Skip to content

Pink Saturday: My First Attempt on Granny Squares

January 9, 2010

.

It all started with 3 balls of yarns . . .
.

.

And then, the first granny square I have ever created πŸ™‚
.

It was very satisfying. Every time I finish one square, I feel like it’s an accomplishment already. Seriously!
.

.

They really do make me smile. Crocheting relaxes you (well, maybe because I am not attempting a very difficult stitch πŸ™‚ ) Maybe I’m biased but it can’t be helped :-).
.

Oh Claudie, you made me smile when you thought of them as pot holders πŸ™‚ They do look like it. Anyway, that will be my next project.
.

.

What I really planned to make was a baby blanket. I really wanted to try my hands on making afghans and I thought a baby afghan is a good start. πŸ™‚
.

.

Don’t mind my little pup there. I guess with the cold weather, he finds it just cozy sitting there LOL
.

Since everything is a first, I searched for pretty color combos as guides and for something that would be easy. And boy were there lots of pictures out there. (Yup, pictures cause I’m not good with patterns 😦 )
.


.

And then I found it. It didn’t turn out like in the picture inspiration 😦 The colors somehow are either a shade darker or lighter. Well, the white was the only thing that was sure :-).
.

Also, I ended up with more rounds to complete one square. I don’t know why. Maybe I have the wrong number of yarn or size of hook. But see, when I bought my yarns and hook I didn’t exactly have the choice to choose. There were only: 1) cotton with small threads (like the ones I used for the hairbands) and 2) acrylic – 4 ply. And the hook? I just bought the largest one available.
.

Yes, a girl just have to make it work πŸ™‚ (But I still wish I had plenty of yarns and hooks to choose and experiment with πŸ™‚ )
.

.

I feel like every stitch and every square are labors of love.
.

I washed the blanket with fabric conditioner and when everything’s done, I folded them carefully and secured it with a simple bow.
.


.

Brought it as a gift last Christmas for a particular baby πŸ™‚
.
.
.
.

I wish you all a blessed New Year!

and a

Happy Pink Saturday!.

Thank you Miss Beverly for hosting this event.

For other pink stuff, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

Pink Saturday Logo

===================================

Helpful Links:

Basic Granny Square Tutorial by Sarah London

Pink Baby Afghan (the color combo inspiration I used)

55 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 8:53 pm

    Li, it is beautiful. You have done a fabulous job. I know it will be a treasure for that very special baby.

    Happy Pink Saturday.

  2. January 9, 2010 11:43 pm

    Happy Pink Saturday Li. All the best for the New year.
    Congrats on your new project. That’s perfect:).
    Pretty handmade.

    Enjoy the weekend.
    Regards.

    Regina

  3. January 10, 2010 12:26 am

    Li ~ Its’ perfect!!! It looks like a labor of love to me since I have not figured out crocheting! I think the colors are wonderful. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  4. January 10, 2010 12:48 am

    BRAVO!!.. You did a BEAUTIFUL job on this, Li!!! Looking forward to seeing more of things like this from you!!! Happy Pink Saturday, and hope you’re having a wonderful weekend! ((hugs)) ~tina

  5. January 10, 2010 2:28 am

    What I like about crochet is that you can only drop one stitch – and what I like about these squares is that they build up one at a time, not as overwhelming as knitting a whole row. My grandmother had several throws in granny squares (and do you remember the one on the sofa in Roseanne?) You’ve done a lovely job.

    Happy Pink Saturday!

  6. January 10, 2010 3:44 am

    Such a pretty blanket

  7. January 10, 2010 5:27 am

    What a pretty afghan! Some baby out there is VERY lucky indeed. I hope all is well with you, you’ve been incognito for a bit. Happy new Year and Happy Pink!

  8. January 10, 2010 7:11 am

    Li, you have done such a wonderful job with the blanket! The squares are so well done. I love crocheting, too and this reminds me that I have to get back to it. I hope you are well, my friend. Happy Pink Saturday!

  9. January 10, 2010 8:58 am

    What a beautiful pink baby blanket!!You did a wonderful job…I am so proud of you:)!
    Crocheting is very relaxing , therapeutic,creative…oh I just love everything about it!
    Bravo…can’t wait to see more of your creations.

    Happy Saturday!
    ~Lynnβ™₯

  10. January 10, 2010 9:03 am

    THose pinks are pretty darn close! I think you did an excellent job! I do not have the patience to do a whole quilt. LOL, Scarfs are about it for me! Happy Pink Saturday…Becs

  11. January 10, 2010 10:42 pm

    What a perfect job you have done, it’s beautiful, and I think who ever is the lucky recipent is going to love it too. You can and should be so proud. My grandmother use to make afgans or blankets, and so did my mother. I treasure each one. I never learned to do them, but maybe I will also give it a try, great job, Happy Pink Saturday, Char

  12. January 10, 2010 10:47 pm

    I was looking for the comment thingy! Now I see it!! Your granny squares are beautiful and made a beautiful blanket. I have one laying here next to my desk that my granddaughter made for me, her first. I’m going to use it in a future digital scrapbook kit. β™₯

  13. January 10, 2010 11:02 pm

    Lucky little baby; she sure can use it this COLD winter.

