Skip to content

Pink Saturday: What’s Inside The Box?

August 15, 2009

.

Let us take a peek, shall we?
.

(Ok, it is just a shoe box but it is overflowing with priceless treasures! πŸ™‚ )
.

I1-1

.
Aaaaahhhh what else but letters.
.

I like reading handwritten letters and notes.
.

Nothing can make one’s heart feel at home and squeal with glee every time a letter arrives. Mine does πŸ™‚
.

I7-7

.

Yes, e-mails are more convenient.
.

You just type and when there’s an error, just click backspace. Oh yes, very fast in sending too.
.

But I love to see handwritten letters. Every thought, every stroke of the pen makes me happy. I also like the anticipation that goes with it πŸ™‚
.

I12-12

.

So does those seal. I have to laugh at times cause when you look at the dates – oh boy!
.

Time sure has lapsed.
.

But that is ok.
.

I13-13

.

Different stamps – they can be boring and some very interesting too.

.

Can you see hints of pink?
.

I23-23

.

Writing letters seem to encourage one to be creative too.
.

In writing, story-telling, and in crafts at times.
.

Before I left, a friend gave me a letter which I’m supposed to open when I arrive to my new home.
.

It was a “future” letter. She wrote things of what she had envisioned us to be after many many years.
.

I14-14

.

I sent here a copy of what she wrote then – she sure had a good laugh too πŸ™‚
.

As much as I am excited to read what they’ve got to share, I am also excited to see what colorful envelopes and stationery they use πŸ™‚
.

I15-15

.

Oh this little guy below? He qualifies as he has pink dots all over him πŸ™‚
.

Imagine my surprise to see him. I don’t know what they were thinking why they’d send me this. Scare me, perhaps? πŸ™‚ On his belly are their names – handwritten by them!
.

They also sent me a bunch of phone call receipts LOL ‘Course at the back are little notes. Nothing serious, just little conversations.
.

I16-16

.

Since me and my friends both knew that mails travel ssssoooooooooo slowly here, we thought of compiling our letters before sending them.
.

And so, I mostly receive bulky mails. 3 different letters from three friends in just one mail.
.

Interesting how one story can be reflected in 3 different views – each recounting their own experiences.
.

I19-19

.

These sure helped my homesickness.
.

I’m not getting much now though 😦 They have been so busy with family and I do understand. Guess we resort back to e-mails and cellphones. Oh well.
.

But those months of letter writing will always be something dear to look back. (Yes, I read them again from time to time and they still make me smile πŸ™‚ )

.

Do you like receiving handwritten letters/notes still?.

.
.
.

Happy Pink Saturday!
.

Thank you Miss Beverly for hosting this event.

For other pink stuff, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

Be curious and see what others come up with πŸ™‚ Some sweet, some fun, some creative . . . and everything else!

CLick . . . click . . . click . . . click . . . LOL

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

Pink Saturday Logo

67 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 4:05 pm

    That is beautiful post , i love letters to .
    Love from Netherland , RINI

  2. August 15, 2009 4:45 pm

    Oh yes, I do love handwritten letters. But I’m guilty of not writing as much now …. it’s those emails that seem to take over. I used to love using beautiful stationery and loved receiving them too.

    Thank you for sharing your treasures for Pink Saturday – I’ve enjoyed your post. Have a grerat day & a wonderful week.

    ciao for now,
    Elena πŸ™‚

  3. August 15, 2009 10:20 pm

    I love to receive handwritten notes and letters! It is always fun to see what type of paper/notes they choose. However, I don’t receive many anymore…I guess it is easier to e-mail or text. Letter writing is becoming a lost art. Happy PS!

  4. August 15, 2009 10:42 pm

    Li, Love your post for today, I never get letters, just emails. It’s ironic that I took up the hobby of cardmaking and have so few opportunities to send them! If you would like one just email me!
    I have every letter saved from one I was in HS and after I moved away from home. It’s fun to read them, they are from friends and family all through my teens and 20s.
    I’m going to pull them out again soon. Lovely post as always. Mary

  5. August 15, 2009 11:11 pm

    Li, What a beautiful post! I love letters too and have been guilty, lately of not writing very many. You have inspired me to get out a pen and beautiful stationery and get busy writing the old fashioned way! Have a wonderful week!

