Skip to content

OW: When Sunset Comes

May 27, 2009

.

While washing the dishes, this was what’s outside the window.

.

P5150002

.
Yeah, the sun was starting to set.
.

Amazing isn’t it? I mean nature and the natural happenings we encounter everyday?
.

I’m no pro photographer but with a view such as this, I guess there’s no need.
.

So I ask: “What does sunset means to you?”
.

Mostly, some would associate the word “Sunset” with “The End”, “Sadness” . . . or  even “Death”.  I, for one have made such an analogy quite a few times.
.

Bet see, when I saw this, makes me wonder. Is it really just “it”?
.

Does this picture makes you feel sad or makes you think of the ultimate end ? (Or any other sunset pictures for that matter)
.

P5150006

.
No.
.

From where I stand, the sun may not be  smiling anymore (yup, smiling 🙂 ) . . . but looking through the other side – how beautiful it is, this makes me think of hope.
.

Another beautiful day is yet to come.
.

That even though darkness engulf us at times, still, there is hope . . . there is tomorrow.
.

The sun will rise and brighten a new day.
.
.

Every day, we are always reminded by how our life works same like how the day works.
.

In life, there will always be ups and downs. Sometimes we don’t know why and we struggle.
.

And when we feel troubled, and though it seems like everything seems to go wrong . . we feel left out (as if the sun is not shining anymore on us).
.

Sometimes, though hard, we have to accept certain things. Every day we are reminded that life is not always daytime. We also need to learn, to surrender . . to rest . . . to pray.
.

As beautiful as the sunset is, we are given the promise that “this too shall pass”. And that there will always be Someone to hold unto.
.

P5150005

.
Hah! Who would have thought that just by washing the dishes I would reflect on such things and that I would unravel one of life’s lessons in my mind and in my heart (for I have not thought of it this way before).
.

Another amazing thing, don’t you think?
.

And so I say, Thank you God for giving me and the people dear to me a beautiful day. I know, I know our life is not perfect, but it’s still a beautiful day for you have allowed us to spend such – always providing and comforting (if only we learn to  seek).
.

Thank You God that even though my mind is closed, you seem to have found a way to open it.
.

Thank you for always reminding us and giving us hope, always.
.

So the next time we see a beautiful picture of a sunset, no matter how hectic and busy our day has been, let us be thankful for a beautiful day that has passed and look forward for tomorrow 🙂
.

God is truly amazing and always think of everything.
.

(If you’re wondering . . nope, I did not use any special lighting or anything. I just went outside and started snapping.)

.
.
.

Happy Outdoor Wednesday!

outdoorwednesday

Thank You Miss Susan of A Southern Daydreamer for hosting Outdoor Wednesday.

For other Outdoor Wednesday posts, click on the link or the logo  🙂

39 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 9:07 pm

    Li, this is a lovely, lovely post. I enjoyed reading what you had to say.

    Night or day, I generally have a sense of peace that comes from something stronger than me… God. I know you have that, too, and it’s such a comfort because He is the Comforter.

    It’s funny, I guess. I have always loved sunset… with the sky on fire in brilliant color (and different colors each night) and then the softness of dusk, with everyone preparing for sweet rest. And the night with its beautiful golden moon, particularly when it shines on the water. I have even been known to creep around at night, taking pictures. LOL!

    Thanks for this lovely post and your thoughts. Enjoyed it much…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  2. May 27, 2009 9:08 pm

    What inspiring and encouraging words you have shared today, I would love to get such insight while I was washing dishes! LOl. I am really going to meditate on these words today. Hope your day is filled with many blessings too. And when the sun sets today and everyday no matter what I want to be able to always be thankful. Great post, thank you for sharing.
    Sue

  3. May 27, 2009 9:15 pm

    Li, your photographs and words are very beautiful. You have a lovely blog. I will be back often.

  4. May 27, 2009 9:29 pm

    What a wonderful view to have while washing dishes – wow!

  5. May 27, 2009 9:36 pm

    Funny for me nothing in nature makes me think of the ultimate end. To the contrary. The sun sets and is back the next day. A never ending cycle, an eternal cycle if you will.

  6. May 27, 2009 9:37 pm

    Loved your post. Thanks for sharing!

  7. May 27, 2009 10:07 pm

    I love the sunset too…I usually walk down to the bay and watch..very calming…and the promise of a new day to come..
    Lovely post..thanks for your visit!

  8. May 27, 2009 10:41 pm

    I can see the sun set every night from the porch or living room, and it never looks the same. It’s such a wonderful play of shapes and colors. Very inspiring.