    Tell me, please, why the bugs crawling on your blog. I hate bugs.

  14. January 10, 2010 11:09 pm

    Holy Moly! This is phenomenal! Wow – gorgeous and so much work.

    I used to knit and I knit 4 squares for a blanket. Then gave it up. And then knit another square after a while, you know they say that your hand loosens up over time so this last square with the same number of stitches came out bigger! I never finished it. I forgot the needle size and number of stitches.

  15. January 10, 2010 11:10 pm

    Oooh I also wanted to say it is good to see you back and know that you are okay!

  16. January 10, 2010 11:19 pm

    I’m a day late and a dollar short with my Pink Saturday visits. The sun was shining too bright yesterday and just like a little kid I couldn’t stop marveling at how lovely it was as it beamed through my lace curtains and puddled on the floor. My cats were in heaven.

    So, here I am today, a little late but thinking that I got a bonus because I avoided all the traffic!

    Lovely blog and the sweetest pinks that you shared. Thank you so much for making this such a lovely Sunday for me.

  17. January 11, 2010 3:37 am

    Li, I think you did a wonderful job on the baby afghan! That is one lucky little baby to be cuddled up in that beautiful piece! I love the color combo you chose, too. Happy Pink Saturday to you a little late and have a terrific week! Vicki

  18. January 11, 2010 3:47 am

    Li! I think it turned out beautiful and what a wonderful gift! I’ll bet the baby’s mommy just loved it!

  19. January 11, 2010 5:38 am

    Wow, Li! That is one awesome transformation! I’d love to learn how to crochet someday… Did you have a great Christmas and New Year’s? I bet you did…

  20. January 11, 2010 9:00 am

    pretty, pretty, pretty! πŸ™‚ HPS

  21. January 11, 2010 11:07 am

    Beautiful! Your granny squares are so neat and tidy. Mine are big and loopy! I’m learning, too. It IS fun! I wish I didn’t have to grade papers for school. Now I want to crochet! It’s so nice to meet you!

  22. January 11, 2010 11:50 am

    congrats! that’s a beautiful piece. love the color combi. how many balls of of yarns did you use? galing!

    belated holiday greetings, li!

    • January 12, 2010 6:35 pm

      Hello Bette,

      Here are the yarns I used:

      shade 30 = 14 ; shade 32 = 8 ; shade 1 = 7

      I hope wala akong natapon kc binilang ko lang ‘yun mga tags πŸ™‚

  23. January 11, 2010 2:51 pm

    Wow, that sure is beautiful! Love the colors! Happy Pink Saturday!

    Hugs,
    Jacalyn

  24. January 11, 2010 3:07 pm

    Dearest Li, thanks for visiting me and leaving so nice words!
    Your baby blanket is wonderful, it looks so soft and tender – you really did a great job, and baby will like it very much! :o)
    Hugs and have a happy week, Traude

  25. January 11, 2010 4:25 pm

    Wow, that’s pretty good for first try! I love the shade of pink! Happy PS!

  26. January 11, 2010 4:42 pm

    Hi Li, nice to meet you, thank you so much for stopping by my blog, I loved the abstract art I found online. Thank goodness for my laptop and the internet, it keeps me from being lonely and I have met sooo many wonderful folks both on boards and blogs..
    I LOVE the granny square blanket you made, I crochet ‘a little’. I made more than my share of granny squares years ago, made vests, handbags, scarves, blankets…your post has inspired me to pick up my crochet needles again, grab a ball of yarn and go for it..
    Thanks again for stopping by with your kind words:)
    Barb

  27. January 11, 2010 8:11 pm

    That little blanket looks so comfy and soft, soft ,soft.
    I must try one for Phoebe’s doll’s cot.
    JJ

  28. January 11, 2010 8:26 pm

    That didn’t look like your first square at all! It’s gorgeous! The baby that received this blanket is a very lucky girl that all wrapped up in love.

  29. January 11, 2010 11:20 pm

    Hi Li,
    I must say for your very first attempt at a granny square and baby afghan you certainly did a great job. I love the colors and the pattern you chose. It turned out beautifully. Have a wonderful new week.

    Hugs and Smiles,
    β™₯Ana~A Petite Cottage

  30. January 11, 2010 11:31 pm

    Wow! That is beautiful! I’m impressed! I’m more of a beginner knitter! Crocheting looks just way too complicated to me! You did a wonderful job! Have a great week! Sherri : )

  31. January 12, 2010 12:14 am

    Just beautiful, you do good work.
    Thanks for coming by to see me.