  6. August 15, 2009 11:44 pm

    What a lovely post. Sad to say that other than birthday or Christmas cards it’s been years since I received a handwritten not. I hope you are having a great day.

  7. August 16, 2009 12:46 am

    I do love hand written letters but I can’t remember the last time I sent one or received one. We still get handwritten thank you notes though. I wonder how long until those will be sent by email?!
    Have a wonderful Pink weekend!!

  8. August 16, 2009 1:18 am

    Handwritten notes are definitely nice. I think all of us probably rely too much on email, but I still send handwritten notes when I need to do a “thank you.”

  9. August 16, 2009 3:37 am

    What a sweet Pink Saturday blog post! Sadly, every Saturday for the past few weeks it has been raining in northern Michigan. So, this day always brings a little sunshine my way. Thanks so much for the treat!

    β™₯Wishing you and yours a wonderful weekendβ™₯

  10. August 16, 2009 3:49 am

    What a lovely post. I really enjoyed reading it. Happy Pink Saturday.

  11. August 16, 2009 5:20 am

    Beautiful post, Li! I love getting letters, too – although I am a terrible letter writer! I wish I was better at it, but I’m just not! Happy Pink Saturday!

  12. August 16, 2009 7:05 am

    Hello sweet Li, your post was lovely but made me a bit blue. Letter writing has become a lost art I think, and I treasure every handwritten bit of correspondence.

    I’m not participating but thought I’d stop by and say “Hello, Happy Pink Saturday”. It is always such a pleasure to come to your blog and see what you’ve been up to.

    See you soon!
    Jennifer
    MaidenShade.net
    (- note the new blog address)

  13. August 16, 2009 7:13 am

    Hi Li! I LOVE a handwritten letter or note, but I know how rare they are nowadays! I love to write them myself, but often I am terrible at organizing my time to do so. I am hoping you got my package at least? I did hear that Suzie got hers, so I’m hoping by now that you got yours too? I have another little giveaway today, if you would like! Stop by when you can! Happy Pink Saturday, and hope you’re having a wonderful weekend! ~beansie (0;

  14. August 16, 2009 3:37 pm

    I love handwritten ANYTHING – but old letters, yes, my absolute favourite. Ahh, nostalgia!

    So glad you liked my blog tips – but ouch, re centering – I wasn’t taking a pop at you, honest! There are 2 blogs I visit – long blocks of tiny pink italic text – which I just cannot read (and now don’t even try) I was trying to give a very gentle hint to. Yours fit your post perfectly, plenty of space, good size – so VERY readable, as all your posts are.

    Happy Pink Saturday, sweetie.

    • August 16, 2009 6:59 pm

      LOL Oh no worries Susie! πŸ™‚ I even just laugh at the situation just cause this was one or twice the time I did this and somehow it just matched to your post :-). Mizpah!

  15. August 16, 2009 8:18 pm

    I think that everyone likes receiving mail, but with email, not many send out “snail mail” any longer.

  16. August 16, 2009 9:21 pm

    Good morning Li, It is now Sunday and I am just now getting to my PS comments. We were gone all day yesterday to visit our son and family in TN. A day trip but it is 2 1/2 hours away. A happy day for us.

    I love your PS post. The sentiment of writing letters is absolutely true. It is sad that writing letters is almost a lost art. When you think about it, history is lost here. I have my parent’s letter’s from the times in their long married life and while they were courting. They are a treasure beyond words, now that they are both gone.

    On Saturday we went to TN to primarily visit our 17 year old grandson who is leaving on Mon. to go back to FL to finish his last year of HS. He lived with his mom (divorce) and she passed away in Feb. of cancer at 42. A very sad story. Your post is so relevant to this info as I PROMISED to write him a letter every week to remind him he is missed and loved. I will have to work hard not to forget, as writing letters is not something I do these days.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and lovely photos. A wonderful PS post.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  17. August 17, 2009 12:42 am

    Ohhhhh, yes I loved your post. And yes..the handwritten notes and cards mean a lot.. Happy Pinks and have a lovely week.

