Skip to content

Pink Saturday: Home Sweet Home . . . or A Memory of It

July 11, 2009

.

Let’s jog down memory lane, shall we? Allow me to share a place I once called home . . . well, I still do! 🙂
.

I must have mentioned some times . . . or maybe a dozen times how I miss the beach. Why we did live just a walking distance from it. Just cross a two-way street and then a few more steps and there you are.
.

Pink SKy 7-1
.

It’s not a fancy schmancy type of beach where tourists flocks. It’s just a homely one where residents get to enjoy whenever they want.
.

Yes, I miss it terribly. Specially during times like this – where it’s always raining here and it’s so cold 😦
.

Philippines is supposed to be a tropical country where the sun is always shining. But nooooooooo, not where I am now.
.

Pink SKy 4-1
.

I grew up here. This is where I formed and bonded with friends. Everybody seems to know everybody in this small town. But I only knew certain people who have been family friends for a long, long time.
.

Now, if only I have the courage to jump right into the water like that little boy. Scary!
.

Pink Sky 6-1
.

But as much as I miss the place and the climate . . . I do miss the wonderful people we have left behind.
.

See, this was supposed to be our vacation (we also attended a wedding). But this place will always be home.
.

On our last night, we all gathered round here and brought foods. We enjoyed our dinner talking, reminiscing, and enjoying the view. Some of the kids even enjoyed a swim on the warm water 🙂
.

Pink SKy 8-1
.

These are just a few of the photos from the Despidida for me and my sister on our last day there last year. Don’t these views take your breathe away? We are very fortunate that the weather on that day was so cooperating. It lets me enjoy it right to the very last day.
.

A dear friend took these photos on that special day. She takes such beautiful pictures, yes?
.

She seems to have taken a fancy on photography the last time we visited. She has a cool camera too. Oh don’t ask me what kind as I don’t know LOL. It’s just that it has lots of buttons that she can play with.
.

Isn’t it nice to reminisce on such beautiful memories? After all, they are our heart’s very own treasure.

.

.

.

Happy Pink Saturday!
.

Thank you Miss Beverly for hosting this event.

For other pink stuff, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

pink-saturday1

.

==============================

Just a little note: The comment section link can be found at the very top, just below the title of this post. I noticed that some comments that were intended for my Pink Saturday post last week were placed on the post directly below it.

88 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2009 8:21 pm

    Beautiful post and photos.
    No place like home.

    Happy PS.
    Regina

  2. July 11, 2009 8:23 pm

    What gorgeous pictures! Fabulous! Happy Pink Saturday and enjoy your weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  3. July 11, 2009 9:13 pm

    What awesome pictures!! HaPpY PiNk SaTuRdAy! 🙂 Marsha

  4. July 11, 2009 9:25 pm

    Happy Pink Saturday, Li! Those photos are absolutely gorgeous – I can see why you miss it so. There is something about water and living near it, that is so wonderful. My husband misses the beach that he lived near when he was a boy. I miss the lake that my family had a cottage on. I hope you get to move closer to your beach some day.

  5. July 11, 2009 9:44 pm

    I loved your post and hearing about your childhood. These photos are amazing. They are so incedibly beautiful! Happy Saturday :>) I hope you have a lovely day.

  6. July 11, 2009 10:05 pm

    Your pictures are gorgeous, and yes, I could tell by your writing that you long to go home. They say home is where the heart is, and I think yours is still there. It’s hard, but at least you can go back and have visits. Thankyou for sharing such a lovely place with us, Happy Pink Saturday, Char

  7. July 11, 2009 10:07 pm

    Gorgeous photos Li! Nice reading about your small town home and yes, memories are the best. Great that you got to go back and visit even if for just a short time.
    That sky shot is just unreal. HPS!

  8. July 11, 2009 10:18 pm

    So beautiful! Where are you living now? It’s so nice to go back to where you have such wonderful memories. Thanks for visiting me this morning. Happy PS!

  9. July 11, 2009 10:23 pm

    Your blog is always so sweet and pink on Saturday! Thanks so much for sharing this week.

    Yes, I know what homesick feels like…not good but sweet all the same.

    Hope the sun is shining in your corner of the world and that your weekend is filled with happiness surrounded by everyone you l♥ve.

  10. July 11, 2009 10:28 pm

    Happy Pink Saturday. Visiting home is bittersweet sometimes. You grew up in a gorgeous gorgeous place. When I lived on the other side of the world, I couldn’t bear to come home on home-leave. The thought of saying goodbye again was just too difficult.