    Ginger

  32. January 12, 2010 3:49 am

    Li, I love your baby blanket! Your stitching is absolutely perfect, and the way you arranged the colors is so appealing. You do beautiful work. Have a great week and thanks for stopping by to visit me. Hugs, Terri

  33. January 12, 2010 7:26 am

    Hi Li,
    I love, love, love your Granny Squares and the blankie you made from them. It is so sweet, it looks edible. Kudos, I know how much time goes into one of those. but, it is relaxing, like you said. I gotta go back and see if you used cotton or acrylic yarn.
    Nice to meet a fellow crocheter. I just finished my first Granny Afghan a couple months ago. Great feeling of accomplishment, eh?
    Hugz,
    Mary

  34. January 12, 2010 12:49 pm

    I didn’t participate this Sat. Li as you can guess, cause I didn’t pop over to see your beautiful blanky. Ok no pot holders lol… what a pretty pretty color, my fave. Will we ever get to see the lucky little recipient? I hope so.
    Not sure why my RSS feed didn’t send me an email to let me know you posted. I’m so glad to see you Li.
    What in the world is “fabric conditioner?” Would that be like our “snuggles” fabric softener? I think it’s late, I’m getting silly here. Must be all the snow we have : )
    Miss you
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxxo

  35. January 12, 2010 12:50 pm

    Hey I just noticed that my bug is really cute!!! A little pink heart with a halo…..LOVE IT. How do you do that?
    xoxoxox

    • January 12, 2010 6:31 pm

      WordPress generates it. You are some kind of a MonsterID avatar πŸ™‚ Oh and the baby, I wish I could. But see, I made it as a gift for the first baby born on Christmas so no pictures.

      And the fabric conditioner – – – I meant softener LOL I guess I was the one being silly

  36. January 12, 2010 3:32 pm

    Hi Li, you’ve done a wonderful job. The blanket looks lovely.

    Wishing you a Happy New Year!

    ciao,
    Elena πŸ™‚

  37. January 12, 2010 8:07 pm

    Happy New Year Li! What a beautiful little blanket you made. It’s perfect β™₯ What a wonderful gift to give someone. I love the colors you picked. I hope you are feeling much better now. Wishing you all the best in the New Year!

  38. January 12, 2010 8:59 pm

    Hi Li,

    I think you have done a beautiful job on the blanket. Creativity is a process. I’m always learning something with each new project. I don’t know how to crochet but others make it look so easy and it really is when you love something and really take the time to learn it.

    Thank you for stopping by. Sending fairy wishes for a magical day.

    xoxo
    ~Kitty

  39. January 13, 2010 1:12 am

    Hi Li,
    You came to visit me; ) Yeah! I love your granny squares. I, in my ignorance, didn’t even know they were called that. What a special gift for a very blessed baby and mama too.

    Please keep visiting, I’ve been in the process of moving house and so “out of it” these last few months. I hope to be back in the loop with lovely ladies like yourself (and gents too), I’ve missed the company.

    Take care, blessings in our new year to you and yours xJ

  40. January 13, 2010 11:10 am

    I love your blanket! What an accomplishment! Happy belated Pink Saturday and thanks for stopping by and visiting me!

  41. January 13, 2010 10:40 pm

    you did beautiful work!

    chas

  42. January 13, 2010 10:44 pm

    It was so good to hear from you again. I missed your voice.
    xo-jj

  43. January 14, 2010 7:21 am

    Your baby afghan is wonderful! I am relatively new to crocheting and I have yet to make a granny square : ) But this one looks like one I could do. I don’t know if I have the patience to complete an afghan though. I’ve done lots of scarves, but the baby blanket I started never got finished. I think some little baby is awfully lucky to get such a sweet and love-filled gift. The winter months are great for doing projects like that inside in the evening. Keep us posted on your projects. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It was good to hear from you again.

    Blessings,
    Tricia

  44. January 14, 2010 9:02 pm

    So pretty! I wish I could do that. Is it hard to learn to crochet? Anyway, Happy Belated Pink Saturday!:-)

    • January 16, 2010 4:59 pm

      Learning the stitches is not that hard. One step at I time, I say πŸ™‚ The granny square is a nice practice for those basic stitches.

      There’s plenty of tutorials in the net. And check the granny square tutorial link I posted. It’s easy to follow and has lots of step-by-step pictures. I hope you’ll have fun learning as well πŸ™‚

  45. January 15, 2010 10:21 am

    It is a beauty! Such great work.

  46. January 18, 2010 1:07 am

    Thank you for your kind comments. I think it is funny that you only made one slipper…a very nice slipper…are you suppose to work on two at the same time to make them match? or I guess if you are following a pattern they are suppose to turn out the same?? Lovely nun the less.
    Laurie

  47. January 18, 2010 10:36 pm

    Very beautiful, a great job!!!
    Happy Pink Saturday!!

  48. February 2, 2010 11:44 pm

    this is adorable! I’m sure the lucky babe is loving it too. I can’t get over how it appears to be quilted from a distance. Very neat optical effect.

  49. July 13, 2010 6:34 am

    That looks great! I’ve just started working on granny squares and can’t wait to assemble them to make my full blanket!

Trackbacks

  1. Pink Saturday: A Cinderella Moment « MyThoughtsMyVoice
  2. Pink Saturday: My Little Friend :-) « MyThoughtsMyVoice

Leave a Reply

