Skip to content

7th Pink Saturday: Happy Mother’s Day!

May 9, 2009

.
My Mama (L-R)
.

1. When she was 18. Love the dress . . . mini dress by the way. But I’d probably wear it with jeans cause it’s too short 🙂 Too bad I don’t have it. It is cute. Hhhmmmm the 70’s.
.

2. Mama (with her striped green,white, and pink dress) and me (wearing my pink dress and bloomers, and pink booties!). See, even when I was still a baby I’m not fond of my picture being taken 🙂 Look at those tiny fist and soooo serious face (lol)
.

3. Mama and my younger sister on her baptism. She’s so small, but now, she’s even taller than Ma and me 🙂
.

4. Mama on her pre-baby stage. She married at a young age (21 y/o) and it quite took long for her to have her first baby – it took 7 years.
.

.

ma and us

.

” A mother is the truest friend we have,

when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us;

when adversity takes the place of prosperity;

when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us;

when trouble thickens around us,

still will she cling to us,

and endeavor by her kind precepts

and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness,

and cause peace to return to our hearts. “

( Washington Irving quotes)

.

====================================

.
How true! It amazes me how one can be so capable of unconditional love. Yes, we do say those words to someone very special to us. And we try and we really mean it.
.

But Mamas, no matter what our problems, struggles, and pain –  there they’ll be, still loving, not judging, and will never ever leave.
.

I know there is only One who has that perfect love for us but in man’s understanding, I think it’s innate in mothers to feel that way towards their children.
.

It must be a very special feeling – to be a mother. Carrying and nurturing another human being. Promising to always care and love and support this little child that you’re carrying who is a part of you and made with so much love.
.

I know and I have the idea of what a mother is. Understand it – yes, maybe. But I guess I’ll never fully understand it unless and when I experience it.
.

I’ve carried my cousins’ little ones but I’m always curious about those little face, tiny hands and feet. How it would feel if they were my own.
.

Must be very warming to the heart.
.

.

My closest friends since high school I have to greet on Mother’s Day too. The three of them have just given birth this year and the two are new moms. How exciting! I wish I was there.
.

To the Mom’s out there, is it still vivid when that day came? Having your very first child and what it felt like.

.

pink-glasses-2

Ma wearing her pink glasses

.

“A mother’s love is patient and forgiving when all others are forsaking, it never fails or falters, even though the heart is breaking.” – Helen Rice

.

To all Moms and mom-to-be . . .


Happy Mother’s Day!

.

.

.

===========================

This May is also special for three women. . . The sweet Mermaids of Mermaids of the Lake are celebrating the very first birthday of their Ezine. To celebrate this time they’re having a birthday giveaway so do visit them and greet these ladies. You’ll enjoy reading their blog and Ezine. They talk and share almost about everything – wonderful and touching stories, crafts, recipes – lots of inspirations.

===========================

.

Happy Pink Saturday!

Thank you Miss Beverly.

.

For other pink stuff, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

pink-saturday1

34 Comments leave one →
  1. Dru permalink
    May 9, 2009 9:27 pm

    Loved your thoughts and reminisces – not sure I spelled that correctly. Happy Mother’s Day and Happy Pink Saturday!

  2. May 9, 2009 9:39 pm

    How absolutely wonderful! Beverly sure knew what she was doing when she created a place for all of us “pinkies” to congregate and share our “pinkness”.

    Happy Mother’s Day to you. I hope you find yourself surrounded by those you love, good food, and a gentle peace in your ♥. We don’t need to be a mother to know a mother’s life. After all we all started out with a mom, didn’t we?☺

  3. May 9, 2009 10:15 pm

    What a lovely post. I love the Helen Rice quote, sums up what motherhood is about, unconditional love. I never had any children so I cannot imagine the depth of love. A co-worker once told me she thought she knew what love was and then had a child. Her entire conception of love changed. (I wonder what her husband thought about that?)
    Obviously, a love for ones mother is a great love too and yours is certainly reflected in your post.
    I think the pictures are sweet. That is some old car with the pic of your Mom in her mini! It’s hard to imagine our mothers young like that! She was a very pretty young girl.
    Cute pic of you in your pink socks! I hate to have my pic taken too and it shows at an early age. Funny how that is.
    I enjoyed your writing on the Pink Saturday very much.
    Thanks for stopping by and visiting me. The little girl on the plate on my shelf looks just like my neice when she was that age playing the piano. It’s one of my favorite pieces because it reminds me of her at that age. She is graduating from college this month and I still can’t belive how the time flew by. Her Aunt loves her like a mother!

