Skip to content

PS: Whistle Like A Bird

June 20, 2009

.

P3080025-1

.

These are whistles that mimic the sound birds make.
.

It’s a little intriguing that makes you wanna stop and actually see. They’re made of wood . . . bamboo I should say with its perfect round/cylinder shape.
.

The little tube behind is where you blow. The bigger tube, well, you actually have to fill it with water. Not too much but just enough. Cause without the water then it’ll just make an ordinary whistle sound.
.

Well, I also kinda like the bird drawings. Simple but still like it. πŸ™‚ I think they burn the wood a little to make the drawings last long. Uuummm I can only tell through the black/brown outlines of the birds, not sure about the colored ones though.
.

How I wish though that I can hear real birds sing. It’sΒ  rare that I see one. And if I do? They just hop and hop then fly away 😦
.

Are you one of the fortunate ones who gets visited by these lovely creatures?
.

Oh, and I’ve been seeing posts where you guys post pictures about robin eggs. Oh my, I’ve never seen blue eggs – real blue eggs. It may be ordinary to you guys but for me it’s an amazing thing.
.

.

Happy Pink Saturday!
.

Thank you Miss Beverly.

For other pink stuff, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

pink-saturday1

.

41 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 10:32 am

    I love your bird whistles!!! :o)
    Karen

  2. June 20, 2009 11:25 am

    If I could send you some sweet birds to admire I would Li.
    If I could send you some pretty blue eggs I would.
    If you would like to come and listen with me you can.
    My door is always open.
    Happy PS
    Love Claudie
    xoxox

  3. June 20, 2009 1:32 pm

    Great whistles. Our backyard and bird feeder are always full of birds. The ones with the prettiest songs are the wrens. They are so small but have such mighty whistles. Sorry I can’t send you some!

  4. June 20, 2009 5:39 pm

    I LOVE, LOVE YOUR BIRD WHISTLES.
    I must have missed where you live, that there are not birds….how very sad, to not be able to hear a bird. my dh and I, my sister and her dh, and my mother and father, do things to attract birds to the yard…we have bird baths, feeders, hummingbirds are attracted to certain flowers.
    HAPPY PINK SATURDAY
    hugs
    debbie

  5. June 20, 2009 8:41 pm

    How sweet and unique! Thanks for sharing and Happy Pink Saturday. Thanks for stopping by today too. Enjoy your weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  6. June 20, 2009 9:47 pm

    These are interesting whistles. My husband and I just came in from sitting and reading AND hearing many different birds. We talked about how many more birds there seem to be this year. And very loud. We watched one gathering twigs and flying into a neighbor’s tree. And Gods knows all these little birds, when one falls. And He made them for me to sit and enjoy as I consider how good He is. Isn’t He so very good?

    Looks like you received some particularly lovely gifts lately. How fun.

    I hope you have a wonderful day!

    Blessings,
    Jennifer

  7. June 20, 2009 9:50 pm

    Hello lovely lady,
    Thank you for coming to my blog. I had a little eye op so am not participating in Pink Saturday but still wanted to come by and I’m so glad I did.

    The bird whistles are just lovely – such a unique offering, I love it. We don’t have robins here in Forida not that I’ve ever seen anyway. We had them in Minnesota though. Funny thing, I haven’t seen many actual nests in my life, and those I did find didn’t have eggs in them.

    Have a wonderful pink day, where ever you are.

    xJennifer

  8. June 20, 2009 9:59 pm

    uy cute! and looks fun to use. are these for sale there? i think the little one (and big ones too! hehe) would have a great time trying to blow this whistle.

    i wish i could whisper to some of the birds who frequent here to fly up north and sing a beautiful song for you. and dami bumibisita dito, minsan nga pumapasok pa sa loob ng bahay. and you should see our gate, puno ng poops nila!

  9. June 20, 2009 10:01 pm

    great whistles….
    sometimes the birds drive me crazy in the mornings when they are singing their little hearts out and i am trying to sleep. but most of the time i love to hear them…i think i will now have a new appreciation for them when i think that not everyone is lucky enough to hear them.
    have a wonderful weekend. tweeet tweeet tweeeeeeet πŸ™‚
    chasity

  10. June 20, 2009 10:06 pm

    HaPpY PiNk SaTurDaY! Every morning I wake up to birds chirping and we have several nests in our front and backyard. I watch them as I’m at my computer working . . . . Wonderful bamboo whistles πŸ™‚ Marsha

  11. June 20, 2009 10:07 pm

    I have never been able to really whistle and so one of those would be perfect for me. I would love to be able to hear it. I don’t think I have seen one of the birds either. I really must be missing something……..Happy Pink Saturday and thankyou for a lovely post, Char