  18. August 17, 2009 4:23 am

    Li,
    Love the letters too….I keep my cards…they are special to me….Love your pink post….Glad you can see my rose…I remember you said you couldn’t see the first photos…sorry about that…On my Outdoor..I had just two photo….then i later went out the next day and took the rose in full blooms. Thanks for stopping by and sweet comments…Hope you are haveing a great weekends…Happy Pink…Katherinellen

  19. August 17, 2009 2:09 pm

    ahhhh.. what a lovely post you wrote about handwritten letters! like you, it means a lot to me and I love to receive them and I still keep some of the letters my dad wrote to me back 20 years ago..

    have a great week! happy belated PS

  20. dottydotty permalink
    August 17, 2009 2:22 pm

    Really enjoyed your post I love recieving hand written notes too but they are very rare in this house if you ever feel like swapping notes with someone in the uk I would be happy to oblige.

    Have a fab pink week

  21. August 17, 2009 5:56 pm

    Thanks for stopping by. Love your posting. I myself still keep the letters send to me years ago.

  22. August 17, 2009 9:02 pm

    Nice post! πŸ™‚
    I still keep the stamps.

  23. August 17, 2009 10:59 pm

    Hi!
    That is beautiful post.
    I love letters to .
    Happy Pink Saturday.

  24. August 18, 2009 1:59 am

    Busy weekend. Just now getting around to Enjoy all the PINK.
    I love all the Pinks in your letters and notes. I am guilty of not writting letters anymore now there is email. You are lucky you still have your treasures.
    ENJOY!
    Jany~
    Don’t forget to “Look in the Nook”

  25. August 18, 2009 4:02 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my Pink Saturday post. I admit, I LOVE “real” letters, but hate writing them. Email is so much easier, and even then, sometimes I’m bad about it. THought provoking post. Thanks!

    Judy

  26. August 18, 2009 7:24 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog.
    Yes, I do love handwritten letters – I use Segoe Script LOL
    JJ

  27. August 18, 2009 8:28 pm

    Loved your post and the treasures you have. I have a few that I have saved over the years, but not like yours. Very interesting to read and see what loved ones did years gone by. Thanks for sharing.

  28. August 18, 2009 9:34 pm

    You are so right! There is nothing better than a hand-written letter. Each one is totally unique and personal!

    Great post!!!!!

  29. August 18, 2009 9:34 pm

    Hi Li, Oh I love hand written letters and notes. I too have many saved in treasure boxes and love to go back and read them from time to time. I still think it so special to take the time to hand write something to a friend. My favorites are letters from loved ones no longer with us and those I will never receive again.
    I just love your post and how dear your heart thinks. You are such a gift and a blessing to visit. Thank you for sharing this art form, in a world of everything fast and right now, It is so special to walk to the mailbox and see a letter. Even a toy lizard!! LOL!!

    Thank you for your recent visits and kind comments. I always love to see you. I am on a staycation at home this week doing odd jobs and such. See you again when I am back in the studio. Have a wonderful week dear friend.
    Hugs, Celestina Marie

  30. August 18, 2009 9:57 pm

    Li you won’t believe this, but I couldn’t sleep last nigh so I got up. It was 2;30 in the morning. I went back to bed and thought “hey my friend hasn’t come by to check in on me”… there you are this morning (I’m still tired) but now you have made my day.
    My MIL always sent me beautiful letters, cards and pictures in the mail. She’s been gone for 2 years now, and I miss her and her writings. I have all of Randy’s grandmother’s journals, and enjoy reading her daily life adventures.
    Now, it seems I only get bills lol
    Sending you love all way.
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxoxox

  31. August 18, 2009 10:22 pm

    What a busy week!! Just now getting around to PS posts! Yikes!

    What a great post! It saddens me that the art of letter writing seems to be dying out 😦

    Hope you’re having a great week!