  9. May 27, 2009 11:08 pm

    GOOD MORNING…enjoyed your post very much. I feel like A Beach House Dreamer:
    “nothing in nature makes me feel like it is the ultimate end.” I feel like a sunset is just the opportunity to see the next gift of God…a beautiful starry sky and the moon and an occasional shooting star…..I have to admit I always read your posts but do not comment as I have such difficulty with my computer getting the comment box to come up but I enjoy your blog very much. I will try harder to leave comments because you certainly deserve them…..we all do.
    blessings
    debbie

  10. May 27, 2009 11:10 pm

    I see hope in the sunshine that lies beyond….like heaven waiting for us.
    Beautiful words and photos.
    have a wonderful wednesday.
    chasity

  11. May 27, 2009 11:40 pm

    It is so good to reflect on God’s goodness as we keep our hands busy.

    Have a great day!

  12. May 28, 2009 12:01 am

    You have a way with words. 🙂 Such beautiful words of wisdom. 🙂 What a great way to reflect on what God’s blessings. 🙂 Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment for me. I’ll be sure to come back and visit yours.
    Blessings,
    Sandra

  13. May 28, 2009 1:13 am

    I have the sameopinion as you do. I think God’s works in nature are a testiment to the beauty we will one day behold. Happy OW

  14. May 28, 2009 2:27 am

    Happy Outdoor Wednesday Li! What a beautiful post! I am with you….HOPE!
    Thanks for sharing your photos.~ Susan

  15. May 28, 2009 2:32 am

    Beautiful pictures, and I really enjoyed reading what you said. Just lovely!!! Happy Outdoor Wednesday! Thanks for visiting me.
    Karen

  16. May 28, 2009 2:58 am

    What a wonderful post. I’ve thought the same thing. Sometimes it seems like life is too hard but the sun still always comes up at dawn and sets at dusk just as it has for all time and time to come. Kind of puts things in perspective.

    Thanks for sharing this lovely post.

  17. May 28, 2009 4:31 am

    Li,
    I so enjoyed your inspiring and heartfelt post. Your pictures were exquisite and do look like a pro took them.
    I am so grateful for the supreme feeling and sense that there is something so much stronger and greater in charge of our lifes. What peace it brings of knowing that even at the sunsets of our lives, there is something more. God truly is the comforter in my life. I loved your analolgy and glad you shared it with us today!

    ~Beth♥

  18. May 28, 2009 12:19 pm

    Pretty photos… nature is GRAND!

  19. May 28, 2009 1:50 pm

    Wow, I love your photos and your inspiring uplifting post. A beautifully written outlook on life. I’m with you on that. Positive thinking wins every time. God is good.
    Thank you for your visit and sweet comment today. I appreciate it so much.

    Tomorrow I will post some pics from the Rocky Mountains. We are loving this vacation.

    Blessings and hugs…Jeanne

  20. Celestina Marie permalink
    May 28, 2009 8:33 pm

    Hi Li, What a beautiful post and your sunset pictures are so full of hope and dreams. For me a sunset can be the best part of the day. A time to relax, reflect and look towards a new day coming. The colors of sunset are beautiful like the shades of paint in my palette. God gives us a sunset to enjoy just like the beginning of a new day. A blessing to know we can continue our journey a bit longer with God’s grace and rest from our everyday ups and downs.

    Your words are so inspiring. You are so talented Li and such a blessing.
    Have a wonderful day and thank you for sharing your sunset!

    Hugs, Celestina Marie

  21. May 28, 2009 8:58 pm

    Li,

    This is so pretty, the picture. And your words made such an impact on all that commented. Sunsets are wonderful~I always think of them as God’s last little peek at the day that is almost at an end, giving us time to reflect, a sense of peace after a day that has been like no other.

    I so want to thank you for your comment on my last post. It was full of wisdom and gentle urging. I never thought of all that I am going to face as a turning of the next page and yet, I have done that SO many times in my life; After loved ones passed away, after I left a job, after I lost or gained a friend…you would think I would have known this already. But sometimes you have to hear it from someone else. And this is the true beauty of blogging. And like your post above, when we can “get” something out of it, or we are forcrd to think outside of ourselves, as you have made me do, that is blogging at it’s best.

    So once again, thank you, my new friend. I wish you peace and many more beautiful sunsets.

    xoxo
    Jane

  22. May 28, 2009 9:32 pm

    Beautiful post! For me sunset just means it’s time to slow down and rest and thank God for the wonderful day that we just had and then we wait for the next wonderful day to come…Christine

  23. May 28, 2009 9:45 pm

    Li, such beautiful words and photographs. I have always felt a sadness at sunset – but after reading your words I will view it in a totally new way. Thank you.

