Skip to content

Pink Saturday: A Cinderella Moment

January 16, 2010

.

(update: Thank You all for your comments, sweet comments that can just warm anyone’s heart ๐Ÿ™‚ )
.

Not the prince charming partย  nor is it about bippity boppity boo LOL Was that what the fairy godmother said? ๐Ÿ™‚
.

This bow has something to do with it
.

.

I know, I know Cinderella didn’t wear a bow. (update: apparently she does when she wore her first outfit for the ball but was torn apart by her stepsisters – Thanks for reminding me Tina ๐Ÿ™‚ )
.

See, this bow is attached to something ๐Ÿ™‚ Can you guess what that something is?
.
.
.
.
Well, . . . it’s a . . .
.

.

But you may ask, “Hey, it’s not made of glass like Cinderella!” And I say, I know and boy do I wish! LOL
.

.

Still, I’m proud with my crocheted slipper. It’s handmade and sprinkled with lots of love! ๐Ÿ™‚
.

It was very frustrating at first. You can just imagine how many times I crochet and then undo everything (specially the toe part). It’s even worse considering I used two alternating colors.ย  But I was determined . . . very very determined, you might say.
.

.

This slipper though will not be worn as much as I’d like to.
.

Why? (This is where me and dear Cinderella have something in common – the Cinderella moment ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Because just like her, I only have half of the pair ๐Ÿ™‚ (I used the remaining yarns in another project/experiment)
.

.

It’s okay, I’m still in the experimenting period of crocheting.
.

So far, I’m liking my first projects like the baby afghan. (I thank you all for your sweet, sweet comments on the baby afghan. It meant a whole lot to hear/read encouraging words from you guys. I hope I answered all the questions there)
.

.

My only wish is that I hope I wrote how many stitches and changes I’ve made LOL Its just that the really first part of crocheting this slipper is a “love & hate” relationship. I’ve nearly given up! But seeing all those cut yarns – it’s a shame to put all in a waste.
.

And so it was hard thinking of the stitches and writing them down. You just want it done and over with hah! I guess, once you clear your head and just be patient with it, everything will flow again ๐Ÿ™‚ Like I said – – lots of love . . . oh and patience too ๐Ÿ™‚
.

Since I’ve talked about Lots of Love, will you also drop by Vicki at Bunny Cottage. I’ve visited her and can’t seem to forget her wreath with teacups. And when you see her home and her blog, you’ll also say there’s lots of love in there ๐Ÿ™‚
.
.
.
.

Happy Pink Saturday!.

Thank you Miss Beverly for hosting this event.

For other pink stuff, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

Pink Saturday Logo

.

==========================

Helpful Link:

Mary Jane Slippers Pattern – The pictures are very helpful. I just had trouble with mine because I used a very thin thread so the number of stitches varies and I kinda experimented on the look (like stripes ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Otherwise, if you stick to the pattern and materials, you’ll have your very own Mary Jane in no time ๐Ÿ™‚


.

52 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 4:55 pm

    Lol, it may not be a glass slipper – but it’s pink and has a pretty bow so it’s good for a Cinderella moment ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy pink saturday to you – have a fab week.

    ciao for now,
    Elena ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. January 16, 2010 10:36 pm

    Oh my Gosh, I don’t think those could be any cuter. I didn’t know what the bow was attached to, and couldn’t imagine, but that is just perfect. You did a great job, what a thrill it must be to wear something so sweet that you just created, Happy Pink Saturday, Char

  3. January 16, 2010 11:09 pm

    Li ~ I am so impressed!!!! And you figured out the pattern yourself? I’m really impressed. I wouldn’t worry about the other shoe – a pair is overrated. lol Have a wonderful Pink Saturday!

  4. January 16, 2010 11:11 pm

    Wow…what a beautiful slipper in pink and white. Cinderella would love to wear this, even with just one!