  12. June 20, 2009 10:12 pm

    Hi Li!
    I just love the simplicity of these beautiful whistles!
    Thanks for sharing them and for visiting me today too!
    Hugs!
    betzie

  13. June 20, 2009 10:50 pm

    We have lots of birds where we live and I love the sound of them especially in the morning. I fooled you with the lily of the valley under glass. They aren’t real πŸ™‚ But flowers can grow under glass. It provides lots of moisture for them. Happy Pink Saturday.
    Hugs, Rhondi

  14. June 20, 2009 10:55 pm

    Pretty bird whistles! I am fortunate to have birds in my yard and hear then singing in the mornings:)
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  15. June 20, 2009 11:24 pm

    What a wonderful addition to Pink Saturday. They are quite simply beautiful. Have a wonderful weekend. Blessings…Mary

  16. kaytybug permalink
    June 20, 2009 11:27 pm

    Thank you for sharing the beautiful whistles. I am very fond of birds. No matter what the season, we wake to the sound of birds singing in our garden. In the spring and fall we see many unusual species of migrating birds, as they stop and forage at our feeders. They alway seem to remember where they got a good meal on the previous years journey.

    Best Wishes,
    Kay

  17. June 20, 2009 11:30 pm

    Lovely Lady!
    I cannot imagine not hearing the birds every day. I have 7 bird baths in my yard. I try to change the water 2 times a day. It gets so hot here in Phoenix, that I try to give them a place to go for relief also. I have several feeders, but I am tired of feeding the pigeons out here. We have so many of them. They are as big as chickens almost, and I believe they are scaring off the other beautiful birds. Our grandkids too, have learned about birds and have the same passion for them that we do. Would love to hear the whistles. I am sure they sound charming. Have a wonderful blessed day. I am sending “Country Hugs” from Country Wings in Phoenix, Sherry

  18. June 20, 2009 11:41 pm

    Hello there,
    Every morning and throughout most of the day, the birds sing around our home. We have Bluejays, Cardinals, Robin’s who have a couple of nests in our trees and at the moment are feeding the babies.

    Have a fantastic Pink Saturday and thanks so much for taking the time to visit.
    Hugs, Nerina πŸ™‚

  19. June 20, 2009 11:46 pm

    happy PInk Saturday. Those whistles are just gorgeous. Where are you that you don’t get to hear the birds singing? Here they sing all day. I have one that has built a nest in the rafters just above the doorway outside my studio. She has babies now and I see her flying back and forth with food in her bill. We are very lucky to find bird’s nest on the ground quite often. I would be happy to send you one if you would like for display in your home. xo Lynn

  20. June 21, 2009 12:02 am

    Those are fantastic! I haven’t seen a blue robins egg for many years, but I recently found a little white eggshell from a dove’s nest – this is the time of year for them here.

  21. June 21, 2009 12:19 am

    I just love the whistles..the little birds are wonderful. I do live where there are lots of birds, and I wish that you too could wake in the morning hearing the birds whistling,cheeping abd chirping. Happy Pink Saturday and I hope your week is a lovely one.

  22. June 21, 2009 12:32 am

    Love the whistles! Hubby will make one once in a while, just out of the bamboo can that grows wild. No lovely carvings as yours! I keep blue bird houses up. I love sitting and watching them from the French Doors, I can see my sheep playing my chickens scratching around for a worm, before the birds fly down to get the worm. I have a nest in my grapevine arbor, they love to sing. You can sit on the porch and listen to the lovely sounds of nature. The frog start singing, when it going to rain. I have new bird this year I have never seen before. Or is it I had a busy life and never just sat and listen to the calls of nature? Now if it wasn’t so hot, I would move my computer out and listen. I have a squirrel that runs across the front everyday. I loved sharing my nature with you. Thanks for coming by to visit often, I enjoy all your comments so much!

  23. June 21, 2009 12:38 am

    I have lots of birds that visit. I wish you could hear them too. Have a wonderful Pink Saturday!

  24. June 21, 2009 1:03 am

    Happy Pink Saturday, Li! I love the bird whistles – they are so lovely. I love birds of all kinds and we have Robins with blue eggs back home! We also have Cardinals, sparrows, starlings, finches, woodpeckers….and on and on. I never tire of watching them.

  25. June 21, 2009 4:31 am

    So lovely. Happy pink Saturday

  26. June 21, 2009 5:40 am

    Lovely pink blog post! Another Saturday, where I am taking in all of the pink and visiting some of the most lovely blogs in cyberspace. I need the pink this morning, it’s all dark and raining outside. So thanks for the uplift☺

    Wishing you and those you lβ™₯ve a weekend filled with sunshine, good food and many, tender memories.

