Skip to content

PS: Real Pink Money :-)

June 6, 2009

.
It is real money 🙂
.

Ok, it may be more of a red but there are shades of pink too.
.

The Philippine Peso bill is multi-colored.
.

You may have seen a Philippine fifty-peso bill already but I would just like to share it with you for those who have not seen it. This means then that it’ll be new to you and kinda fun for me LoL
.

So here it is, our Philippine fifty-peso bill (Php 50.00) . . .

.
.
.

P6060034

Sergio Osmena (w/ '~' on top of 'n') - 4th President of the Philippines; 2nd President of the Commonwealth of the Philippines

.

Oh yeah, have to find me a crisp one for a better picture 🙂
.

We have lots of other colors too. There’s green, orange, violet, yellow, and blue! oh there used to be a brown but then they stopped producing it. Too bad though cause I haven’t kept one as a remembrance. Oh well. Does anybody from the Philippines happen to have more than one? Will you be so kind enough to share the other as a remembrance 🙂 Nah, just kidding.
.

P6060033

"The National Museum is featured on the reverse side of the bill. This building used to be the Legislative Building, where the House of Representatives that Osmena presided over as Speaker from 1907-1922 was located. The building and then renamed Executive House during the Martial Law period and was labeled as such in the fifty-peso bill until recently. " - en.wikipilipinas.org

.

I think the very common hobby though is collecting coins cause then it won’t rot that easily.
.

Do you happen to be one – a collector in general, I mean? I’m not a collector but if you are what does your collection comprise of and why the fascination? Do tell.
.
.
.

Thank you Miss Beverly.

For other pink stuff, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

pink-saturday1

.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2009 9:36 pm

    Wow, that is pink! Beautiful huh? My dh collected all these Pinoy coins when he was there back in 1991-93. We still have some but not as much and yes he put his bills in a binder. 😉

  2. June 6, 2009 10:02 pm

    Pretty money! Happy Pink Saturday and have a wonderful weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  3. June 6, 2009 10:29 pm

    Pretty peso! Wouldn’t it be nice if it is worth a lot more? It’s really colorful now and I havean’t seen one for a while. Thanks for joining me on my 100th post celebration!…Christine

  4. June 6, 2009 11:04 pm

    Pretty…nice for art backgrounds too.
    Yes, I am a collector of so so many things…but some collections I’m ready to let go now. Like my Boyd’s bear collection and all those resin figures I bought years ago. Just not for me now.
    I love OLD children’s books, old postcards, red toile plates, old dolls, old tin toys…french things…
    old laces…see, I could go on and on!!! Don’t get me started…LOL

  5. June 6, 2009 11:30 pm

    Very interesting money!
    And what does mizpah mean? I thought it was a place.
    I will be back to Pink Saturdays after a bit. Much fun.

    God bless your weekend.

    Jennifer

  6. June 6, 2009 11:32 pm

    ♥´¨)
    ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*´¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´♥ HAPPY PINK SATURDAY ♥

  7. June 7, 2009 12:06 am

    Pretty money. I’m surprise the government will allow you to reproduce it like this. Happy Pink Saturday,

  8. June 7, 2009 1:33 am

    What a very pretty banknote! I bet he’s a secret PS fan… Collections… well, I don’t know… there’s a lady on one of the yahoo groups I joined who has a tagline: The one who dies with the most rubber stamps wins. Obviously, one is not enough!

    Happy Pink Saturday!

  9. June 7, 2009 2:38 am

    That is very pretty money! Much prettier than my one dollar bill – or maybe I’m just too used to seeing it every day! Happy Pink Saturday, Li!

  10. June 7, 2009 2:53 am

    How interesting and wonderful. I’ve never seen any of the money..thank you for sharing. Happy Pink Saturday and hope your weekend is a lovely one.

  11. June 7, 2009 7:43 am

    Hello Mispah, I have to say your pink money is a most original pink Sat. entry. I love it and the clever idea too. I used to collect things but I have stopped. My children will hate having to worry about so many things. BIG smile.

    Thank you for your visit today and I am happy you enjoyed my pink and park photos.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  12. June 7, 2009 10:52 am

    pink money! Happy Pink Saturday ~ I hope you have a great weekend ~ Susan

  13. June 7, 2009 7:49 pm

    Oooh, wish we had pink money over here, just dull drab green….(but I’ll take it in any color) lol!
    Happy Pink Saturday and thanks for visiting!
    ♥ Teresa

  14. June 7, 2009 7:53 pm

    Hey, that’s pretty money! Hope you had a perfectly pink Saturday. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  15. June 7, 2009 9:37 pm

    Wow… thinkin Pink wouldnt be what I would think a country would put on their money. Interesting… very interesting. (LOL maybe they wanted RED …but it faded)

    Thanks so much for stopping by my post PS. Bet you can guess what i love to collect (if thats the correct verb) I love cottage or home picutres. Always have. Most of my art in my home are some sort of landscape with homes/ cottages.