  32. August 18, 2009 11:14 pm

    I love getting handwritten notes. My mother still does send letters that she writes very early in the morning. My book project is to type them all up someday. Just for my brother and sisters and me.

    Remember wax seals? Loved them. I also save pretty cards for tags.

  33. August 19, 2009 12:37 am

    Hand written letters are definitely a treasure and so rare these days. I always say I will some day go back to hand written leters but don’t. Love this post!
    xo-jj

  34. August 19, 2009 1:10 am

    Hello, Li,
    Yes, I do love receiving letters, notes and cards! I am a recently retired schoolteacher, and I tried very hard to instill a love of writing in my students. I enjoyed looking at all your letters, stamps, cards, notes, etc. I hope we never the lose the art of letter writing. Thanks for paying me a visit at Bunny Cottage. Have a wonderful week. Vicki

  35. August 19, 2009 2:54 am

    Oh Li!!!
    Handwritten letters are almost a lost art…how fortunate you are to have keep those keepsakes!!! I regret never keeping any of the ones that were sent to me over the years…I guess I just took them for granted! (boo hoo)
    You post just makes me want to sit with my favorite pen and write to those whom I haven’t heard from in a while! Thanks for the inspiration sweetie!!!!!
    everything vintage

  36. August 19, 2009 5:30 am

    Nothing beats receiving a hand written letter on a lovely card or special stationary. I’ve made it a goal of mine to send handmade cards to loved ones back home now that we moved. I loved how you & your friend wrote future letters to each other. What a sweet thought.
    I hope all is well with you.
    Nerissa

  37. August 19, 2009 6:43 am

    Such a lovely post. I love old letters, and I collect them. When I lived in Hong Kong with our family, I sent and received letters all the time. You are right receiving a hand written note or letter is so much lovelier than e-mails. Looks like you have quite a stash of lovely letters.
    Karen

  38. August 19, 2009 8:45 am

    Not many people write handwritten letters anymore I can understand why you treasure the ones you have. Hope you had a great PS. Thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog and leaving such a nice comment too.

  39. August 19, 2009 11:40 am

    There IS something very special about opening the mailbox and seeing a letter! I am afraid it is becoming a lost art. You are so right, everyone wants things fast and easy! This is a very nice Pink Saturday Post!

  40. August 19, 2009 9:10 pm

    how wonderful! Yes! I love handwritten letters and cards. I sued to get so many, but like you, not since email!
    Beautiful post! thank you! Maybe we should resurrect the art of a handwritten letter?

  41. August 19, 2009 9:11 pm

    that is supposed to say “used to get” ha ha!

  42. August 19, 2009 10:16 pm

    yes…there is something incredibly special about receiving a letter or package in the mailbox…what a treat.
    have a wonderful day~
    chasity

  43. August 20, 2009 12:02 am

    Hi,

    I just love handwritten letters. I have a box full of them from years gone by and a special box for letters my husband and I exchanged while dating. Such cherished memories. Thanks so much for visiting.

    Carrie

  44. msakelley permalink
    August 20, 2009 4:25 am

    What a delightful box of treasures for P.S. Thank you for sharing and also your visit to my blog.

  45. August 20, 2009 6:35 am

    Good evening Li,
    I do love getting letters and cards. They are so much more personal. I like looking at my cards and letters over and over again. I also like the stickers sometimes included on the envelopes. I cherish home made cards. These days, as sorry as it is to say, letters and cards are a thing of the past. Today I would most likely recieve an e-mail or tex and as much as I appreciate them there is still nothing so grand as recieving a letter or card.

  46. August 21, 2009 4:50 am

    I also love handwritten letters and used to write them all the time. But, nobody writes back – I get an email in response. I refuse to write thank you notes by email, however, as I think that is the height of bad manners. There is a thrill to seeing a handwritten envelope in the mailbox!

  47. August 21, 2009 8:47 pm

    I couldn’t agree more – handwritten letters are the best! Sadly, I receive very very few these days.

