Skip to content

Tea & Friendship Tuesday’s: Steamed Banana Cupcake

September 15, 2009

.

I am really making the most of steaming. After my attempt with cake balls, I thought of making something with less fuss 🙂
.

Steamed Banana Cupcake! I really like eating banana cake (brown and baked in the oven). But you know me, can’t bake so steaming it is LOL
.

B2
.

They turned out quite good, yes?
.

Hhhhmmmmm ok . . . ok. Maybe I did something wrong cause they turned out cracked on top 😦
.

The original recipe called for a self-raising flour. And with that kind of flour used, a little note was made that the batter still didn’t rise to her liking.
.

C3
.

I didn’t use a self-raising flour, and taking into account her note, I kinda poured the batter to the cup almost up to the brim (oh yeah, I’m grinning here)
.

No matter. Somehow I like the way they looked. They are like happy cupcakes!
.

It’s like when I opened the pot, there they were, all smiling at me. Or . . . maybe they’re cracking up LOL Don’t ask me who told the joke or what they were laughing about.
.

D2
.

I like eating them warm and with butter spread on top. Hhhmmm maybe my cupcake was a little bit too hot cause the butter just melted 🙂
.

They turned out soft, fluffy, and not too sweet.
.

F12
.

No tea for now. I just thought they would go well with a cup of tea (or coffee for me 🙂 )
.

Maybe next time I can add some chocolate chips? Yum! 🙂
.
.
.
.
.

Happy Tea and Friendship Tuesday’s!
.

Miss Carol of Charli and Me is hosting for today.

(Let’s hope her computer problem is fixed)

Thank You!

Tea and Friendship Tuesday

No matter. Somehow I like the way it looked.

.

===================================

Recipe is from Baking Fiends Unite! (Do you think there’s an error and supposed to be “Friends? 🙂 )

I sure wish my baking cups were as pretty as hers 🙂
.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 8:29 pm

    Oh girl, you’ve made me so hungry and there is nothing in MY house that is going to make me very happy now after seeing and reading about your cupcakes! I could just smell them and taste them as I read, and I thought for a moment some melted butter plopped down on my pajama shirt! 🙂

  2. September 15, 2009 11:46 pm

    Hi Li, Oh they look so good and now I am hungry. I make banana bread very similar and it always cracks on the top too . I think this is a sign of good ole homemade!!
    I have never tried mine in cupcakes, so you have inspired me to try making them this way. Like little cupcake breads. I bet they would be good with the choclate chips like you said.
    But that CC with the melted butter looks so yummy I can hardly stand it. LOL!!

    Thank you for sharing and also for stopping by and your kind comment. You are so encouraging and inspire me to create. Thank you for that sweet friend.

    Have a great week, and now I must go have a snack!
    Hugs, Celestina Marie

  3. September 16, 2009 2:15 am

    Awww…… Thanks for mentioning my blog. I love bannan cake. These look delicious! I have never heard of steaming a cake. It’s very interesting. I hope you are having a lovely day.

  4. September 16, 2009 2:25 am

    Cupcake and Banana! Some of my favorites together! Yummy tummy.

  5. September 16, 2009 3:36 am

    Just wanted to stop in & thank you for the visit & the comment! But I’m afraid the Lean Cuisine I’m having for lunch doesn’t sound very appetizing now…wonder who’s to blame for that? LOL

    It looks fabulous…loved your analogy that they were smiling at you!

  6. September 16, 2009 10:00 am

    Oh, dear, could you give the recipe? The cupcakes look scrumptious, and I think I could adapt them using gluten-free flour. I’ve never heard of steaming cupcakes. I think that might do very well with gf.
    Hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  7. September 16, 2009 1:23 pm

    Hi Li,

    Did you make your cupcakes with those little mini bananas? I eat them whenever I visit the Philippines…they are the most flavorful in the world. I love the idea of the cupcakes telling jokes and cracking up. Banana, chocolate chip next time, eh? Yummm!

    Best Wishes,
    Kay

  8. September 16, 2009 7:13 pm

    mmm! i love bananas. 🙂

    xo

  9. September 16, 2009 8:08 pm

    Steaming is a new method for me. I’ll have to try it.

  10. September 16, 2009 8:10 pm

    Hi Li! Steamed cupcakes??!.. This is the first time I have ever heard of such a thing! The cracks don’t bother me… The still look absolutely delicious!! ~tina

  11. September 16, 2009 9:40 pm

    I like it that they “smiled up at you”!

  12. September 16, 2009 10:45 pm

    Li, those look so good…too cute that you said they were smiling at you 🙂
    i recently did a steaming project…and how funny i was just telling Karla
    about it and i see she is right above me here as i am typing away on my
    keyboard…anyhoo, i made tamales…what a PROJECT!!! good grief, it
    took me about 3 hours to get them all assembled…and i am sorry to say
    they were not a hit…oh, well…i wanted to try then and i did…

    ps: those are small clothespins on my post…that is how i store my smaller
    bits of lace

  13. September 16, 2009 11:08 pm

    Li, those look so tasty! I’m curious about the steaming aspect of making the cupcakes. I’ll have to look into this method!

    xo
    Claudia

  14. September 17, 2009 5:18 am

    Oh how wonderful those look! YUMMY!!! And you know, they DO look like happy cupcakes. Little sunshine cakes; ) xJ

  15. September 17, 2009 9:55 pm

    Now who cares if the cupcakes cracked on top….they look yummy to me. And I bet some chocolate chips added to the banana batter would be wonderful. 🙂 I have never steamed cakes before. May have to try it. Hope you have a wonderful day. xo Lynn

  16. September 17, 2009 10:10 pm

    Never in my life would I thought of steaming cupcakes! Like you, there is just something about the little brown tops, etc. that make me want to eat them but yours look wonderful! Love the tops!

