Skip to content

OW: A New Look

July 1, 2009

;.

Finally, I get to have a header of my own πŸ™‚ I’ve been meaning to, really. But somehow I can’t find a header (or have taken a photo for that matter) that will just fit. But alas! That day has come.
;.
Oh I know it’s just plain. It is only a play of different shades of a single color. But it is something . . . for me at least. I like how it reminds me of the time before (like old photos) and I think it’s kinda dreamy.
;.

So, does that give you a hint of what a bore I am? LoL
;.

The header is actually outdoors – my outdoors when you look up when dusk comes.
;.
Here’s the original photo I’ve taken:
;.

P5150008-border

.

I would have used the original colors had it not look too gloomy or reminded me of a graveyard atmosphere. Oh yes, I tried the blacks and grays in the background too. LoL. Maybe it made me feel that way also because of the tree silhouette . Although it looks nice the way it is, don’t you think?
;.
Good thing I discovered sepia. πŸ™‚ It’s a little more reminiscing of the type. Kinda like ending the day in a restful way. Or maybe it’s just me. But wouldn’t it be much nicer to have falling leaves captured as well? But I doubt it’ll be the one I’m imagining with the pine trees and its stringy leaves LoL
;.

I also like the font. It’s quite fitting, I think. I would have used my own if it didn’t look like the lines chickens scratch on the ground πŸ™‚ Yes, I have a terrible penmanship.
;.

.

.

.

Happy Outdoor Wednesday!

outdoorwednesday

Thank You Miss Susan of A Southern Daydreamer for hosting Outdoor Wednesday.

For other Outdoor Wednesday posts, click on the link or the logoΒ  πŸ™‚

44 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 2:15 pm

    Great photo effect! Happy Outdoor Wed!…Christine

  2. July 1, 2009 3:16 pm

    Likin the header!
    ps There’s a giveaway for a couple of my anatomical plates that you, or somebody you know, might like…head over to http://aussie-handmade-giveaway.com

  3. July 1, 2009 4:56 pm

    It’s a beautiful photo and a super job with making its shape into your blog header…I love the muted colors you’ve chosen.

    My Wordful/Outdoor Wednesday is all about something that was ‘taken from our yard’. But at our request. Happy Wednesday to you.

  4. July 1, 2009 7:46 pm

    You did a great job with the picture of the tree. To be honest, I would like a little more color on MY blog, but differences are what makes the world go around.

    Thanks for coming by and I hope you will come back soon.

    Happy Wednesday.

    Barbara

  5. Crystal permalink
    July 1, 2009 8:47 pm

    You did a great job with the photo. I know what you mean about getting the right angle, colors or time of day.
    Happy Outdoor Wednesday!
    Crystal

  6. July 1, 2009 9:03 pm

    I like your photo effect, Li! I think it’s lovely.

    XO,

    Sheila πŸ™‚

  7. July 1, 2009 9:36 pm

    Congrats on having a new header! You did a great job with the photo.

  8. July 1, 2009 9:44 pm

    I don’t know what the old header looked like, but this one is lovely. I read an article recently that said that graphics should be cleaner and less cluttered during bad economical times(???) So it fits right in!!!

    Rhonda

  9. July 1, 2009 10:04 pm

    Your new header is spectacular. You’ve done a great job with the photo. Have a wonderful day and enjoy the holiday weekend.

  10. July 1, 2009 10:06 pm

    it looks fantastic!
    chasity

  11. July 1, 2009 10:23 pm

    I like the sepia. I should take the time and work on some of my photos like that.
    Glenda

  12. July 1, 2009 10:31 pm

    I think its a lovely header…and i dont think you are boring or we wouldnt stop and read.

    πŸ™‚

    TTFN~~Claudia ♥

  13. July 1, 2009 10:31 pm

    I love your header, it goes perfectly with your blog name and oozes calmness, I like the original photo too, happy Wednesday, Kathy.

  14. July 1, 2009 10:39 pm

    J’adore your new look, your new header is perfect…and luv the little bugs crawling under “your state of mind”…too cute!
    -marie

  15. July 1, 2009 11:37 pm

    Very nice header. Love the sepia effect!

    Christi

  16. July 1, 2009 11:55 pm

    love it… happy ow

  17. July 2, 2009 1:04 am

    It’s nice.

  18. July 2, 2009 2:34 am

    I do like your header picture. I too, just added a header photo recently. I like the sepia tone.

    Thanks for stopping in and joining me on the virtual train trip to Philadelphia.

  19. July 2, 2009 4:25 am

    Li ~ I love your new header!! Looks very peaceful.

  20. July 2, 2009 4:48 am

    love the color of the sky each time I see pictures similiar to this I seem to think back to vintage good old days

  21. July 2, 2009 5:26 am

    I think your new header is lovely! I don’t love mine, but have had the same problem as you, can’t find a picture that fits properly.