    Loved reading your post – and the lizard is terrific! LOL

    Thanks for the heads up about the purple bookshelves – gotta love an active imagination!!!

  48. August 22, 2009 10:38 pm

    same here li. there’s nothing like receiving something from the post. as long as hindi bills :D. while i’m happy receiving something from the karter0, i’m tamad naman to write. pero maybe if i’m as good as you in writing masipag siguro ako magsulat.

    hi li, where are you now? my little pink lady and his dad went to baguio this morning for a quick visit.

    hope all is well with you. ingats!

  49. August 25, 2009 11:14 am

    I enjoy getting handwritten letters or cards too. I know what you mean. It seems to mean more or maybe not more but it means differently because the person did write…each pen stroke as you said. I don’t often get anything handwritten because it really is so convenient to email. Of course emailing gets it “there” quicker too as you think it so it is written and arrives….

    I love your box of letters. I have some too and they are becoming even more special.

    Thank you for sharing…..
    Happy Belated Saturday
    Judi

  50. August 29, 2009 11:12 pm

    Li-Sorry you are having computer trouble,but I am glad I got to see this! I definitely am a fan of snail mail!–so much more personal. I love pretty stationery and knowing that someone took the time to write me!

  51. August 30, 2009 2:22 am

    I love mail. I am also very sorry to hear that you are having computor problems. I hope they get fixed quickly and don’t cause you too much distress. I was not here last week, so this post is new to me. Great, I must say, Happy Pink Saturday, Char

  52. August 30, 2009 3:34 am

    A letter writer and someone who likes mail art – a kindred spirit! No one writes to me but I like writing to people.

  53. September 5, 2009 11:41 pm

    What a fun gift to get to open. Each thing you pulled out must have been more fun than the last. Happy Pink Saturday and have a great weekend.

  54. September 6, 2009 8:27 pm

    I spend hours standing in front of the cards stand at the stores looking for just the perfect card to send someone. HPS…belatedly.

  55. September 6, 2009 9:05 pm

    Hand written letters, oh it brings back my memories of 20 years ago time…

  56. September 7, 2009 12:07 am

    I LOVE that black and white polka dot box with a hint of pink!!!
    ENJOY!

  57. September 7, 2009 9:15 am

    Your post is wonderful – I like to find old letters in an antique shop and purchase them. I enjoy reading the everyday lives of these people. Happy Pink Saturday to you and I hope you are enjoying the holiday.

  58. September 7, 2009 10:12 am

    Oh what fun things! Congrats on winning!…Christine

  59. September 7, 2009 1:24 pm

    Great way to capture a fun mad party…in a collage. Enjoy your box of goodies!

  60. September 8, 2009 4:53 am

    Thank you for visiting my blog. That party sounds like such fun, I will check it out. Love your P.S, post. Martha

  61. September 8, 2009 11:13 am

    Sorry I am so late for Pink Saturday! Labor Day weekend just got in the way. Love your pink goodies in the box. Perfect for a Mad Hatter Tea Party! Have a great week.

  62. September 10, 2009 2:14 pm

    Finally…I made it here for Pink Saturday! I’m a day late and a dollar short this week, but still wanted to say hi! Loved your post about handwritten letters. It’s a dying art, it seems. I was so proud to get four handwritten notes in the mail today. It seemed to take me forever, but I did it, and I know it will mean a lot.

    All the best to you!

  63. September 13, 2009 2:09 am

    Such a lovely post and Happy Pink Saturday!

    Linda

  64. September 13, 2009 4:29 am

    Li, you are always giving me ideas! I love ya for it! I have so many tablescape ideas right now, my mind is reeling, but time, I could use another 24 hrs within each day, you know? LOL

    Looks like you’re having too much fun on this blog. I’ll have to catch up on what everyone’s up to soon.

    Thanks again for the visit!

  65. September 13, 2009 11:48 am

    Most interesting Pink post today! Thanks for sharing, Martha

  66. September 13, 2009 2:00 pm

    Lots of cuteness and creativeness there. I love all of them!..Christine

Leave a Reply