  17. September 18, 2009 12:05 am

    Hello Dear Li
    The only baking I do is banana chocolate chip muffins… I have made the same recipe since the kids were 2. So about 20 years now… I do make birthday cakes but that’s about it. Oh heck any type of cooking doesn’t do a thing for me lol
    So glad you come to visit me dear friend.
    I have so much to say about my mom’s visit, but not sure how much to share… it’s all ok, and I dealt with it all. If the mood hits I will if not of well… right?
    Sending you hugs and love
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxox

  18. September 18, 2009 3:29 am

    The cupcakes looks so delicious, I love anything with bananas and the one on the left does seem to have its mouth open and smiling.lol I haven’t tried steaming but it seems to do well. Thank you for visiting me and for leaving such a sweet comment.
    Sue

  19. September 18, 2009 7:55 am

    Your steamed banana cupcakes look good, and now I too want to know is it “fiends” or is it “friends”.
    I am new here so don’t know why you are steaming and not baking, but you are having great success with this cooking technique.

  20. September 18, 2009 9:32 am

    They look great to me! And I loved all of your commentary about them laughing! That was soooo cute! laurie

  21. September 18, 2009 11:30 am

    Hello Li, your steamed muffins really look delicious. I have never steamed anything like baked goods. I would like to try it though.

    Thanks for your visit Li, I always enjoy hearing from you. I missed your pink Sat. post so I scrolled down. I liked it all. I have been visiting Amisha. I like her name too. Beverly’s idea of meeting new bloggers is good.

    Have a wonderful week.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  22. September 19, 2009 11:57 am

    Mmmm….just what I’d eat for breakfast. We had a really exciting day today, I can’t wait to share on my blog. Have a great weekend!

  23. September 19, 2009 12:03 pm

    Li ~ YUM! wish I had some right now!!!!! I am so hungry, didn’t have any dinner. Trying to loose a few pounds before I go to Paris and Italy so I can eat anything I want!!!!!

  24. September 19, 2009 9:41 pm

    I see that you are not doing Pink Saturday this week, but wanted to come in and say hi anyway. You left the sweetest post on my blog and I wanted to thankyou. Your banana cupcakes sounds really good, they look good too, you just don’t get the brown color when steamed and not baked. I bet the taste is very much the same, maybe better because they look so moist. I hope you are back with pink next week, and I will wish you a very Happy Pink Saturday anyway my pinkie blogging friend, Char

  25. September 19, 2009 11:09 pm

    Just looking at these pictures is making me hungry. These cupcakes look delicious.

  26. September 19, 2009 11:17 pm

    Well if they tasted good that’s all that matters right! I think they look just fine, they sound yummy too. I’ve been meaning to make some banana bread, but somehow there are never enough bananas left to use! They’re git before they can ripen enough.

    Sorry you couldn’t see the O’keefe video. I don’t know why it’s not playing. I hope others can see it. You didn’t miss much anyway. It was just a short little preview. I hope you have a great day and a fabulous weekend!

  27. September 20, 2009 12:45 am

    I have bananas in the fridge that need to be baked into something. Maybe I’ll try this today! Thanks for sharing!

  28. September 20, 2009 3:23 am

    These look great. My, but you’re a dangerous woman to know, lol. Fabulous.

  29. September 20, 2009 7:50 am

    YUM! Oh yes, I want mine with choc. chips please! They did look like little happy faces…never heard of those.
    And I can’t bake a darn thing either…my cakes always flop…

  30. September 21, 2009 12:31 am

    I don’t know about these banana cupcakes Li, but YOU sure crack me up!
    🙂
    You are so funny with your little jokes!
    They look deliciously delightful, cracked up or not! 😉
    uuummmm, next time I’ll take mine with chocolate chips…great idea!!!!

  31. September 21, 2009 2:41 am

    Hi Li..
    I think your cupcakes look scrumptious……I would like one with lots of butter please. Love the recipe came from Baking Fiends….that’s too cute. ……..

  32. September 22, 2009 12:16 am

    Really enjoyed your post today. I am gaining weight just looking all the goodies you come up with.

  33. September 22, 2009 9:46 am

    Those cupcakes look so moist and delicious.

  34. September 24, 2009 9:47 am

    I guess I’m just a little behind on the Blue Monday party…eeek! 😛 Sorry!

    Love your clever post!
    ~Liz

  35. October 17, 2009 6:57 pm

    hmmmn… natakam naman ako li! alam mo ba na ang pinaka-peborit ko na banana cake e galing diyan – sa baguio country club. first tasted it when my former boss gave me one long loaf! ay, heaven! teka, kelangan i-try ko rin gumawa nito.

Leave a Reply