  5. January 16, 2010 11:46 pm

    Beautiful job on the slipper. I love crocheting too, but watch it, it is addictive!
    Nancy

  6. January 17, 2010 1:01 am

    โ™ซHappy Pink Saturdayโ™ซ

    Gloomy and gray over in my neck of the woods today so all of the pinks shared this Saturday are so special and cheerful. They remind me that there are more colors than just white, gray and black.Your pinks are wonderful! My goodness – so specialโ˜บ How adorable! Bet your toes are so happy that they sing little songsโ™ซ

    I hope your weekend is filled with sunshine surrounded by the laugher of those you love.

    Please pray for the people of Haiti. May God bless each and every soul.

  7. January 17, 2010 1:10 am

    A Mary Jane slipper? I like Cinderella better Li. If you made a pair of those and sold them, I would be your first customer.buy I would wear them proudly…but you would have to make 2 please lol I would look pretty funny just wearing one around the house.
    You should be proud of this pretty pink slipper. Was your other pink project that pretty pink blanket for that special baby? That’s why you ran out lol
    Happy PS my dear friend.
    Lot’s of ski-doos flying by on the frozen river today. I’m staying in where it’s nice and warm. Randy took the new “HE DOG” for a ride in his truck…fun.
    Love You
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxo

  8. January 17, 2010 1:15 am

    These are really cute. The pinks you’ve chosen for today are wonderful. I hope you have a great Pink Saturday.

  9. January 17, 2010 1:20 am

    Hi Mizpah,

    Oh, good for you for persevering though your trials of creating that magnificent slipper. I loved this post with references to Cinderella. How perfect. I hope that you absolutely revel in your success even if you do only have one.

    Wishing you a happy Pink Saturday and thank you for the smiles.

    Cheers! =D
    ~Kitty Kellie

  10. January 17, 2010 1:30 am

    Oh Li!!! My gosh… I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this slipper you made!!! I think it is well worth getting more of the colors you used (if you can), then muster up some more patience, and make the OTHER one! Thank you for sharing the pattern, because I love YOURS so much I might have to make a pair for ME!.. And by the way, I believe Cinderella DID have a bow like this! If you remember the Disney movie, she wore a pink bow in her hair, if I remember right, with the dress that her sisters tore up just before leaving for the ball! Remember?! (0; I keep up with these things you know! Happy Pink Saturday, and hope you have a wonderful weekend! Love-n-Hugs… ~tina

  11. January 17, 2010 1:51 am

    Li~ Your slipper is adorable. I think you should make the other one. Are they as comfy as they look? Happy Pink Saturday!

  12. January 17, 2010 1:57 am

    This slipper is so cute! Too bad you only have one. Good for you for hanging in there, I can’t crochet anything other than a plain chain. I like the pink and white stripe you chose, even if it was harder! Happy Pink and have a super weekend!

  13. January 17, 2010 4:10 am

    That is the most ADORABLE slipper I have EVER seen!

  14. January 17, 2010 7:06 am

    Hello Li! It’s been so long since I’ve visited you. Happy Pink Saturday, Happy New Year, Happy Hello! I love your Cinderella slipper. You did beautiful work. I can’t believe you’re not going to make a mate. I’m thinking you should…

    ~Mermaid Shelley

  15. January 17, 2010 8:31 am

    I LOVE your slipper! Way to go! You did it! The bow is perfect!

    I am such a klutz with crochet and knitting!

    Thanks for your kind comments, too!

    love, kelee

  16. January 17, 2010 9:37 am

    From a fellow crocheter I can totally relate to the toe section. And I love crocheting with sock weight wool so I wind up changing directions to the point of writing my own pattern.

    I love the slippers…they are too cute! You did a great job. :0)

    Have a great day,
    Stephanie

  17. January 17, 2010 10:56 am

    Your slippers may not be glass but I bet they are more comfortable. And more beautiful. I taught myself to crochet many years ago and often go back to a project as relaxation. You are going a great job.

    Happy Pink Saturday.