    Yet, now that I am older, I realize that each chapter brings it’s own joys, and certainly wonderful memories. You have beautiful memories that live inside your heart forever.

    Blessings, Karen

  11. July 11, 2009 10:33 pm

    I can feel your nostalgia and I can sense your happiness and sadness too! I agree, lovely pictures! I’m glad you had time with your family and friends! Happy Pink Saturday! Suzie

  12. July 11, 2009 10:59 pm

    Hi sweetie – I’m not doing PS today, but was just stopping by to say hello to you and to see how you are doing.

    The photos are lovely, so are your memories, eh? I too sense the longing and am sending you hugs.

    xJ
    MaidenShade.wordpress.com

  13. July 11, 2009 11:26 pm

    I love all the pink skies! Lovely pictures you took! Sorry to hear you are homesick. Sending ((hugs)) your way…
    ~Ann

  14. July 12, 2009 12:36 am

    The pink sunsets are beautiful!

  15. July 12, 2009 12:39 am

    Amazing sunsets. I can understand your missing all that beauty.

    I think the place where we grew up, and the memory of all the wonderful experiences and friendships, will always tug at our heartstrings….at least I find it to be so.

    I hope you are reunited with your beach someday.

    Best Wishes,
    Kay

  16. July 12, 2009 1:30 am

    Thank you so much for sharing your “home” with us. It must have been wonderful to be there with your sister, too. It is difficult to move on and sometimes heart wrenching to look back. Happy Pink Saturday!

  17. July 12, 2009 2:07 am

    Our memories are our life treasures. This is such a beautiful place. Your friend’s pictures are gorgeous. I am glad you enjoyed your special visit, and that now you have your sweet memories.

    Happy Pink Saturday.

  18. July 12, 2009 2:35 am

    There’s no place like home right Li? I’m sorry you miss so much. It truly is beautiful. The sunset is gorgeous.
    Sweet memories are the best.
    It’s raining again here at home. We did have 2 days of sun, so my nails got dirty lol
    We are enjoying our new little babies so very much.
    It’s good to be back on line.
    Happy PS my friend.
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxo

  19. July 12, 2009 2:35 am

    Hey I like my little hot pink little heart for my picture. I even have a hallow….how cool is that?
    xoxoxo

  20. July 12, 2009 3:40 am

    Absolutely stunning photographs – what a sunset! Wow, oh wow.

    RE spaghetti – I’m ashamed to admit I use a sauce from a jar – but having watched the video, it seems simple enough, so I’ll give it a go… I’ll probably need to wear overalls! Happy Pink Saturday.

  21. July 12, 2009 5:01 am

    Oh so beautiful and what a gift to have those wonderful memories for you to look at time and time again. Happy PS!

  22. July 12, 2009 7:13 am

    I loved your story..and your photos !!!!! Wow…are they ever beautiful. They could well be paintings..they are wonderful. Happy Pink Saturday, and have a lovely weekend.

  23. July 12, 2009 8:03 am

    It is a beautiful place and wonderful memories for you. I looked at a place (I think in Asia) called Pink Lake and the water was pink. It looks like this but yours is much prettier. Hey – I’m going to look at those measuring cups at Anthropologie. Happy PS. xoxo Nancy

  24. July 12, 2009 3:43 pm

    Happy Pink to You!! Thanks so much for visiting me. :0)
    I am the daughter of a retired military man. When I was 5
    years old he was sent to the Phillipine Islands. I remember
    the house we lived in, the live in housekeeper…I was totally
    fascinated how she could take half a coconut and buff those
    concrete floors!! To this day I view that lady as one artful soul.
    It was like a dance she did. :0) I remember the Caribou crossing
    the road and I sure wish I had the rattan furniture that we had!

    Thanks for sharing these photos..they are really beautiful. I can
    imagine how you miss it. :0)

    Have a great PINK week,
    Stephanie

  25. July 12, 2009 7:33 pm

    I just loved the photos and the wonderful story that went with them. Thank you so much for sharing.

    ¸.·´¸.·*´¨) ¸.·*´¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ Happy Pink Saturday
    Deanna 😀

  26. July 12, 2009 9:49 pm

    Your photos are stunning! The beach does hold a special place in our heart doesn’t it? Lucky the ones that live there. Happy Pink Saturday. xo Lynn

  27. July 12, 2009 10:01 pm

    Beautiful photo’s. Missing home is hard. Thanks for sharing.
    Have a good day.
    Vera

  28. July 12, 2009 11:42 pm

    Dear Li… it is beautiful, and being away from the water would be hard for me, too. I complain about the heat here in Florida when it gets too hot, but all in all, I like it. I also like the sun and the quality of the sun here. They sky is nearly always blue (unless it’s raining).