  27. June 21, 2009 5:40 am

    I like the sounds of birds singing, except when I’m trying to sleep in. Thanks for sharing. Happy Pink Saturday!

  28. June 21, 2009 5:47 am

    Beautiful bamboo whistles, I am one of the most blessed in that i hear birds sing any time I am outside, I am going to pray the God will send some singing birds your way. Thank you for sharing.
    Blessings,
    sue

  29. June 21, 2009 8:35 am

    What great whistles. My son would love those!

    Thanks for coming by my blog Sweeterliving. I so appreciated your nice comment.

    I hope your Saturday has been pink and that your Sunday will be blessed!

    Greetings from Norway;)

  30. June 21, 2009 10:11 am

    Oh, I love the whistles! They’re beautiful and unique!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog to visit and for leaving your kind comments! Isn’t Molly the cutest?! Too bad she already had parents . . . I’d adopt her in a heartbeat! LOL!!

    Happy Pink Saturday!
    Teresa,
    Inside the Mind of a MiniMadWoman

  31. Anonymous permalink
    June 21, 2009 11:21 am

    First of all thanks for stopping by last week Pink Saturday…I said I would visit you all after I got back from tubing on the river…Guess what..I was blister so bad…I didn’t feel good at all…so I;m making up to visit you today….I didn’t participate this time…This is a busy weekends…Will be back next week. I love your bird whistle…I did not know they had those…Neat! i haven’t seen the blue eggs either …It’s amazing to me too! I’m goint to visit your Ourdoor post…And thank for stopping by there too! You are so faithful in blogging…You have a wonderful weekends…Smiles and Hugs Katherinellen

  32. June 21, 2009 11:51 am

    Thanks for coming by.
    I’m glad you liked my signs.

    Yes, we do have birds that sing in the morning. Wonderful thing to get up too.

    blessings,
    Barbara Jean

  33. June 21, 2009 8:55 pm

    Your bird whistles are just lovely! We used to have something like them when we were kiddos (our dad found them someplace). They were lots of fun.

    I, too, wish I could send you some of the “birdyness” going on in my yard and tree. We have a robin’s nest with two tiny babies. The mom and dad have been very busy gathering food for them and watching out for their safety!! I love it until they start to fly, then I’m always afraid something will happen to them before their wings are totally ready to take care of them—kinda like I did with my kids! πŸ™‚

    Hope your Pink Sat. was a great one!!! Dana

  34. June 21, 2009 9:05 pm

    Those bird whistles are soooo pretty. I can just imagine what a pretty bird song they make! laurie

  35. June 21, 2009 10:32 pm

    Love those whistles! How unique! Well let’s see, for birds, we have quail, the assorted sparrows, a flock now of about 13 peacocks, our laying hens and one rooster, lots of mourning doves too! Some woodpeckers, a few finches and hummingbirds!

    Happy Pink Saturday and have a wonderful week!

  36. suesue permalink
    June 22, 2009 7:48 pm

    those whistles are so lovely! i live in the country so i have an assortment of birds too. i love your father’s day post too! happy pink week!!

  37. June 23, 2009 12:30 am

    Those are just precious birds. I’m still making the PS rounds and catching up on the more recent posts. Have a wonderful week.

  38. June 24, 2009 1:35 am

    Oh, the whistles look like so much fun! I have so many birds in my small backyard – they go after the crickets and berries that fall from the HUGE ficus trees in my neighbors back yard. I have a hummiingbird feeder that the h-birds fight over. Birds are lovely – messy… but lovely to have around. Maybe, if you put out a bit of food for them they might stay a bit longer and come back for some more! Thanks for stopping by my blog and cheering me up! I did have fun painting my cupboards. The red one took 5 coats of paint!

  39. June 26, 2009 7:42 pm

    Li, those are such lovely whistles! The pictures on them are beautiful.

    For some reason, I see and hear more birds toward the beach area of Florida than inland. Oh, they are here. There are even santuaries, but with my trees now down (we’ve had to remove six, and then two went down with the storm), I don’t here them as much. Just as I typed that, I heard cheep, cheep, cheep. LOL!

    I wish I could send you some birds your way. I’ve been enjoying the pictures of eggs, too. I don’t get as near nests as everyone else does, but those were just gorgeous, weren’t they? I kind of feel that way about snow. I love to look at it, but we don’t get to see it. I guess I don’t want to see it because it wouldn’t be good for the tropical plants we have in Florida. πŸ˜‰

    XO,

    Sheila πŸ™‚

  40. June 30, 2009 9:50 pm

    The bird whistles are just wonderful..
    Thank you for stopping for tea…

    Louise

Trackbacks

  1. Pink Saturday: Tunisian / Afghan Stitch Rings « MyThoughtsMyVoice

Leave a Reply