  22. July 2, 2009 6:01 am

    You did a great job on the header! Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment for me on my hibiscus. πŸ™‚
    Blessings,
    Sandra

  23. Ellen permalink
    July 2, 2009 6:22 am

    I like the sepia. The header looks very nice and peaceful :0)

  24. July 2, 2009 7:05 am

    Hello, thank you for coming by and visiting me the other day. I have been very preoccupied with editing and publishing so blogging has gotten pushed to the back burner. BUT, I can’t tell you how sweet it is to read comments like yours.

    I think your header is lovely – it accomplishes what you said, peace. Great job!

    xJ
    MaidenShade.wordpress.com

  25. July 2, 2009 10:03 am

    I say you did pick a very nice header. Very simple yet eye catching.

  26. July 2, 2009 11:51 am

    Nice transition from photo you took to photo you created, very artsy, I like it. Happy OW.

  27. July 2, 2009 12:20 pm

    HAPPY OUTDOOR WEDNESDAY LI,
    I love your new header in the sepia. even the black and white one does not remind me of a grave yard but I love trees…you did a great job.
    Angel Hugs
    debbie

  28. July 3, 2009 11:10 am

    I do love your new header! Lovely. The ants are exactly my state of mind right now. Must check that out.

  29. July 3, 2009 12:13 pm

    I love the new header! Very peaceful and definitely more old fashioned looking. Nice

  30. July 3, 2009 6:27 pm

    Your new header looks nice. I like it, and I like the colors.

  31. July 3, 2009 7:27 pm

    Hi Li!
    I’m definitely loving the soft and muted background. My eyes tend to go cuckoo with my background so they are appreciating looking at something so calming. I love to leave messages on WordPress because I’m always eager to see what kind of creature I’ll be….LOL!

    Thanks for dropping by! Hope to see you at PS
    Deanna πŸ˜€

  32. July 3, 2009 9:45 pm

    I love your header! Sepia was absolutely the right choice to give your tree a very peaceful feel. I enjoy taking photos, and playing with them in Photoshop. It’s amazing how manipulating the photo can change the mood of the picture, as well as the appearance.

    Best Wishes,
    Kay

  33. July 3, 2009 11:05 pm

    I think your new header looks fantastic. Very subtle. I like your background color to match as well. Thanks for stopping by today and I hope you have a great one!

  34. July 4, 2009 8:36 pm

    Very nice in deed. Your blog looks beautiful. It looks light and summery. Great job!

  35. July 4, 2009 11:44 pm

    Thanks for stopping by! The seam binding and ribbons in the yellow box are the ones that belonged to my grama. The folded clothes are actually linens and tablecloths, pillows and pieces of lace in a baby basinet! I needed a big basket and I found one at a yard sale for $1. I needed some furniture for the new room and ya just can’t beat yard sale prices. Your blog is lovely – very creative! I like it!

  36. July 5, 2009 12:30 am

    Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such a nice comment.
    I love those little measuring bowls…..they would stay out to be on the counter to be admired!

    HAPPY PINK SATURDAY!
    Jil

  37. July 5, 2009 4:27 am

    I LIKE the new look, and the header. It doesn’t all have to be bright and brash… This is classic, elegant, restrained, restful. And clear and easy to read. Yes, I like it very much (I’m going to have to change mine now!)

  38. July 5, 2009 7:56 am

    I just bought some of those lacy cupcake wrappers – now I need those measuring cups and I’m good to go! Or not…LOL. I’ts too hot to cook or bake. Happy 4th. Nancy

  39. July 5, 2009 9:22 pm

    Hi,
    H.P.S. to you too!…
    The collage of two people facing away, si a collage print I bought off Etsy from Shyama…xxx

  40. July 5, 2009 9:39 pm

    Very pretty. I can’t imagine baking in those cups!

    Happy Fourth of July and Pink Saturday, both of them!!!

    Erin πŸ™‚

    http://www.fairiemoon.typepad.com/

  41. July 9, 2009 10:44 am

    I don’t know what your header looked like before since I just found your blog. But I like the simple look. However, I didn’t have my glasses on and those little bugs fooled me when I first opened your blog. I love your measuring cups!!

    Mabuhay (I’m not Filopino but my hubby is)

  42. July 11, 2009 12:57 am

    Love the cups -too cute. Of course their from Anthropologie my fave store. Cute blog!!
    Now go bake away!
    xo-junie

  43. July 18, 2009 8:02 pm

    That photo (header) looks cool with the Sepia! It add an altogether different and amazing look to a photo!

    Thank you for entering my giveaway! Good luck to you!

Trackbacks

  1. Trying A New Look « MyThoughtsMyVoice

Leave a Reply

