Skip to content

Pink Saturday: A Childhood Memory

December 5, 2009

.

I have been away for a while cause I had someone visit me! Unexpected but in a good way I must say 🙂 And thus, the days went by . . . and fast. I guess time flies fast when you are enjoying 🙂
.

The remaining days were spent being sick though 😦 I don’t like being sick.  The weather is not agreeing. I see the sun shining but still the air is ssssssssssssssoooooooo cold! Christmas definitely is here 🙂 I guess I just have to be thankful that we don’t have winter here, otherwise I don’t think I’d be able to bear it! 🙂
.

Anyway, I decided to make a project during this cold season and planned to share it for this Pink Saturday. Then I received Miss Beverly’s e-mail about themed Pink Saturday. Scratch that and move on LOL.
.

I have this one memory that popped when I read the mail. So here goes .  .  .
.

I remember as a  little girl, when Christmas Season starts, Mama will ask me and my sister what we like as gifts. I guess that is music to every little boy and little girl’s ears  LOL But I was never particular of gifts and I would end up with no response (I like surprises though – not the bad ones please).
.

See, there was this particular year . . .somehow there was this dream of me learning to sew. I had my eye on this toy sewing machine in white and pink 🙂 It’s a toy and miniature but it actually sew when you turn it’s wheel 🙂 Months past and Christmas came. Ma would wake up early in the morning wrapping gifts (she has something for me and my sister and her godsons and goddaughters). I know cause I remember when I woke, everything is wrapped already LOL. I guess you already guessed what was inside mine that Christmas. It was the pink sewing machine! I didn’t ask her for it but she remembers! (That memory of me waking and seeing her finishing the wrapping is still vivid)
.

Oh I have another one .  .  . (I know I said one but I just have to add this too 🙂 )
.

Ok maybe this one I’m not a little girl anymore LOL It was highschool and still in the Christmas season. I think it was right before we had our Christmas  break. I had this chocolate crinkles recipe I wanted to try out. We didn’t have an oven in my home but one my my dearest friend own one. We bought all the ingredients needed and head to her home. We mix and mix and roll and roll. It was fun! Our hardwork paid off because maybe it wasn’t the perfect looking cookie we ever baked but I can assure you, the four girls who made them had lots of fun during the process. I miss them. 😦
.

Family and friends – our gifts all year round! 🙂.
.

The picture below was supposed to be the original Pink Saturday contribution. But with the theme, I’ll just give you a sneak peek of what I’m making. More to come and I have questions too (but in a separate post).
.


.
.
.
.

Happy Pink Saturday!.

Thank you Miss Beverly for hosting this event.

For other pink stuff and childhood memories, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

Pink Saturday Logo

28 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 9:51 pm

    On this first Saturday of December ♥Jappy Pink Saturday♥. I was away for a while and sure missed running around the blogs arnd seeing all of the goodies everyone was sharing.

    Thanks for the memory…

    It was a blessing for you to make my morning so much fun. Hoping that you and those you care about spend a wonderful weekend making memories that will last a lifetime☺

  2. December 6, 2009 2:03 am

    Happy Pink Saturday, Li! Loved hearing your Christmas stories and also seeing your beautiful handmade pieces. So pretty in pink!

    I had a tiny sewing machine, too, one year, and I just wish I had learned to really use it! LOL! Oh, what I would give to be able to really sew. I think it’s wonderful when all of you creative people do.

    Sending you much love on Pink Saturday and always…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  3. December 6, 2009 3:42 am

    Li! You were a girl after my own heart! LOL I would have loved a little pink sewing machine too. How smart your mother was to know that that was your heart’s desire. Happy, happy Pink Saturday! I’ve missed you!

  4. December 6, 2009 6:59 am

    Hi Li! What a wonderful story about your sewing machine – your Mom knew! I love that she knew. Perfect. I like what you’re crocheting. Happy Pink Saturday!

  5. December 6, 2009 9:04 pm

    You have some sweet memories, LaVoice. I’m sure you treasured that little pink sewing machine.

  6. December 6, 2009 9:05 pm

    Oops! I meant to say Li.

  7. December 6, 2009 10:51 pm

    Li ~ I have missed you! Glad you are feeling better…it’s awful to be sick. I love your story about the sewing machine – isn’t it funny how moms always know the perfect thing to get you! Did you make anything with your sewing machine?
    You’ve also been busy crocheting….they are beautiful and great colors. Stay well, my friend!

  8. December 7, 2009 12:26 am

    Hi Li, I know you were proud of that first sewing machine and what was more special was the magical way Moms remember the heartfelt wishes of their children. Mollye

  9. December 7, 2009 10:43 am

    Hi Li,
    I have missed you and glad to hear you enjoyed a visitor but sorry you have been sick. Glad you are better now.
    I so enjoyed reading your special memories of Christmas past. You have heart warming and loving memories.

    Making the cookies with friends sounds like so much fun and your mother wrapping the gifts is a wonderful memory to hold on to.

    Loved the sneek preview of your pretty pink creations. Just gorgeous.