    The Phillipines is beautiful. I’ve never been, but it looks so unspoiled and lovely. Here’s wishing you warmer days ahead, and I loved what you said in your last sentence. Memories are, indeed, our hearts’ very own treasures.

    If I don’t meet you in this life, I look forward to meeting you in the next. I know that sounds crazy, but I keep thinking about that eternal home where the sun is always shining because God is light. Can you imagine how we will rejoice then around the crystal sea??? In the mean time, I rejoice in the beauty that He has prepared for us here. He is amazing, and His handiwork shows it!

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  29. July 12, 2009 11:57 pm

    Very Beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing your sweet home with us! I hope you get some warmer weather where you are soon!
    Happy Pink Saturday!
    Hugs, Lisa

  30. July 13, 2009 3:14 am

    Those photos are to die for! Your friend is an excellent photographer for sure! I love the water & sunset photos are the best. Those colors are amazing. Thank you so much for sharing these photos & for visiting me on Pink Saturday. Have a great week.

  31. July 13, 2009 5:57 am

    Beautiful Sunsets! You were truly spoiled living there!

  32. July 13, 2009 11:47 am

    Breathtaking photographs! Love that sunset on the beach photo. Thank you for sharing them. I’m so sorry you miss home so much. laurie

  33. July 13, 2009 2:52 pm

    These photos are beautiful – the views are so nice. Sunsets are usually my favourites but they’re all nice.

    I like your final note –

    “Isn’t it nice to reminisce on such beautiful memories? After all, they are our heart’s very own treasure.”

    This is so true.

    Have a wonderful week.
    ciao for now,
    Elena 🙂

  34. July 13, 2009 7:42 pm

    Makes me want to be there, right now!

  35. July 13, 2009 8:58 pm

    Hi Li,
    Your pics are beautiful! But even more beautiful yet, is the memories you have of home, family and friends. These will be with you forever.
    I can relate to this being from another state and how we feel when we go home. I think we take those precious memories on to our new home. What a blessing it is.
    I love the way you look upon life and your words always so inspiring. You have such a talent for expression. I think you should start a book of heartfelt meanings. It would be so well received.

    Thank you for stopping by Lorri’s home tour. Your kind words will mean so much to her. She is a wondeful person and dear friend. Part two coming hopefully tomorrow.

    Have a beautiful “hometown feeling” day.
    Hugs, your friend, Celestina Marie

  36. July 13, 2009 9:44 pm

    I can see why you miss it! What lovely pink sunsets. My mother-in-law is from the Phillipines too and she gets homesick for it- Kansas sure isn’t that pretty!

  37. July 13, 2009 10:15 pm

    Li, What beautiful photos!! I just love the clouds in the last picture. What an idyllic place to grow up, small town by the water, where everyone knows everyone. I can see why you are homesick for such a place.
    I loved the ocean as a child, we went to the beach every weekend. My Mom would pack lunch and we spent the day in the water. It’s odd that I don’t miss it. I now live by mountains and lakes and that is what makes me happy, I could never live where it’s flat again.
    Another great PS post from you!! Mary

  38. suesue permalink
    July 14, 2009 12:06 am

    those pictures are really gorgeous! what a place to grow up in-i’d miss it too! thanks for the visit and take care!!

  39. July 14, 2009 1:15 am

    How lovely the sunset is, what a wonderful place to have memories of ! I can see why you are so homesick! I moved about 35 miles to the rural country. I was so home sick, for the city for so long. Took me a while to adjust to living here. Then I worked traveling for five years, now home for three, wow the adjustment! lol You memories are wonderful of such a lovely place you have lived. Memories are so wonderful! You have told your love of home so beautifully!

  40. July 14, 2009 1:38 am

    What beautiful photos! I truly enjoyed them. I just love sunsets!

  41. July 14, 2009 3:41 am

    Simply beautiful. I can see why you love it so much.

  42. July 14, 2009 3:49 am

    Beautiful! Thanks for sharing…Love all the photos…Happy Pink…Katherinellen

  43. July 14, 2009 11:34 pm

    Thanks for visiting my Shabby Cottage and your PINK photos are beautiful! Warm wishes, Esther

  44. July 14, 2009 11:47 pm

    Beautiful photos. Thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog too. I hope you had a great pink Saturday.

  45. July 15, 2009 3:47 am

    Hi Li!
    Beautiful place…beautiful pictures.
    I love your new header too!!!!
    Hope all is well with you ~ have a great week!!!!
    everything vintage

  46. July 15, 2009 4:22 am

    Happy late Pink Saturday, Li!

