Skip to content

Pink Saturday: Watercolor

April 24, 2010

.

Hello!
.

My pinks today are just “touches” of pink πŸ™‚
.

.

Yay! I bought me a watercolor set.
.

Oh well. I don’t know how to paint, let alone use a brush or a watercolor for that matter. And watercolor is very hard to use because it’s too “runny”, right?
.


.

Now, why then would I buy me a set . . .
.

I don’t know. I love looking at the colors. They made me smile. They made my wee heart happy too πŸ™‚ Also, looking at those colors sure made me dream of me actually using them and creating a masterpiece LOL Impossible, yes but I do intend on using them.
.

I will find something.Β  πŸ™‚ Have you tried using one? Any tips for me?
.


.

Have you visited Marie of Lemondrop Vintage? I didn’t get to visit her last week ( I tried to visit the new ones). But I do remember visiting her before through Pink Saturday. She really has a way with pictures and she creates them just like in a real photoshoot πŸ™‚

.
.
.
.

Happy Pink Saturday!

Thank you Miss Beverly for hosting this event.

For other pink stuff, drop by How Sweet the Sound.

To learn more about the event, click on the “Pink Saturday” logo

Pink Saturday  Logo


.


.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 9:06 pm

    This looks like so much fun!

    Happy Pink Saturday!

    In Shoes We Trust,
    Maggie
    “Do these shoes match this purse?”

  2. April 24, 2010 10:05 pm

    Anyone that seems to have such an interest in a watercolor set, will find a good use for it. I enjoyed visiting with you today.

  3. April 24, 2010 10:34 pm

    Li,
    Have fun with your watercolor set….I want to see what you do with it. I’ve always wanted to paint but have never really pushed myself to try…but I love watercolors…love Monet…the genius that he was…now it’s your turn girlfriend!
    Have fun!!!

  4. Gabriela Delworth permalink
    April 24, 2010 11:05 pm

    Happy Pink Saturday!

    What are you painting?

    ~ Gabriela ~

  5. April 25, 2010 1:42 am

    Hi, Li,
    You will have fun with these pretty watercolors. I am looking forward to seeing what you do with them. Happy Pink Saturday, sweet friend! Vicki

  6. firstff permalink
    April 25, 2010 2:34 am

    Oh boy oh boy oh boy, you are going to have SO much fun with these paints!

    Get yourself a small watercolour pad, or heavyweight cartridge paper and start by making a few backgrounds, just to get the feel of them. You can rubberstamp on them, journal on them, draw on them….

    Easiest background is a wash – this is where you get the paper wet first (use a sponge) and mix up a load of watery colour. Splather it on with the biggest paintbrush (or a makeup sponge) and let the colour spread all over the page. Mix up some more colour, and shake the brush over the page to add spatters. These will diffuse and spread with the original paint. Add a bit more if you want it stronger. Blot with tissue if you want to remove some paint. Let it dry, and then have fun with it.

    Another finish is to throw salt onto the wet paint (sea salt, coarse grain salt, kosher salt – anything) and just leave it to dry. The salt crystals will soak up the paint in some areas (you can use them in shaker cards) and when brushed off the paper, you’ll see a really pretty effect similar to rain drops.

    A third easy finish is to crumple up some cling film and spread onto the wet paper (the more crumpled the better). Let it dry then remove the cling film – you’ll have an effect like frost on a windowpane.

    These will also make lovely mats for photos.

    Happy Pink Saturday, and HAVE FUN!

  7. April 25, 2010 2:46 am

    Watercolor can be great fun. Get some paper, wet it and start dropping in your favorite colors. Wait and see what happens as it dries. Look at the design of your merges and see what you find. You can then use color to paint the negative space, paint positive space or do an ink drawing. You may fall in love with your “Mingle”. Just play and have fun at the very beginning. As you learn about the medium you wisee what to do.

  8. April 25, 2010 5:27 am

    Your watercolors look so inviting. I am not a painter, but they do look like fun.
    Enjoy, Dana

  9. April 25, 2010 7:16 am

    Hi Li..
    I love your watercolor set…I love all manners of painting tho I’m just not very good at it. As talented as you are,I know you will do something pretty. Happy Pinks..

  10. April 25, 2010 8:28 am

    How fun! I love to paint with the kids in Children’s Church on Sundays. I enjoy it at least as much as they do.

    Sherry @ A Happy Valentine

  11. April 25, 2010 8:37 am

    hello li! oh, you’ll have fun with your watercolors! when i use them to make note cards, after the paint’s dry to the touch i put the paper in a heavy book for a while so that it dries (completely) flat. and YAY for the pink color — the prettiest! thanks for stopping by my blog last saturday & leaving a comment! have a great weekend. (o:

  12. April 25, 2010 7:30 pm

    Li, there is nothing better than fresh paints. Yes, I did take a watercolor class in college. It was challenging, but the results are exquisite! Have fun and I hope you share.

    Visiting around still for Pink Saturday. Have a great week!

  13. April 25, 2010 9:24 pm

    Enjoy the watercolors – I hope to see what you’ve done with them next week!

  14. April 25, 2010 10:58 pm

    HELLO AND HAPPY BELATED PINK SATURDAY,,
    LOVE YOUR WATERCOLORS, HAVE FUN WITH THEM, THE COLORS ARE BEAUTIFUL πŸ™‚
    THANKS FOR DROPPING BY MY BOG AND FOR YOUR SWEET COMMENT!!!

  15. April 26, 2010 2:42 am

    Sure wish I could help! Seems like you got some great ideas!!!!