    See you again soon and enjoy the Christmas season!
    Hugs, Celestina Marie

  10. December 7, 2009 12:22 pm

    Hi, Li,
    I am so glad you got that wonderful little sewing machine! I know you must have been so excited to see it when you unwrapped it. Your mom was a sweetheart to get you what you really wanted. I also enjoyed reading about you making those cookies with your friends. I bet they tasted heavenly to you all. I am looking forward to seeing what you are going to create with your crocheted squares. Blessings to you! Vicki

  11. December 7, 2009 10:17 pm

    Hi Li!
    Oh what gorgeous squares you are making! A blanket?? I wish I could crochet(or knit)…just not something I could figure out even though my grandmother tried to teach me so many years ago!
    Love those colors and whatever it is, it will be beautiful!
    I enjoyed hearing about your memories. Moms are wonderful in reading our minds aren’t the? Nothing like it…
    Stay warm and have fun Li!
    Thanks for visiting me,
    Betzie xoxo

  12. December 7, 2009 10:53 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your post. It is good to see you back on Pink Saturday! As usual, I am late making all my rounds. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I wonder if you are still sewing? My interests from childhood are coming back around as my children are older and I have more time. Now I have taken up crocheting and sewing again. I truly enjoy both. Thanks for giving us a quick preview – I can’t wait to see what you are doing with your crocheted squares. : ) I am sooooo curious. Have a wonderful week and stay healthy, ok?!

    Smiles,
    Tricia

  13. December 8, 2009 1:53 am

    I would have absolutely loved such a sewing machine, and in pink! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog!

  14. December 8, 2009 2:28 am

    How lucky you were to have such a wise mother. She knew her little one well. What did you make with your new sewing machine?

    Thank you for sharing your Christmas memories. I would like a chocolate krinkle right now. 😉

    Love the pink!!!

    Happy Pink Saturday.

  15. December 8, 2009 8:33 am

    It’s hard to recall specific memories on the spot when asked, but you found some beautiful ones. I can just imagine your delight at opening that pink sewing machine! Did you ever sew anything on it? It also sounds like you had a delicious time baking with your friends, I bet there was lots of giggling involved. I hope you had a pink filled weekend. Sorry it took so long to get back to you, I somehow missed your comment in the pink rush. I hope all is well and happy Holidays!

  16. December 8, 2009 1:37 pm

    I”m sorry to hear you were sick – I hope you’re feeling better now. The first story is so gorgeous and I love your second story. It’s so true that those simple things that happen in our lives can me the most memorable. You & your friends sound like you had so much fun making those cookies…. they truly are special times.

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I’m a bit slow getting around this week.
    Have a fabulous week.

    ciao for now,
    Elena 🙂

  17. December 9, 2009 8:49 pm

    Hi Li, I, too, had a toy sewing machine as a child, that really worked. Still have it and it sits in my guest room. Happy belated Pink Saturday and I hope you are all better now. xo Lynn

  18. December 10, 2009 12:55 pm

    So glad to see your comment dear Li, I have missed you also. It’s funny you showing us your cute crochet pot holders, if that’s what they are. My next door neighbour and I used to make them and go door to door and sell them for 2 dollars. We were so proud. I think we were 13 at the time.
    I sure wish I could sew too. I can sew a straight line and that’s about it.
    Glad your feeling better, and hope you truly enjoyed your company. Sometimes we need to take a break from life and enjoy the moment.
    Yes busy month for me always in Dec. March is busy also because it’s my birthday LOL
    Glad to have you back.
    I also had my PS post ready before I left for Vancouver, to find out that it was changed… oh well. I have to think of something for this Sat. My brain isn’t working at it’s best lately.
    We had a foot of snow today. Colt shovelled a 4 times. Blowing and cold. I stayed in my P.J.’s and watched it all with the dogs by the fire.
    Sending you big hugs through the internet.
    Love
    Claudie
    xoxoxoxoxoxo

  19. December 13, 2009 12:57 am

    Hi Li,
    I hope you feel better! And your creations are gorgeous! Take care.

  20. December 17, 2009 8:35 am

    Sorry, you’ve been sick, Li. Hope you feel better now. Love those childhood memories. I used to own one of those toy sewing machines…Christine

  21. December 18, 2009 2:01 pm

    Hello Li, I am sorry I am so late with this comment. Life is so busy for us this season. I always love your comments Li and they always make me smile.

    I love your stories from your Christmas memories. I am very happy you received your fondest wish…the sewing machine. Also the cookie baking experience sounds like fun. A memory worth telling. How fun your experience was that day.

    I am sorry you have been ill. That is NOT fun. I hope you are feeling better now.

    Your pot holders are so pretty. I had a good laugh thinking of you selling them door to door. A great idea. Who could turn down a kid. Laughing.

    It’s late so I will say goodnight.
    Hugs xoxo, Jeanne

  22. December 23, 2009 10:11 pm

    Hi, precious Li!

    I am back to wish you a very Merry Christmas. I hope your holiday is filled with all the joy, all the wonder the shepherds felt those many years ago. I also hope that blessings will fill your cup on Christmas and in the year ahead. Love to you, my sweet, sweet friend…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  23. January 2, 2010 11:23 pm

    Hi Li,
    I don’t know where you are. I hope you are well, I also wanted to say Happy New Year to you too.

  24. January 8, 2010 3:05 am

    Well hello, there ol’ friend o’ mine! I am still trying my best to play catch-up with everything and everybody since the “big-bad move”, but it’s good to see you again! You certainly have my attention with all those beautiful granny squares! I can’t wait to see what you’re making! Hope you enjoyed the holidays!.. And wishing you all the best in this new year ahead! ~tina (aka, beansie!)

  25. January 10, 2010 8:15 am

    Hello Li!
    That was a labor of love and it turned out just beautiful!!! I love the colors you chose, great job! Nice to see you on my blog today. :))
    Betzie

  26. January 11, 2010 12:06 pm

    Such a good job on the blanket. I love the colors…I mean how can you go wrong with PINK> my daughter crochet’s and loves it.

    Always, Linda

  27. January 11, 2010 11:59 pm

    Oh, what a beautiful afghan. And all that work you put into it! Somebody sure was lucky to receive it. Rosie

  28. January 12, 2010 12:49 am

    Wow!!! Great Job for a first time. I have a heck of a time crocheting and will never be good at it.

Leave a Reply

