Skip to content

Happy Father’s Day!

June 21, 2009

.
When I wrote my Mother’s Day post and trying to collect old photos of Mama, I was so overwhelmed. All the more when I actually wrote some of my reflections. I guess we (us, women) do that, huh? We somehow feel more connected to what it’s like.
.

But with fathers it’s different. When I look through Papa’s pictures I have to giggle at times 🙂 The ever strict (in a good way) – disciplinarian is was once a young lad. Too bad there’s no baby pictures of my parents. I don’t think I could really imagine thinking what they were like as babies or how they were as little children 🙂
.

Picnik collage2

.

==================================

.

Fathers are wonderful people
Too little understood,
And we do not sing their praises
As often as we should…

For, somehow, Father seems to be
The man who pays the bills,
While Mother binds up little hurts
And nurses all our ills…

And Father struggles daily
To live up to “HIS IMAGE”
As protector and provider
And “hero or the scrimmage”…

And perhaps that is the reason
We sometimes get the notion,
That Fathers are not subject
To the thing we call emotion,

But if you look inside Dad’s heart,
Where no one else can see
You’ll find he’s sentimental
And as “soft” as he can be…

But he’s so busy every day
In the grueling race of life,
He leaves the sentimental stuff
To his partner and his wife…

But Fathers are just WONDERFUL
In a million different ways,
And they merit loving compliments
And accolade of praise,

For the only reason Dad aspires
To fortune and success
Is to make the family proud of him
And to bring them happiness…

And like OUR HEAVENLY FATHER,
He’s a guardian and a guide,
Someone that we can count on
To be ALWAYS ON OUR SIDE.
Helen Steiner Rice

.

.

==================================

.
LOVE (sweet, nurturing love) is always associated with Moms more often than not. And for Dads? It’s DISCIPLINE.
.

It’s no wonder how fathers can be misunderstood at times. Such phrases like, “Oh he’s so strict” or “What a killjoy” may often be uttered. Well, maybe not the same words but on the same thought.
.

And me? I am guilty of such during my younger years 🙂
.

But as we grow, we realize that everything was for our own good. And that they just do not want harm to come our way.
.

What a nice balance, huh? The mother-father role.
.

The word “father” for me depicts strength. And somehow there’s that feeling of being safe just knowing he is there.
.

I don’t know why but it just is. Period 🙂
.

I’m also grateful that he never tires of teaching the Word of God and reminding us of one’s faith. That no matter what circumstances we face, we should not forget to pray and should always be thankful to God – he always says.
.

.

Happy Father’s Day!

.


34 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 5:38 am

    Dads = Strength. Yeah, I think they do 🙂

  2. June 22, 2009 10:42 am

    Beautifully said my friend…I cannot add anything else. Your comments always made me smile.
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxox

  3. June 22, 2009 12:44 pm

    What a nice tribute.

  4. June 22, 2009 7:20 pm

    What a wonderful post! I loved that poem. Your right, I don’t think dad’s get enough credit for all that they do. I liked the tribute to your dad and seeing all of the pictures. I hope you have a great day :>)

  5. June 23, 2009 12:58 am

    Your dad looks very happy holding his babies. I have a wonderful Daddy also. I enjoyed hearing about yours and seeing your happy faces. And to have a Father that teaches us about the Lord is an amazing blessing.

    God bless your day!

    Jennifer

  6. June 23, 2009 11:56 am

    We just arrived home from our vacation and you have been so faithful visiting, I wanted to thank you. Your comments are all so sweet and I enjoyed reading them.

    Your tribute to your dad is wonderful. I love your photos and the way you presented them. The poem is perfect. He sounds like a very special dad. I too had a wonderful dad. Lucky us!!!

    Hugs…Jeanne

  7. June 23, 2009 12:14 pm

    Aww, this is so sweet! Love the pics – and you don’t look like a boy 🙂

  8. June 23, 2009 9:38 pm

    Hi Li,
    What a beautiful post. I love seeing the darling pics and the poem is wonderful. You said it all about Father’s so perfectly. I always enjoy all your posts. Your talent for the written word overflows.
    God has blessed you with so much to share with others. That is such a gift and I am so thankful to have your friendship.

    Have a beautiful and blessed day.
    Hugs, Celestina Marie

  9. June 25, 2009 10:54 am

    Li ~ your post is so heartfelt! The photos of your parents are priceless. I don’t think you look like a boy!!!!

  10. June 26, 2009 2:49 am

    You have such a grand way of letting out your feelings, Li and I so appreciate that about you…

    You are a darling baby and your parents, esp your dad looked like he enjoyed being a dad. Love fun childhood memories!

  11. June 26, 2009 7:37 pm

    Li, that was lovely. I enjoyed seeing the pictures of your dad and family, and I think this is such a sweet tribute to him.

    My father was the disciplinarian, too, but he also had a very maternal, nurturing side. He had gone to military school as a youngster because his mother felt he needed the male influence since his own father had been killed in an accident, and he was very close to his mother who was a devout believer. He learned from her how to love, and he adored his mother and my own. I think because he had been alone for a long time, he never took having a family for granted, and he was so protective of us. Not a day went past that he didn’t tell us how much he loved us. Oh, we knew there were consequences for our actions, but he was the one who would also sympathize with you, too. On Sunday afternoons after church, we often did things together, and as I grew up and as he became ill unto death, we spent a great deal of time talking and sharing. Those times are some of the greatest treasures of my life.