  4. May 9, 2009 10:23 pm

    What a lovely selection of pictures. I need to dig out pictures of my mama to celebrate a mother’s love!

  5. May 9, 2009 11:38 pm

    Happy Pink Saturday and Have a great Mother’s Day ~ Susan

  6. May 10, 2009 12:21 am

    Love the glasses, mine are very similar! As soon as I saw them I knew I had to buy them! Pink and bling..nothing better!

    Have a great Pink Saturday!

  7. May 10, 2009 1:10 am

    What a lovely tribute to your Mom. Happy Pink Saturday!

  8. May 10, 2009 3:55 am

    That was absolutely beautiful! I can remember the moment my daughter was born like it was yesterday and that has been 23 years ago.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  9. May 10, 2009 6:24 am

    Happy Pink Saturday Mommie! Enjoy your weekend.

  10. May 10, 2009 7:23 am

    Li, I love your mom pictures. She was so cute and it looks like she still has a great sense of style. Pink glasses! I love them….and, I need a pair!

    As for your thoughts about a mother’s innate caring and nuturing, I know that being a mother is the biggest honor a woman can have. I adore my kiddos and it’s wonderful to know that my own mother has that same depth of love for mel.

    Blessings!

  11. May 10, 2009 8:13 am

    Beautiful tribute to Mothers everywhere, Happy Pink Saturday and Happy Mothers Day too, Char

  12. May 10, 2009 11:15 am

    Lovely post, Li. Made me miss my mom more. Wish she’s still here so I could greet her and hug her. Happy Mother’s Day to your Mom. One day soon Li, you’ll be a mom too and you’ll know how great it is to be a mom. {{Hugs}}

    Yes, croc is a bread. A bland croc bread. Sana they made it masarap naman.

    The son is here na. He was circum*:D there. Lolo and lola had a good laugh because he was so scared daw :(. This morning, he gave me an early mother’s day treat. He massaged my whole back for about 30 mins.

    Have a great day, Li!

  13. Celestina Marie permalink
    May 10, 2009 11:55 am

    Hi Li, Love your post and best wishes for a wonderful Mother’s Day. Congratulations, you are the winner of my 100th post giveaway drawing. Please contact me through my profile email with your address and I will ship your gifts promptly. Thanks so much for your entry and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Have a wonderful day tomorrow.

    Hugs and blessings, Celestina Marie

  14. May 10, 2009 12:18 pm

    Hi Li,
    what a lovely collection of pictures of your Mama. My favorite is the one where she is holding you and you are making a fist…lol! I hope you all have a great Mother’s Day

  15. May 10, 2009 12:33 pm

    Your mama is pretty and you were so cute in a pink baby dress. Happy Mother’s Day!…Chtistine

  16. May 10, 2009 12:38 pm

    Beautiful pictures, I know it brought back a lot of wonderful memories, beautiful post also. Thank you for sharing.
    Blessings,
    Sue

  17. May 10, 2009 12:59 pm

    Hey, this is very nice post on Mother

  18. May 10, 2009 7:59 pm

    Happy Pink Saturday; thanks for sharing.

  19. May 10, 2009 11:36 pm

    What a wonderful post and lovely tribute to your mother. I enjoyed all of the pictures. On days like this I miss my mother most. I wish I could give her a card, some flowers, or a peice of cake. I hope you have a beautiful day.

  20. May 10, 2009 11:43 pm

    This was a very special and heartfelt post. 🙂 And I loved reading it. Happy belated Pink Saturday.