    Oh! I love the water, too. This is something we share, it is dear to both of us. The pictures you posted of water in the Despidida at evening are so magical and beautiful. I can see how you would miss the place. Just lovely! Thanks for sharing your memories and your home.

  47. July 15, 2009 11:53 am

    oh, it looks so pretty and peaceful there…and those gorgeous skies…*sigh*…no wonder that you love it so!!!

  48. July 15, 2009 9:11 pm

    Dear Li, There is no place like home and we felt that when on our long trip out west. Your photos are gorgeous and your friend captured the wonderful place you call home so well. It looks so peaceful and serene. How wonderful for you to have time with family and friends. The water looks so tempting and a swim sounds so nice right now. Here in the mountains we don’t swim. Where I grew up in Florida there was the ocean and often a pool.

    Yes we have been busy and we are leaving for ten days on Friday for 10 days. sigh. I am not anxious to go but my hubby is meeting some 20 or so cyber friends to see a baseball game in Kansas City. Also, we are visiting an elderly aunt that is failing in health. Very important.

    Thank you for your many sweet comments on my posts. I will be back home again and intend to stay put for a while. I miss visiting my blogging friends very much.

    Have a wonderful day Li.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  49. July 15, 2009 11:21 pm

    Oh Li!!!… I have a surprise for you on today’s post, on my blog!!! Please do stop by to see! (0; ~tina

  50. July 16, 2009 11:27 pm

    those sunsets are beautiful….hope you get to see them like that again soon!
    chasity

  51. July 17, 2009 7:08 am

    those are really beautiful pics. hmmmn… saan kaya ito? 😀 no place like home talaga, li ‘no? the last time i went “home” was… 4 years ago. ang tagal na.

  52. July 18, 2009 5:09 am

    That is truly a breathtaking scenery. You should join me for Sightseeing Saturday, Regina. You have so much to share and show. The sunset can’t get any better than that…Christine

  53. July 18, 2009 10:20 am

    Those are absolutely fabulous Pink Saturday posts! 🙂

    I wanted to let you know that I’m having a giveaway! Be sure to come on over and join in!

  54. July 18, 2009 1:37 pm

    Breathtaking is the word for all these lovely photos. Oh, so pretty.

  55. July 18, 2009 5:51 pm

    I love your photos! thanks for sharing them and the story to go along with them and Happy Pink Saturday!
    Linda

  56. July 18, 2009 7:14 pm

    What a beautiful place. I am glad that you had time with friends and family to enjoy and reminisce. I will visit later for this week’s Pink Saturday.

  57. July 18, 2009 7:24 pm

    amazing! the shades of pink are superb! thanks for showing them to us!

  58. July 18, 2009 8:46 pm

    Happy Pink Saturday!! I guess we both had the same idea with the Pink Sunset pictures!!

  59. July 18, 2009 9:17 pm

    Hi!!!
    So Cute, what a amazing pictures!!!

    Happy pink saturday!!!

    xoxo

  60. July 18, 2009 9:18 pm

    Thank you, Regina, for sharing the beautiful pictures and your thoughts. I can feel the longing for home……
    I think we all have a place in our hearts we long to be where memories are so special.
    Sweet Hugs,
    Jil

    • July 18, 2009 9:35 pm

      Ummmmm my name is Li 🙂 But I understand your confusion. Maybe comments just overlapped from the site and names got mixed 🙂 And yes, this place will always have a special place in my heart.

  61. July 18, 2009 9:49 pm

    Fabulous!
    Beautiful photo’s.
    Happy pink saturday!!!

  62. July 18, 2009 10:13 pm

    I know that you were not posting today, but you were kind enough to come in for a visit and I wanted to do the same. I hope this finds you well and happy. I also hope to see you next week, I miss your pictures, Char

  63. July 18, 2009 10:22 pm

    Li ~ Thanks for visiting me today, hopefully I will have more pictures of Bryar this week sometime. I miss your pink post for this week (7/18). Happy PS anyway!

  64. July 18, 2009 10:23 pm

    The photos are absolutely stunning! Indeed your friend certainly knows how to beautifully capture a moment in time.

    Sending fairy wishes for a magical day and a very
    .•*˙˙*•.HaPPy PiNk SaTuRdaY!.•*˙˙*•.

    Cheers! =D
    ~Kitty Kellie
    The Artful Paper Doll

  65. July 18, 2009 10:29 pm

    I better go to the beach today live steps away but take it for granted!