  18. January 17, 2010 11:05 am

    oh that is so lovely, li! the bow made it even lovelier! once again… ang galing! i’m so tamad to crochet these days, naiinip ako. so i’m always with my machine. pero, once in a while, in between chores and sewing, i try to add rows to my unfinished crochet projects. i have a project in the car, in the dining, and in the bedroom. hehehe… lahat waiting for a little attention from me.

    and hey, thanks for answering my question on the afghan. ang dami din pala nagamit na yarns ano?

    i realized too, hindi ko pa nasagot ang question mo re: stuffed bread. yung cheese is stuffed in the bread together with the hotdog or ham or pepperoni. then roll the rolled bread sa flour, then egg, then japanese breadcrumbs. then deep fry. that’s it! sometimes i also put bell pepper and a little tomato paste para lasang pizza. pwede rin ilagay, leftover ulam, like adobo or asado.

    ingats! {{{hugs}}}

  19. January 17, 2010 4:00 pm

    Li, that is the cutest slipper! I hope you can make another one to match it! I am sure it is much more comfortable than that glass slipper of Cinderellas! I think you are doing wonderfully with your crochet! I can barely get a button sewn on! Thank you for mentioning me in your post and for the very sweet comments! I appreciate it so much! Happy Pink Saturday, dear friend! Vicki

  20. January 17, 2010 4:50 pm

    Well done Li. I love the slipper :).

    Happy weekend.

  21. January 17, 2010 9:37 pm

    I DO like these – very spiffy! You’re certainly whizzing through crochet now.

    As you read in my PS post, I am very saddened that I’ve had to put word verification back on due to my email address being hijacked on Friday, so I spent most of yesterday doing damage limitation. So I’m now moderating AND have word verification (which I will take off again in a week or so, once the hackers get the message). So I apologise for that.

    Of the two, I think the Moderate All Comments is the best, as I have still seen spam on blogs where the word verification is on but then the comment allowed to go straight to the blog.

    You’ll notice there’s a new email address in your Comments section now (I’ll probably change it again to be on the safe side).

    An apologetic and belated Happy Pink Saturday on Sunday!

  22. January 17, 2010 11:00 pm

    Look at you go! The slipper is extra special and the bow . . . well, I need one! I love watching you learn and you are so far ahead of me. I wish my fairy godmother would say, “POOF!” and bestow all the “how to” on my crochet hand!

  23. January 17, 2010 11:28 pm

    Love, love, love your Cinderella slippers. I’m to the point in my life where I dress my feet for comfort so your slippers suit me much better than a pait of glass slippers. Hugs!!!

  24. suesue permalink
    January 18, 2010 5:16 am

    I love your slipper! Hope you can find the yarn to make the other ’cause they’re so cute!! I love to crochet and knit too!
    Happy pink week!

  25. January 18, 2010 10:09 am

    I love your pink slipper, what a great job! I wanted to say a big thank you for your kindness on my blog, you made me smile.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  26. Dru permalink
    January 18, 2010 11:54 am

    Such sweet slippers, the bow is adorable. Brings back childhood times when I would receive crocheted slippers for Christmas and I always loved them. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving such a sweet comment. Happy Pink Saturday Weekend!

  27. January 18, 2010 12:18 pm

    You are very funny, Li, LOL! The slipper is very cute!…Christine

  28. January 18, 2010 1:33 pm

    It was wonderful to have you stop by and see my teacup pincushions. I just love the PINK slippers. wishing you a wonderful week. Blessings…Sherry

  29. stefanie permalink
    January 18, 2010 3:02 pm

    That is the CUTEST slipper ever!!!

  30. January 18, 2010 7:15 pm

    Your crochet slipper is just wonderful! So pretty you only need one ๐Ÿ™‚ What a talent you have!
    Hope you have a beautiful week!

  31. January 18, 2010 8:13 pm

    Very cute slipper! I like the pink bow too!

  32. January 18, 2010 11:28 pm

    What cute pink slippers! I saw a post for knitted fingerless gloves- I have knitted in the past but it has been a long time so took the pattern to a friend- she thought I could do it then looked at the needle size and said forget it! I was so disappointed as these were so cute and used left over yarn remnants- oh well- on to another project!

  33. January 18, 2010 11:48 pm

    Hi Li, I LOVE the slipper, that is the cutest slipper I have ever seen! now you should make another!

    thanks for stopping by, I love the little miniatures too..and they remind me of my nana and how well she took care of them all those years.