  24. May 28, 2009 11:34 pm

    I love sunsets! The day is over, time for reflection and unwinding. Loved reading your thoughts and found them very inspiring.

  25. May 29, 2009 1:20 am

    We out here in west Texas have beautiful sunsets, too. I guess I think mostly of rest when I see the sun setting. Especially these days of working in the yard along with the other work. I enjoy work but I enjoy rest more and more. I don’t feel sad.
    Your picture is very pretty. God uses His creation to teach us and I am blessed by your sharing your communications with Him.

    Have a great “end of the week.”

    Jennifer

  26. May 29, 2009 2:32 am

    I think you ARE a photographer. I love sunsets; they give me a sense of calm. God is good.

  27. May 29, 2009 4:11 am

    Beautiful pictures and beautiful thoughts. I agree the sunset you captured is filled with hope and peace. Thanks for a lovely outdoor wednesday post 🙂

  28. May 29, 2009 5:53 am

    What a lovely way to spend washing dishes. The picture tell it all. Yes there is always Hope! Love your thoughts on this day.

  29. Melly permalink
    May 29, 2009 6:17 am

    What a beautiful view you have while doing your dishes, Li! I just adore sunsets and always have and they have never made me feel sad but have made me watch them in awe of the beauty that unfolds as the day ends. God truly is a magnificent artist and how beautiful is He that He leaves no detail out, He amazes me!
    Thank you Li, for sharing and capturing Gods tender touch that He created for you to see and reflect on. HE is GLORIOUS!!!
    Thank you also Li, for your lovely comment, you are a treasure, Gods beautiful treasure!
    Hugs
    Melly:)

  30. May 29, 2009 6:25 am

    How lovely to reflect while doing the mundane chores of our everyday life. Sunsets always remind me that the sun is on it’s way to start someone else’s day somewhere else in the world. It is truly a loving God that gave us so much beauty to enjoy while we’re here on this earthly part of our journey.

    Thanks for stopping by yesterday and for your lovely comments.

    Robin@Miscellaneous Thoughts

  31. May 29, 2009 8:30 am

    This is a very beautiful post. God is always with us no matter how difficult the journey we are on. There is so much beauty here on earth if only we could stop to really look for it. There you were washing dishes and there it was. How lovely. I enjoyed reading your post ♥

  32. May 29, 2009 9:45 am

    WOW…gorgeous view. My fav is the last photo. The most glorious sunsets I’ve ever seen in my life is out to sea. So beautiful that they almost don’t seem real.

  33. May 29, 2009 10:51 am

    Dear Li
    I watch the sunset every night from my window or laying on my chair outside trying to avoid the mosquitos!. We live on the river, and to experience such beauty is most definitely beyond me. I will post more pictures of them for all to enjoy.
    Now I have to admit I do not get to see many sunrises…I sleep in lol, but sunsets I can’t wait for… the colors and beauty are truly amazing. Your words and feelings are precious.
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxo

  34. May 29, 2009 11:53 am

    I love sunsets. My hubby loves the night so the sun going down is his favorite part of the day. There is nothing better than sharing the sunset with someone you love.

  35. May 29, 2009 2:21 pm

    Beautiful photos of sunset and thoughts too! The sunset remind me that god promise “Hope” for tomorrow….Thanks for your support and pryers. Sweet comments…Glosd I’m back….Missed ya’ll! Have a wonderful weekends

  36. May 29, 2009 8:53 pm

    I agree, Li! Sunset to me refers to both sadness but that twilight phase of the transition from light to dark offers such beauty that you can’t help but feel hopeful for what tomorrow may bring…

    Beautiful photos to accompany a beautiful post. Thanks, Li!

  37. May 30, 2009 10:43 pm

    I would love to take a walk under those big trees

  38. May 31, 2009 1:33 pm

    Li, This is a lovely thought provoking post. I never see doom and gloom in a sunset. I always see the beauty and the promise of a new day that will dawn in a few short hours. I see it as a reminder that we all need a bit of rest to refresh our bodies so we can be lively and productive the next day.

    Kris

  39. ann permalink
    June 1, 2009 9:56 pm

    i have the same ritual,even though my scenery is hills and cows.it is just peace and what God has made.This is not my favorite place to talk to God,but it is also one of mine.I think anytime we stop long enough to settle our minds,we think of him…Ann

Leave a Reply

