of cutting them into smaller strips ๐Ÿ™‚

    I hope you enjoy making them as well.

  6. March 9, 2009 4:28 am

    Thanks for sharing. I will now need to go buy some papers and start folding little stars.

    Hugs ๐Ÿ™‚

    Irma

  7. March 9, 2009 12:27 pm

    Is it possible to make these without going a little, tiny bit coo-coo? I โ™ฅ then but I’m afraid that I’ll lose my mind creating something that tiny.

  8. March 9, 2009 12:29 pm

    Another question, would it be possible for you to place a tutorial on YouTube?

    • March 11, 2009 1:44 pm

      Yes, bigger stars can be made ๐Ÿ™‚ I just like the teeny bity ones where I can actually place them on smaller bottles/jars.

      Since I’m actually using a gift wrapper, it’s quite a large paper and the cutting is tedious. But once the strips are there the folding part is rather easy.

      I guess to create bigger stars just widen the width of the strip and make it a little longer so there’s enough to wrap around ๐Ÿ™‚

      About the video – I don’t actually know how. I know it’s sad (on my part). That is why I did try to take pictures on the actual step-by-step procedure and I really hoped that everything is laid out. This is my attempt to compensate on my lacking of the video tutorial ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. March 9, 2009 9:35 pm

    Those stars are awesome! Wow they really look like little beads. Thank you for sharing with us. Hugs, Bobbi Jo

  10. ann permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:41 pm

    AWESOME

  11. March 10, 2009 8:27 am

    Your stars are so cute.

  12. March 10, 2009 10:12 am

    Thanks for the tutorial….love those stars. I am going to try to make them…got to get some pretty papers….to make creative pictures with those stars too! I enjoyed your post…Thanks for stopping by…I wanted those dishes…but considering watching my money and asking myself…do I need it! Happy 2nd Pink…Have a wonderful week…Kathy

  13. March 10, 2009 10:36 pm

    These are so cute! I love papers too…but have told myself NO MORE…hard to say no to so many pretty ones out there,but enough is enough here. LOL
    Great tutorial!

Leave a Reply