    I think that good fathers, like yours or mine, help to form our idea of who God is, and that is one reason I can have a close reltationship with God. I sure you feel the same way. We are truly blessed. Thanks for reminding me of just how much!

    Love to you…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  12. June 26, 2009 11:32 pm

    Hi Li
    I’m just catching up on Pink Saturday posts. I’m so behind with my computer in the shop.
    I’m visiting my parents this week & found a bunch of old photos. What a wonderful post! Thank you for sharing
    Nerissa

  13. June 26, 2009 11:49 pm

    Lovely tribute ~ old photos are such a delight! I never tire of looking at them and love to see other’s as well. Thanks for visiting me so that I could find and visit you! Much love and thanks for sharing from your heart! ~ Katie

  14. June 27, 2009 10:10 pm

    What a wonderful post to honor your father. Unfortunatly, my father pasted and so this holiday leaves me a little sad. I didn’t find your ps post, but wanted to say hello to you anyway, and wish you and yours a wonderful week. Happy Pink Saturday, Char

  15. June 27, 2009 11:15 pm

    Beautiful post…Char,
    I enjoyed reading the wonderful post…Thanks for sharing…Thanks for stopping by ..Smiles and Hugs Katherinellen

  16. June 28, 2009 1:10 am

    I am sorry that I am so late to visit you! My dad was also the disciplinarian but underneath he was as sweet as cane be. You did a very sweet tribute to your dad.

  17. June 28, 2009 8:42 am

    what a lovely tribute. it’s so fun looking at old photos, isn’t it? everything looked so cool in black and white!

    xo

  18. June 28, 2009 9:34 am

    I JUST DROPPED BY TO WISH YOU A HAPPY PINK SATURDAY AND A BELATED FATHERS’ DAY…JUST CHECKING ON YOU….ENJOY YOUR WORK VERY MUCH
    HUGS
    debbie

  19. June 28, 2009 9:27 pm

    What a wonderful post and so so true. My dad sounds like yours and he is the most faithful person I know. Just knowing they are there is like having an anchor on a boat. Mine turns 90 in a few months though!!! Still with me and I am ever so grateful. hugs!!

  20. June 29, 2009 2:09 am

    What a lovely tribute.

    thank you for stopping by my blog

    Have a Magical Day

    Karen

  21. June 29, 2009 3:09 am

    Oh what a lovely post, that poem brought tears to my eyes! Thanks for sharing it with us. And I thank you for visiting my tea party…so happy you could make it.

    Jamie 🙂

  22. June 29, 2009 7:30 pm

    thanks for stopping by my mad hatters party. your blog is lovely.
    %*_*%

  23. cdonaghy permalink
    June 29, 2009 7:59 pm

    What a sweet father’s day tribute!

  24. LuLu Kellogg permalink
    June 29, 2009 10:37 pm

    Thank you so much for visiting me for the Tea Party!

    Hope you have a wonderful day!

    LuLu~*
    Coastal Sisters

  25. June 29, 2009 10:49 pm

    Beautifully written tribute!!!

  26. June 29, 2009 11:11 pm

    Beautiful!!
    Wonderful Father’s Day Tribute:)

    Have a blessed week! Thank you stopping by my tea party:) clink-clink

    Hugs,
    kayellen

  27. June 29, 2009 11:13 pm

    Such a lovely tribute to your father…….to all fathers.

    Have a beautiful day

  28. June 30, 2009 3:52 am

    what a wonderful blog post on Father’s Day. I loved reading it. 🙂

  29. June 30, 2009 5:26 am

    what a wonderful fathers day post love all the pictures. Thanks for visiting my mad tea party.
    -jj

  30. June 30, 2009 3:18 pm

    that was delightful. I wanted to thank you for popping over my mad tea party… have a great week !!! Mica

  31. June 30, 2009 8:24 pm

    what a sweet tribute to your father…i loved looking at all of your pictures…

  32. July 1, 2009 7:21 am

    Hello Dear Friend,
    I apologize for taking so long to visit you, as I have been dealing with some health issues and just haven’t been blogging. I finally gave in and went to the doctor, and am feeling much better, so now I can do some visiting,
    This is such and awesome post honoring your father and all of the other fathers as well. The poem by Helen Steiner Rice is most beautiful, thank you for sharing. I know your parents are honored to have you as a daughter too.
    Blessings,
    Sue

  33. July 1, 2009 9:32 pm

    Li, I don’t know what happened to my comment on this, I did post quite a long response! And for some reason no comment place is showing on your new header post, which I love by the way!! You know me and the outdoors!
    I loved your tribute to your Dad. I lost mine when I was 21 and I still miss him terribly.
    Thanks for such a lovely post. Hugs, Mary

  34. July 2, 2009 2:55 pm

    Li, I think it’s perfect! Love how you created your own and made it work for your blog. I do that sometimes, too…

    Yeah, this summer’s chock full of projects and activities for the little ones since we still have a long way to go before school starts and it is hot!

Leave a Reply