    Have a great week!
    Barb

  34. January 19, 2010 12:13 am

    Wow! Love the slipper!

    Hugs,
    Jacalyn

  35. January 19, 2010 1:25 am

    I think those slippers are beautiful. I have been thinking about using old sweaters to make little slippers.

  36. January 19, 2010 3:17 am

    LOve LOve LOve those slippers! Cutest crocheted slippers ever, but that is way above my skill level I’m strictly a scarf & granny square maker LOL. Enjoy those adorable foot snugglers. I think the bow and the mary jane strap are just too cute. Hope you had a lovely Pink Saturday!

    luvs~jen

  37. LaVerne Johnson permalink
    January 19, 2010 8:15 am

    The slipper is just the cutest half a pair I’ve ever seen…make the other one in the closest pink you can find and just don’t cross your ankles…what an acomplishment! I’m still in straight neck scarves and I think that is a source for bragging…Happy Pink Week.

  38. January 19, 2010 8:24 am

    Your slippers are beautiful or should I say slipper….anyway great job. They really look comfy, I just love house slippers. Thanks for sharing. And thanks for stopping by.

    Ginger

  39. January 19, 2010 10:06 am

    Wow! You are getting really good at this! I can’t imagine the patience you must have to tear it apart and try again! I found knitting so frustrating! Good for you keep it up I think you must have a natural talent! Hope your week is going good! Sherri : )

  40. January 20, 2010 4:07 am

    Pretty darn cute pink slipper!!!! And isn’t Vicki just a doll?! I love visiting her, too!

    Big TX Hugs,
    Stephanie
    Angelic Accents

  41. January 20, 2010 9:41 am

    Hi Li,
    These are gorgeous! And the effort and the patience, but so gratifying when it’s done, right? The joy of creating.

  42. January 21, 2010 1:46 am

    Hi Li………..I love the crocheted slipper. My dear aunt taught me some basic crochet stitches when I was a child, but I soon forgot them. Your beautiful work has inspired me to give it another try.

    PS: Loved the Cinderella story.

    Best Wishes,
    Kay

  43. January 21, 2010 4:34 am

    Those are the cutest slippers, and you say you’re just starting? No, this looks like an expert.

  44. January 21, 2010 12:21 pm

    Hello Li, I adore your beautiful slipper with the bow. At first I thought it was a ballet slipper. Nope the perfect Maryjane slipper. You’re doing great with your new learning experience with crocheting. I love the pink and the bow is such a sweet touch. Keep it going Li.

    Thank you for your visits and comments. I am learning about quilting with this one I am working on. I am truly a novice. I will take some lessons on applique so I can add the birds to the quilt block. It looks difficult. I am persistent though, just like you. HA!

    Hugs, Jeanne

  45. January 21, 2010 8:52 pm

    Like Cinderella, I have a wish. Are you going to make lots of these adorable slippers so we can buy some? ๐Ÿ™‚ Come back to my blog for the upcoming Pink Saturday as I will be doing a Cinderella moment too. xo

  46. January 21, 2010 11:33 pm

    How stinking cute is that? I love it!
    xo-jj

  47. January 22, 2010 9:50 pm

    goodness – those are so sweet! i Love the stripes ๐Ÿ™‚ and pink is perfect!!
    nerissa

  48. January 24, 2010 11:31 pm

    absolutely adorable!!

  49. January 25, 2010 7:44 am

    Happy PINK Saturday, belated
    I love it! You did a fabulous job…it is so very cute. How clever. I’m glad you managed to figure out what was happening and why the first one ended up as it did. That would have been a little frustrating.
    thank you for sharing
    have a lovely evening
    Judi

Trackbacks

  1. Pink Saturday: My Little Friend :-) « MyThoughtsMyVoice
  2. Pink Saturday: The Other Half . . . « MyThoughtsMyVoice
  3. Pink Saturday: Pink Beads + Thread « MyThoughtsMyVoice

Leave a Reply