    TTFN~~Claudia

  16. June 7, 2009 10:03 pm

    Hi Li, thanks again for your wonderful compliment! US paper money is so bland. We should get a grass roots collation started to change our money to pink! You with me ladies? lol

    I enjoyed reading about the history of the design of Philippine Peso Bill. Thank you for sharing that.

    As far as collecting, I’ve evolved from blue and white porcelain to all white porcelain teapots and soup tureens.

    Enjoy the rest of your Sunday,
    Tina

  17. June 7, 2009 10:24 pm

    Reminds me of our money here in Canada…our $50 bill is that color! Thanks for sharing…happy late Pink Saturday to you!!!!

  18. June 7, 2009 11:34 pm

    I have never seen pink money before…I wish we had pink dollars. Thanks for sharing. Happy Pink Saturday (on Sunday).
    ~Sue~

  19. June 8, 2009 12:02 am

    How fun! I collect buttons which are the third most collected item after stamps and coins!

  20. June 8, 2009 12:12 am

    You would never know it if you didn’t travel, but there is some money out there that is just beautiful. It was such a shame when Europe went on the euro because some of those countries had gorgeous money. The money you feature today is very pretty also, thankyou and happy pink saturday, Char

  21. June 8, 2009 12:13 am

    You would never know it if you didn’t travel, but there is some money out there that is just beautiful. It was such a shame when Europe went on the euro because some of those countries had gorgeous money. The money you feature today is very pretty also, thankyou and happy pink saturday, Char

  22. June 8, 2009 2:29 am

    Cool pink money.Thanx for your visit,happy belated pink sat.
    I just found out through my comment they are Cycliman,and they do have strong stem and light blooms

  23. June 8, 2009 5:31 am

    Mizpah, that’s a good thought. Thank you.

    Jennifer

  24. June 8, 2009 11:23 am

    Isn’t it strange how different each country’s money is? I don’t collect money (I wish!), but I do have some from some of my (rare) travels. Hope you find the bill that you are looking for!!

    Happy Pink Saturday and thanks for stopping by!

  25. June 8, 2009 9:13 pm

    Hello Li and happy late Pink Saturday. Pink money, now wouldn’t that be fun? I mean, a girl could really have a great time shopping with special pink money. You’d think someone over here in the states would pick up on that idea!

    No, I don’t collect money. My son has currency from quite a few different countries. Some from the middle east, Asia, and a few Euro’s left from a trip he took last year. It is fun to see what important person is on each country’s money. Thanks for sharing a little about yours!

    Love to you!

    ~Mermaid Shelley

  26. June 8, 2009 11:04 pm

    Very artful money! I think that this was a perfect pink Saturday choice.

  27. June 9, 2009 1:41 am

    Thanks for sharring…I did not know that there were money in color…I thought everyone did green or brown. Very pretty in pink… I learn something new today….Happy Pink

  28. June 9, 2009 4:01 am

    Hi Li
    I’m late I know…but Happy Monday.
    We also have very pretty paper money like you here in Canada. I’m not sure how the Americans can live with the dull green stuff. We have pink, blue, but no two’s or one’s. They have replaced them with Loonies and Toonies. They are much bigger, like a silver dollar piece. Maybe I should blog about it…It seems folks do not know about color…lol
    Take care
    Love and hugs
    Claudie
    xoxoxo

  29. June 9, 2009 10:02 am

    Hi, I’m late in posting…but better late than never. The American money is boring by comparison. I find it interesting to look at other countries currency and seeing what is put on the bills, shows what is important to the culture of that country.
    I used to collect silver dollars years ago from the 1800’s and hid them wrapped in a sock…my sister did a cleanup and threw them out!
    My husband has a drawer full of old coins and bills and we have about 100$ in canadian money that I’m saving for my next trip there. I’m not a collector…I’m a spender! Take care and have a good week! Mary

  30. June 11, 2009 4:05 pm

    Hi Li
    I just love foreign money. It’s always so pretty compared to US money with all the different colors.
    I collect all sorts of “junk”. I love worn vintage jewelry, old books especially dictionaries & vintage sheet music. All stuff I use in my artwork.
    I hope you’re having a good week. Mine has been busy with our move so I’m just getting around!
    Nerissa

  31. June 12, 2009 7:32 am

    I didn’t know there was pink money! Thanks for showing us that. And thanks for visiting my azaleas, too.

  32. June 13, 2009 12:42 pm

    hi li! as usual huli na naman ako and advance for the next PS 😀 heniways, hmmm… sige nga… baka may makita ako na 10pesos.

  33. June 16, 2009 8:50 pm

    Hong Kong has pink money, too! Well, it’s sort of red, but close enough to pink.

Leave a Reply