    Happy belated PS!
    Jacalyn

  16. April 26, 2010 3:27 am

    Hi Li, I too love water colors and the beautiful creations made from it. My friend draws her picture win a pencil before she actually paints. That is all I know about water color. I am sure true artists have their way of painting water colors. Have fun with them.

    Hugs, Jeanne

  17. April 26, 2010 4:39 am

    We should all buy things that make us happy just because! πŸ™‚ Happy Pink Saturday. xoxo

  18. April 26, 2010 5:16 am

    Watercolor sets always remind me of being a child and painting on a big sheet of art paper and making a mess!! LOL.
    Have fun with yours.
    thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I really appreciate it.

    hugs
    Sissie

  19. April 26, 2010 8:04 am

    How WONDERFUL that you bought them just because the colors make you feel so happy! I really, really understand how color can do that..it does for me, too. Lately it has been fabrics, but I used to be a watercolor and pastelist…I think you will enjoy these! Others have left good ideas, all ready, but I would say, since you like vibrant colors, that the more water you dilute with the more pale/”washed out” the colors get! You can drop more into the wet paper, or you can add color over it with pastel crayons, or something else with the intensity you are looking for. I loved lots of the texture ideas people left you, and it made me want to unbury mine and go play!!! HAVE FUN! Kathi ps–thanks for your nice words and stopping by my site!

  20. April 26, 2010 10:56 am

    There is just something about clean bright colors that just makes the heart happy! I love new paint but then don’t like it after my kids have used it and all the paints are mixed and yucky looking. Sweet post!! Have a great week!!

  21. April 26, 2010 12:41 pm

    Have fun painting~~make sure and share with us all in blogland:)

    Happy Pink Saturday!!
    Hope had a blessed weekend~~wow mine flew byyyyyy:)

    Kay Ellen

  22. April 27, 2010 7:31 am

    What a cute post! Thanks for stopping by and making a comment about my grand daughter Anya on the Pink Saturday post. I enjoyed having you, would love it if you come back. Have a blessed week.

  23. April 27, 2010 12:45 pm

    Ah the color pink certainly holds it’s own amongst the paint pal-latte! I hope you had a Happy Pink Saturday and have yourself a glorious week!

  24. April 27, 2010 9:02 pm

    Hello! how lovely!!! the only advice i have is to use watercolour paper, its thicker, although i like to use watercolours as a backwash on journal pages, & just let the colours seep together, then write over them…hope you have a wondeful time creating a masterpiece!!! lots of loveliness!!!

  25. April 28, 2010 11:36 am

    Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I love your toches of pink. This blog is wonderful! Please have a wonderful rest of the week.

  26. Linda permalink
    April 28, 2010 4:41 pm

    Thanks for visiting me. I love your pretty paint colors. Happy Pink

  27. April 30, 2010 10:40 am

    What a cute post, it takes me back to my childhood! When it comes to creativity, I think it’s something best not to think about too much, just do it impulsively from the heart, good luck! πŸ™‚

  28. May 1, 2010 2:48 am

    Hello Li, thank you for your visit and sweet comment. I always enjoy hearing from you. Today my post is about my grandson’s birthday. If you have a moment would you come over and comment please. He is 13 and very excited to be on my blog today. Grandma that I am, your comment would mean a lot to me and my grand. BIG smile.
    Thank you so much,
    Hugs, Jeanne

  29. May 2, 2010 12:54 am

    Li! The first step to watercolors is to take a deep breath, get your brush wet and then dip it in your favorite color and just go….Don’t be afraid to try. I’ll bet you have an artist hiding in you and she’ll be painting soon!
    Good luck! Happy Pink Saturday, my sweet friend!

  30. May 2, 2010 4:14 am

    Colors make me happy too! And these look so lovely. If you want to learn watercolors I can recommend some books to you, not intimidating at all!

  31. May 3, 2010 2:58 pm

    what a sweet little water colour set. I am sure you are going to have lots of fun and we would love to see your art.It will come straight from your heart so it will be wonderful. hugs and love, joey

  32. May 4, 2010 2:34 am

    I have always loved color too. There is nothing like a new box of crayons. I like to paint bird houses recently. I find it fun and relaxing to do. I can’t wait to see what you will do with your paints.

  33. May 4, 2010 5:04 am

    I’m just a bit late for this Pink Saturday! I think it’s neat that you just bought the water colors. I wonder what you’ll end up doing with them. I have some too but couldn’t tell you how to use them! Also, thanks for having come by my post on the 25th for Pink Sat. (Small animal collection). I used to have mini deer, dogs, and several other animals and loved collecting them. Slowly but surely they broke, got lost or were given away. Except for the ones I featured there … Thanks, Jenn

  34. May 5, 2010 2:33 am

    Hello dear friend
    I have NO IDEA what to do with water colors, really. Randy was a painter when we lived in Wyoming. It was so funny. I would go to bed, he would grab a bottle of wine, go downstairs and create. I would wake up in the morning and VOILA! a beautiful painting was created. It lasted a year. He hasn’t painted since, so good luck with it. You just never know do you.
    Happy belated PS my friend.
    Sending you love
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxo

  35. Melly permalink
    May 6, 2010 6:25 pm

    My sweet Li, girl you have such a beautiful heart, I love when you visit with me you always leave the loveliest encouraging comments that bless me so much.
    I love that you bought these water colours, just paint whatever you want to paint let your imagination run wild, have fun with them, let the artist in you come out πŸ™‚
    I look forward to seeing what master pieces you’ll create. Have a wonderful week, sweetness!
    hugs
    Melly:)

Leave a Reply