  21. May 11, 2009 12:34 am

    What a sweet post for Mother’s Day and how perfect that you were wearing a little pink dress. Your mom is a beauty and is lucky to have such a sweet daughter. I do remember when my oldest was born. I think I spent the first week crying right along with her. Happy tears, of course!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  22. May 11, 2009 1:38 am

    Oh Li,

    Such a sweet and loving tribute to your Mama. I can feel the love you have for her in my own heart. There is nothing so grand as the spoken word when it comes from the heart.

    Your Mama must be very proud of the woman you have grown to be. May the time spent with your Mama be treasured and and always remembered.

    Love,
    Kris

  23. May 11, 2009 1:43 am

    What a wonderful Post….loved the pictures of your Mom….
    Happy Mother’s Day …
    Hugs,
    Mo 😉

  24. May 11, 2009 4:07 am

    I enjoyed seeing your mom. How blessed you are. How blessed are all of us who have loving mothers. Mine is still with me but certainly aging now at 83. I think these are the hardest days of life for her.
    Have a lovely day and week.

    Jennifer

  25. May 11, 2009 8:50 am

    Such a wonderful post. love the glasses. Happy Mother’s Day.
    debby

  26. May 11, 2009 10:58 am

    what a wonderful quote and picture collage….
    hope you had a wonderful mother’s day.
    thanks for your supportive comments and concerns.
    chasity

  27. May 11, 2009 8:31 pm

    Good Morning Li,
    What a lovely post that was! Your Mother is a beautiful woman and you are so lucky to have her.
    To answer your question about Motherhood, it is a special gift. Even almost 21 years ago, the day is still vivid. First finding out the news, secondly preparing for whats to come, and thirdly the blessing. My life changed in an instant…forever. I hope that one day maybe you will experience it but God has specific plans for everyone.
    Thanks for sharing your Mother with us…pink glasses and all!!!!
    Have a great week Li

  28. May 11, 2009 10:45 pm

    Your post is just beautiful. A tribute to your mom and all moms too. Thank you for your sweet comment today. I loved your photos that tell a sweet story.

    Hope you had a great Mother’s Day.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  29. May 12, 2009 2:16 am

    Li, that was beautiful post. Your sweet, young mom in her mini dress; so young and all of her life still ahead of her… You were a darling baby. Your mom in her pink glasses is darling. She looks great in them. Shows a bit of who she is deep inside! Thank you so much for your friendship with us. We appreciate you. Thank you for posting about us on this post, as well. Have a blessed week!

  30. May 12, 2009 2:25 am

    Not only did your comment on my blog about my Mother, in her green wedding dress, you gave to me a wonderful present of saying what my Mother had, that she would be proud. My Mother never got to see, what special grandchildren and the sixteen great grandchildren, she has. You gave me a way of knowing how proud she would be. Thank you for touching my heart! Your post today has given me even more, for my children and grandchildren! So lovely and so very true. I would love to send this to my daughters. I can not tell you how much my heart has felt from your words today. I needed to hear this so much, With your permission I would love to copy it and email it to my daughters. Thank you for such a lovely post. I love the photo of you and your Mother! So very sweet.

  31. May 12, 2009 11:44 am

    Thank you for the sweet Mother’s Day wishes! I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s day too.

    ~Liz

  32. May 18, 2009 8:59 pm

    Aww, what a sweet entry. And I love her pink glasses!

  33. May 19, 2009 4:30 am

    What a beautiful tribute to your mother, and all mothers! I must be your mother’s age. I had a mini skirt in the 60s! Wore them very short in the 70s. 🙂 It took me nine years to have a child, and now he is grown, but yes, I am fiercely devoted to him. Sadly, I have seen that not all mothers have this innate devotion to their children. More and more people are wounded in our world, and mothers leave their children or mistreat them. I am grateful I am allowed to now live near my son and grandchildren.
    xxxooo
    CurtissAnn

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Father’s Day! « MyThoughtsMyVoice

Leave a Reply