  66. July 18, 2009 10:34 pm

    Li, just wanted to drop back by to say, “Hi.” I always miss you when you’re not with us on Pink Saturday, but I was glad to see you out and about visiting. Sending you much love, my friend, and hoping you’re in the pink!

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  67. lynne lynnesgiftsfromtheheart permalink
    July 18, 2009 11:31 pm

    Your pictures are breathtaking. Your story was so touching. It always amazes me that sometimes where we are now, isn’t where we call home. Theres always that “certain” spot for everyone that is “home”. Thanks for sharing… Happy Pink Saturday.. hugs ~lynne~

  68. July 19, 2009 12:26 am

    I’m visiting today because I was too busy last week. Your photos are gorgeous. I can see why you miss your home. It is beautiful!

  69. July 19, 2009 12:42 am

    Wow, Li, I love that place, too! I miss it for you and me, since I love the beach, too… I hope someday, when you are ready, you can come back for a longer vacation or stay and make a home there again. Those are great pictures!

  70. July 19, 2009 3:33 am

    WOW!!!
    Beautiful location and the sky is breath taking!
    Have a wonderful weekend:)

    Smiles,
    kayellen

  71. Charlotte permalink
    July 19, 2009 3:50 am

    The pictures are wonderful. This looks like a great place to live or to visit. I love the beach too. When I was 5 years old we lived in a tiny little house for awhile that was just over a hill and down to the ocean. I remember all the ice plant growing there.
    Charlotte

  72. July 19, 2009 5:42 am

    Lisa,
    Beatuiful! Love love this photos…oh how I miss the beach too! Thanks for the sweet comments on my lil niece and my Faithful Friday post….Thanks for stopping by…you are so devoted and faithful friend to have..I appreciate you visits…Happy Pink and have a wonderful weekends..Smiles and Hugs..Katherinellen

  73. July 19, 2009 8:21 am

    These are beautiful photos! The sky is just breathtaking and your friend does take some lovely, lovely pictures. Thanks for sharing your memories.

    Happy Pink Saturday!
    Robin@Miscellaneous Thoughts

  74. July 19, 2009 8:25 am

    What beautiful photographs and memories you have of your childhood home. Sometimes those memories make the heart catch. It must have been a very special place to be remembered with such fondness. Hugs and blessings…Mary

  75. July 19, 2009 8:56 am

    Breathtaking photos, makes me want to go swimming. Happy PS!

  76. July 19, 2009 8:14 pm

    Your home is a fascinating, beautiful place. Thank you for sharing your wonderful photos. And thank you for stopping by and leaving the thoughtful comments.

    Regards,
    Bill @ Affordable Accoutrements

  77. July 19, 2009 8:37 pm

    Your photos are so lovely…thank you for sharing with us.
    Happy pink days & hugs…xo Tami

  78. July 19, 2009 10:16 pm

    Loved your post. You have some great photos and precious memories. On thing for sure, we may not be somewhere or with someone, but memories are alway with us. Have a good week.

  79. July 19, 2009 10:39 pm

    Beautiful pink pictures!
    Hope you had a pink Saturday and a blessed Sunday.

    Thanks for visiting;)

  80. July 19, 2009 10:43 pm

    how gorgeous!!!!!! i would never want to leave. have a wonderful weekend.

  81. July 20, 2009 1:36 pm

    Hi, Li… just dropping back by to say, “Hello” and Happy Blue Monday!

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  82. July 20, 2009 9:23 pm

    What magnificent pictures! Happy Pink Saturday–on Monday!

  83. July 21, 2009 3:12 am

    Gorgeous pictures! What a beautiful place to call home. I would miss it too especially the beach! Thanks for visiting me. Come back soon! Pink Saturday is wonderful!
    xo-jj

  84. July 21, 2009 4:03 am

    BEAUTIFUL photos!

  85. July 21, 2009 9:53 pm

    What a lovely place to “call home”—-I don’t blame you for missing it.

    Hope you had a great Pink Sat. and thank you for your kind comments about my little gr.son. Dana

  86. July 21, 2009 10:32 pm

    How beautiful! It was just amazing to watch…. I have tried it. My dear cousin Pam sent me blooming tea and it was so fun to see the flower bloom. Thank you so much for partisipating in Tea and friendship Tuesday’s. Thank you for such a creative and lovely post.

  87. July 24, 2009 11:45 am

    Hello thank you so much for stopping by my site and joining me for tea over the rainbow. After the last couple of weeks I though maybe just some relaxtion would be nice. It was wonderful to read your thoughtful words about my blog, thank you so much. Please stop by again any time.

    Cheers,
    Heidi

Leave a Reply

